We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel and really good customer service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
118 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel and really good customer service”
Reviewed 13 April 2014

I've never stayed in an Indigo Hotel before. But would do again. Great reception staff, good facilities, reasonable price, very fine breakfast included
I stayed here for two nights on a work/social trip to Newcastle. The hotel is right in the centre of town but in a quiet street off the main beat. So perfect to reach cinema, theatre, and Newcastle Arts Centre across the road. (Oh and you can get to wild clubs too if you want...!)

Room Tip: Off the main street so all rooms seem quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark W, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Hi Bernard R

Thank you for this amazing review!

We hope to see you again at the Hotel Indigo Newcastle.

Kind Regards

Mark Winter
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,374
    570
    142
    24
    9
See reviews for
179
985
83
386
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (369)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mystras, Greece
Level Contributor
87 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

I stayed for one night whilst working in the area and only chose this hotel because i was meeting some clients for a social evening in the city (it is priced above my usual budget)

Finding the hotel and parking my car was easy, check in was efficient and the room i was allocated was smallish but very nice. The problem was the very loud music coming from the bar opposite my room, even the double glazing failed to prevent the need for earplugs. I went to reception to ask for a different room and was immediately given a larger room on the top floor which had a fabulous balcony and made for a very pleasant stay. The staff were exceptionally helpful and made me feel very welcome even giving me some fresh milk for my room.The hotel is well situated for the bars and restaurants and also very quick easy access back onto the A1. I recommend this hotel but be aware there are plenty of Holiday Inn Hotels at half the price locally.

Room Tip: You really do need as high a room as possible to avoid the noise from local bars.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rusureitsme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark W, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this review, 13 April 2014
Hi Darlington1

Thank you for this fantastic review.

Apologies for the noise from the other venue, however I am glad that we could rectify this issue and accommodate your needs.

We take pride in our customer service and we hope you do stay again at Hotel Indigo Newcastle.

Kind Regards

Mark Winter
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

This place is amazing, stayed 3 times and will be going back more! Staff are pleasant and helpful, drinks and yummy and rooms are so clean and well decorated!! Huge beds and lovely spacious showers! Amazing views too if you get a room looking over the town! I highly recommend it!

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank York-advisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark W, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
Hi York-Advisor

Thank you for this spectacular review.

Thank you for returning to Hotel Indigo Newcastle and we hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards

Mark Winter

Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We stayed here one night for a live music event at the nearby O2. The location is excellent for the highlights of fantastic Newcastle, we were able to park very easily and safely, which is a miracle for a city centre hotel. From the start we were very impressed at the staff friendliness and hospitality, although it's no surprise for newcastle as its a friendly city. The staff were exceptional and seemed to take a real interest in guests, even remembering our music event the next morning as we checked out! The bar and restaurant area are lovely and relaxing, excellent service there and the breakfast next morning was lovely, with a lot to choose from. Room very spacious and great facilities, loved the touch of the complimentary drinks and goodies in the fridge plus the aveda toiletries. All in all we were made to feel welcome and as if we were treating ourselves by staying at the hotel, not at all a 'functional' stopover. Finally, the room rate with breakfast excellent value given the location and service. Well done Indigo, we will definitely recommend it and also stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlackKatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark W, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
Hi BlackKatz

Thank you for your brilliant review.

We take pride in our customer service and we hope to see you again at Hotel Indigo Newcastle.

Kind regards

Mark Winter

Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Stayed here for a few nights recently. Very, very friendly staff. Helpful, considerate, nothing a problem . Lovely accommodation. Was due to take this break towards the end of 2013 but my husband became ill. Thinking I would loose my advance payment, I called to explain situation. What a surprise, I was asked to choose a future date (which I was told I could change again if necessary) which I did. On arrival found our booking had been upgraded which included a free mini bar, which was replenished each day, again free of charge. Furthermore because rates were different as to when we booked we also received a refund. Can't ask for better than that.
FIRST CLASS!

Room Tip: Higher floors have better view of landscape.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JuneH93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark W, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
Hi JuneH93

Thank you for this amazing review!

We hope you return to Hotel Indigo Newcastle.

Kind Regards

Mark Winter

Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Formby, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights, a group of 9 ladies. The location is perfect as it only a short walk from the station. From the minute we walked into the hotel we were made to feel welcome. The reception staff were cheerful, helpful and efficient. Our rooms were clean and spacious, as was the entire hotel. They must operate a fantastic staff training programme because without exception the staff were delightful and professional. We feel we should particularly mention Nic (correct spelling!) a charming young man who was so helpful and despite the fact that the hotel was very busy on Friday evening he had time for everybody. His professional but personal approach and attention to detail should be the rule but is sadly lacking in many places. A great place to stay.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Linda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark W, Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Hi Linda R,

Thank you very much for the excellent review of your recent stay at Hotel Indigo Newcastle.
I look forward to passing on your kind comments to Nic and the rest of the staff. We pride ourselves on great service at Hotel Indigo Newcastle so reading your great review has made my day!
We hope to see you all again soon.

Kind Regards,

Mark Winter
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2014

We only had one night here, but the room and staff were faultless. The hotel has a lovely welcoming atmosphere, which is not what I expected of a city centre hotel. The attached Marco Pierre White restaurant serves excellent food and is well worth a visit.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Topsmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark W, Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Hi Topsmum,

Thank you for taking the time to contribute such a superb review of Hotel Indigo Newcastle.
We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards,

Mark Winter
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#7 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 996 reviews
0.7 mi away
Malmaison Newcastle
Malmaison Newcastle
#15 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,214 reviews
0.7 mi away
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
#1 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Roomzzz Newcastle City
Roomzzz Newcastle City
#2 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
0.2 mi away
Motel One Newcastle
Motel One Newcastle
#6 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hote...
#22 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo Newcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Newcastle

Property: Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Address: 2-8 Fenkle Street, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 5XU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 82 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Indigo Newcastle 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Indigo Newcastle is just a two-minute walk from Central Station, and a ten-minute walk to Newcastle United Football Club. This upscale venue features an iconic Marco Pierre White Steakhouse, delivering to our guests a refreshing and welcoming experience.Hotel Indigo is a boutique concept by InterContinental Hotels Group (IHG), offering guests the luxury and individuality you would come to expect of a 4-star hotel. The design of the venue has been heavily influenced by its location within the historic Grainger Town area and will feature bold geometric forms, classical proportions and repeating patterns to mimic the architecture and rows of columns that can be seen around the local neighbourhood. Today, the Grainger town area is a hot-spot for cutting edge architecture and just a short stroll away from the city’s art galleries, restaurants, shops, bars and business district. Hotel Indigo Newcastle has a car park at the rear with charges at £12 per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HRS, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Indigo Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing