We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Stayed in early May 2014. An excellent experience. Here's why:
-convenient location
-attractive modern decor
-spotless room
-blow dryer, bathrobe, etc.
-Free items in minibar: waters, candy bar, chips, soda. Electric tea kettle
-Terrific breakfast for 12 pounds- good for Americans or Europeans
-Drinks and coffee service in the lobby
-Good restaurant on-site
-Excellent workout room
-Very excellent service. Fine balance of friendly and professional.

Room Tip: Room 137 was terrific. Minor noise from night club next door (Bonbar). Not a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kimberly T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 15 September 2017

Dear Guest.
Thank you for leaving a review. We use feedback from our guests to improve our hotel and the guest experience. We hope to see you again.
David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,337)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,347 - 1,353 of 2,337 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

I stayed for one night with some friends. On arrival check in was quick and easy. The staff were very polite and welcoming. The room was on 4th floor and was v nice. We had dinner in the hotel restaurant and the food was amazing. I had the pea & ham soup which was delicious then the steak & ale pie with a selelection of roasted veg. The meat was so tender and tasted lovely. The bar staff were polite and efficient. Breakfast the next morning was also excellent and I opted for a cooked breakfast.
Overall I was delighted with the hotel and it exceeded my expectations. So much so that Ive been telling friends how wonderful it was and wouldnt hesitate in recommending it.
If im in Newcastle again at some point then I'd book this hotel to stay at again.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Armani8_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 15 September 2017

Dear Guest.
Thank you for leaving a review. We use feedback from our guests to improve our hotel and the guest experience. We hope to see you again.
David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Modern hotel, close to shops and the train station. Lively bar/reception area. Bedroom was large, comfortable, clean, and well equipped for the modern traveller. Very quiet room considering its location. No bath, but excellent shower. Breakfast was fine, but was not tempted by the restaurant for evening meal. Only problem was that the hotel car park issued me with a ticket and raised the barrier even though it turned out there were no spaces left! I had to park my car blocking others to get help. In the end I was given access to the staff car park, but why on earth was the machine still issuing tickets? I wasn't the only one to get caught out. Reception staff really friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charles O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 15 September 2017

Dear Guest.
Thank you for leaving a review. We use feedback from our guests to improve our hotel and the guest experience. We hope to see you again.
David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

I had an overnight stay at the hotel towards the end of April and must say was very impressed with the service, decor and facilities the hotel had. The staff were super nice and friendly. My room was a great sized room with a TV that worked and had a number of channels that actually work! At first i was a little disappointed that the room i had appeared to have just a normal looking shower when their website advertises that all rooms have rainfall shower. However, appearances were deceiving as the shower was so powerful and exactly like a rainfall! The FREE mini bar is just awesome that added cherry on the cake! The location is very central to the train station, about 2 mins away and about 5 mins away from the shopping mall. I would def recommend staying here!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bhavika C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 15 September 2017

Dear Guest.
Thank you for leaving a review. We use feedback from our guests to improve our hotel and the guest experience. We hope to see you again.
David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

stayed at the indigo on sat 3rd may for a concert at the city hall and my wife meeting old pals.

ok this is serious party city so during the night there were some noises from party goers getting back but nothing serious. the hotel its self is central, well located and had everything we would want in a hotel. great bar and restaurant, very comfy rooms and the staff....so good!...so friendly!!!

a special mention to receptionist rachael....we have stayed in many 5 star hotels all over the globe and her welcome for us was up there with the best....made us feel so welcome and the hotel should be proud to have her as a first contact on arrival....a true star.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scottishmailman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 15 September 2017

Dear Guest.
Thank you for leaving a review. We use feedback from our guests to improve our hotel and the guest experience. We hope to see you again.
David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

Lovely hotel. Really nice staff- especially the night staff -manager Chris and Kieron !! Safest place been out at and hotel great location !! Coming again soon. Room clean and nice. Reception really approachable and helpful. Overall fab stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Flowerdew123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 15 September 2017

Dear Guest.
Thank you for leaving a review. We use feedback from our guests to improve our hotel and the guest experience. We hope to see you again.
David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Can't recommend this hotel highly enough. Staff on the reception are very friendly without being too over the top and fake, and they can't do enough for you. The customer service of all staff we encountered was excellent. Our room was lovely, no issues at all, everything worked and was in good condition, and very clean. Breakfast was wonderful, as always.
This is our third stay here, and considering we live less than 30 miles away, it will always be our first choice when we stay in Newcastle. You might be able to find general rooms for a cheaper rate, but when we don't get the opportunity to have a night away from home very often I am glad that I know I book Hotel Indigo and be guaranteed a perfect stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank m0nypnny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 15 September 2017

Dear Guest.
Thank you for leaving a review. We use feedback from our guests to improve our hotel and the guest experience. We hope to see you again.
David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.7 mi away
Malmaison Newcastle
Malmaison Newcastle
#13 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,526 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hote...
#26 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,529 reviews
0.7 mi away
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
#1 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#11 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,262 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
#14 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,424 reviews
0.3 mi away
Roomzzz Newcastle City
Roomzzz Newcastle City
#3 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo Newcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Newcastle

Address: 2 12 Fenkle Street, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 5XU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 83 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range: £66 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Indigo Newcastle 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Indigo Newcastle is just a two-minute walk from Central Station, and a ten-minute walk to Newcastle United Football Club. This upscale venue features an iconic Marco Pierre White Steakhouse, delivering to our guests a refreshing and welcoming experience.Hotel Indigo is a boutique concept by InterContinental Hotels Group (IHG), offering guests the luxury and individuality you would come to expect of a 4-star hotel. The design of the venue has been heavily influenced by its location within the historic Grainger Town area and will feature bold geometric forms, classical proportions and repeating patterns to mimic the architecture and rows of columns that can be seen around the local neighbourhood. Today, the Grainger town area is a hot-spot for cutting edge architecture and just a short stroll away from the city’s art galleries, restaurants, shops, bars and business district. Hotel Indigo Newcastle has a car park at the rear with charges at £12 per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Indigo Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing