We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, Lovely Staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 April 2014

10/04/14 - Arrived by train at Newcastle Central and hotel is approx. 3 mins easy walk away so off to a great start. Check in very pleasant both receptionists both very friendly, IHG rewards status acknowledged and bonus points/drink offered. Reception & bar all open plan andhad tastefully decorated and relaxed moderm look.

Room on 4th floor very although not the most spacious was very well decorated with feature wall architectural print and all furnishings in perfect condition and felt very cosy (Hotel Indigo Birmingham take note!). Well stocked mini-bar - all free of charge as is usual at all Hotel Indigos (Again their Birmingham outpost should follow Newcastle's example). Added bonus of spacious balcony with table and chairs.

Ordered room service, operator very cheery and order taken & delivered within 20 mins. Food perfect quantity & quality and very good value.

Breakfast next morning in MPW Restuarant could not be faulted although taken at 9.30, usually one of the busiest times, it was all very relaxed and the ideal way to start the day. Food again could not be faulted.

This is now my hotel of choice in Newcastle.

Room Tip: Get a balcony room, well worth the extra cost!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EdinburghTraveller61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark W, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Hi Edinburgh Traveller61

Thank you so much for this fantastic review.

I am so glad that you have enjoyed your stay at Hotel Indigo Newcastle and we hope to see you again.

Kind regards

Mark Winter
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,335)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,374 - 1,380 of 2,335 reviews

Reviewed 14 April 2014

Had a twin room, was quite roomy with a strange colour scheme, never had such a mix of colours in a room before. The bed's were fine and the bathrooms were spacious and clean. Would certainly stay again. Only small hitch with the room was the air-con whistled on and off, so i just turned it off. When returning to the hotel albeit quite late at night (2.30am), the couple in front went straight into the hotel, i however got a more thorough questioning/showing of the key and was even questioned as to where i was from quoting "can't really send you in a taxi back to there" because my voice was basically gone through illness, not quite sure i'd be trying to access a hotel to sleep in the landing! The couple in front of me were noticeably older but a recurring coincidence of being treated a little different because of my age!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seanthain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark W, Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

Hi Sean T

Thank you so much for your feedback regarding your recent experience at Hotel Indigo Newcastle and Marco Pierre White Steakhouse Bar and Grill.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the room we allocated for you and felt the room was spacious and clean.

With regards to the air conditioning, I have spoken with our Maintainence Engineer and he has rectified this issue, however please do accept my apology.

In terms of the issue with the night team and the questioning that you witnessed. Hotel Indigo Newcastle strives on creating a 'Great Hotel, Guests Love' and it isa priority of ours to ensure the health and safety of our guests is key. With regards to the couple which went straight past the night team prior to yourselves, this could have been because the couple were checked in by the night team or they had come across the couple previously, hence asking them again wouldn't have been neccessary.

It is hotel policy to ensure that all guests returning to the hotel are asked there name and this is the policy is all IHG Hotels. I can guarantee that the questioning had no connexion what so ever with your age .

I do hope that this has not put you off returning to Hotel Indigo Newcastle and Marco Pierre White in the future.

Thank you once again for your feedback.

Kindest Regards,

Mark WInter
Hotel Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with my mum for a couple of nights away for her birthday. Stayed in a twin room (112 I think). Wasn't expecting spectacular views as I'd not booked a more expensive room so we got the view of another building (as expected really so no problem). I hear there are better views so I'd recommend booking this specifically if you want this.

Room was clean. As another reviewer has mentioned there's a very good hair dryer. Inclusive mini fridge (water, crisps, kit kat) stocked daily. Bed was made and towels replenished on our second (and final) day. Bathroom was clean and nicely designed. Good sized shower with waterfall head (could have a bit more pressure) and regular head (very good pressure). Shampoo, conditioner, soap, moisturiser were pleasant to use (left my hair nice and minty).

Great location, clean entrance, efficient and friendly staff. No noise problems. Can't comment on the bar or Marco Pierre restaurant as did not make use of these.

If I were to stay here again I'd ask for one of the rooms pictured on here.

Stayed: April 2014
Thank Girlfrommars0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark W, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Hi Girlfrommars 0

Thank you so much for the spectacular review.

We hope to see you again, and we hope you get a chance next time to try our Grainger Bar and the Marco Pierre White Restaurant.

Kind regards

Mark Winter
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

I've never stayed in an Indigo Hotel before. But would do again. Great reception staff, good facilities, reasonable price, very fine breakfast included
I stayed here for two nights on a work/social trip to Newcastle. The hotel is right in the centre of town but in a quiet street off the main beat. So perfect to reach cinema, theatre, and Newcastle Arts Centre across the road. (Oh and you can get to wild clubs too if you want...!)

Room Tip: Off the main street so all rooms seem quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bernard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark W, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Hi Bernard R

Thank you for this amazing review!

We hope to see you again at the Hotel Indigo Newcastle.

Kind Regards

Mark Winter
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

I stayed for one night whilst working in the area and only chose this hotel because i was meeting some clients for a social evening in the city (it is priced above my usual budget)

Finding the hotel and parking my car was easy, check in was efficient and the room i was allocated was smallish but very nice. The problem was the very loud music coming from the bar opposite my room, even the double glazing failed to prevent the need for earplugs. I went to reception to ask for a different room and was immediately given a larger room on the top floor which had a fabulous balcony and made for a very pleasant stay. The staff were exceptionally helpful and made me feel very welcome even giving me some fresh milk for my room.The hotel is well situated for the bars and restaurants and also very quick easy access back onto the A1. I recommend this hotel but be aware there are plenty of Holiday Inn Hotels at half the price locally.

Room Tip: You really do need as high a room as possible to avoid the noise from local bars.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rusureitsme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark W, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2014

Hi Darlington1

Thank you for this fantastic review.

Apologies for the noise from the other venue, however I am glad that we could rectify this issue and accommodate your needs.

We take pride in our customer service and we hope you do stay again at Hotel Indigo Newcastle.

Kind Regards

Mark Winter
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

This place is amazing, stayed 3 times and will be going back more! Staff are pleasant and helpful, drinks and yummy and rooms are so clean and well decorated!! Huge beds and lovely spacious showers! Amazing views too if you get a room looking over the town! I highly recommend it!

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank York-advisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark W, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2014

Hi York-Advisor

Thank you for this spectacular review.

Thank you for returning to Hotel Indigo Newcastle and we hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards

Mark Winter

Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We stayed here one night for a live music event at the nearby O2. The location is excellent for the highlights of fantastic Newcastle, we were able to park very easily and safely, which is a miracle for a city centre hotel. From the start we were very impressed at the staff friendliness and hospitality, although it's no surprise for newcastle as its a friendly city. The staff were exceptional and seemed to take a real interest in guests, even remembering our music event the next morning as we checked out! The bar and restaurant area are lovely and relaxing, excellent service there and the breakfast next morning was lovely, with a lot to choose from. Room very spacious and great facilities, loved the touch of the complimentary drinks and goodies in the fridge plus the aveda toiletries. All in all we were made to feel welcome and as if we were treating ourselves by staying at the hotel, not at all a 'functional' stopover. Finally, the room rate with breakfast excellent value given the location and service. Well done Indigo, we will definitely recommend it and also stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BlackKatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark W, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2014

Hi BlackKatz

Thank you for your brilliant review.

We take pride in our customer service and we hope to see you again at Hotel Indigo Newcastle.

Kind regards

Mark Winter

Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.7 mi away
Malmaison Newcastle
Malmaison Newcastle
#13 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,518 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hote...
#26 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,528 reviews
0.7 mi away
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
#1 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#11 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,261 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
#14 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,420 reviews
0.3 mi away
Roomzzz Newcastle City
Roomzzz Newcastle City
#3 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo Newcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Newcastle

Address: 2 12 Fenkle Street, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 5XU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 83 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range: £65 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Indigo Newcastle 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Indigo Newcastle is just a two-minute walk from Central Station, and a ten-minute walk to Newcastle United Football Club. This upscale venue features an iconic Marco Pierre White Steakhouse, delivering to our guests a refreshing and welcoming experience.Hotel Indigo is a boutique concept by InterContinental Hotels Group (IHG), offering guests the luxury and individuality you would come to expect of a 4-star hotel. The design of the venue has been heavily influenced by its location within the historic Grainger Town area and will feature bold geometric forms, classical proportions and repeating patterns to mimic the architecture and rows of columns that can be seen around the local neighbourhood. Today, the Grainger town area is a hot-spot for cutting edge architecture and just a short stroll away from the city’s art galleries, restaurants, shops, bars and business district. Hotel Indigo Newcastle has a car park at the rear with charges at £12 per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Indigo Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing