We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"perfect just perfect"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“"perfect just perfect"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

One night stay in this hotel and we just didn't want to leave .
The staff were lovey and anything we asked for was no effort at all .
spotlessly clean and our breakfast was just delicious no faults what's so ever looking for a good reason to go back.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank DawnLouiseWatts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,094 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,359
    561
    142
    24
    8
See reviews for
178
968
81
382
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (368)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

Business trip but with a social element and Hotel Indigo was providing the latter plus the overnight accommodation for a large group. Have to say top marks for the food, the service and the rooms. It may sound like a back-handed compliment but many of us did not leave the hotel despite Newcastle's attractions so it must have got something right. Would definitely try it again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Great location
Easy to find and park
Excellent rooms
Great staff
Great service, made you feel valued
And the lights in the champagne bottles on the bar...are to die for
If only the view could be improved...
Can't beat it for access to the city

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ian007dq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, England.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

I often visit Newcastle on business but this is the first time I've stayed in Hotel Indigo. The hotel is fantastic, clean rooms with all the amenities needed to make a comfortable stay. Rooms are very well priced and it sits on a Marco Pierre White restaurant and a lovely bar.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaack86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maybole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

My boyfriend and I only stayed here for one night but what a lovely hotel. On arrival we were greeted in a friendly manner and the reception couldn't be any more welcoming and informative gicing us recommendations where to eat and more importantly go for a few bevergaes. Got up to the room and what a treat. Unfortunately we hardly spent any time there, the bed was massive and a lovely view of the toon from the window. Everything was spotless. Hotel is close to the coach station and train station and a very central location. Would definately recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmsHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
durham
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Wanted a weekend a break in Newcastle and toyed between the Sandman Signature and Hotel Indigo. In the ended, opted for Indigo, essentially because of the location and the not-so-good weather forecast given that the SS is slightly on the outskirts next to the home of the greatest football team in the land (I am a Newcastle supporter). The delightful Mrs C said her 'hair was going to be ruined and would go FRIZZY when it got wet' so my thinking was - the more central we were - there was a lesser chance of this great natural disaster occurring. Review wise and price wise there wasn't much difference between the two. Its ideally placed in the city centre, close to the Bigg Market, a short walk to the Gate complex and within touching distance of weatherspoons pubs, yates, long bar and many other popular local bars. The quayside is only a 5-10 minute walk away too. The hotel itself has a car park to the rear which was £12 to park from check-in to check-out. The interior design and decor of the reception and restaurant was sublime. The rooms themselves had a local architecture theme throughout and were tastefully decorated. Inside there was plenty of storage space, bath robes, shock horror - actually good clothes hangers and a free mini bar stocked with a couple of can of soft drinks, bottled water a packet of crisps and a chocolate bar. Over and above that there was a walk in shower, air con, an iron, tv, docking station for an ipod and connectivity to play music and films from your devices to the sound system or tv (there was even a speaker in the bathroom). We stayed in an executive king room. Not the largest room in the world but nice all the same. Bed was lovely and comfy with those fab hotel pillows. In fact it was so comfy that the lovely Josie fell asleep during a quick pit stop and i couldn't even wake her back up! Breakfast was fantastic, eggs could be cooked to your preference if you didnt want them fried and over and above that there was the usual bacon, sausage, black pudding, mushrooms, hash browns, toast, cereals, juices and so on. The quality of the food was fantastic tho - no smartprice sausages or eggs from caged hens here! It was a buffet service but the toast and tea were served by the staff who were very pleasant, warm and really made you welcome. The bar itself was great for a drink before venturing out in the evening and there was a real buzz for a hotel bar. Quite pricey for my pockets but I am a bit of a tight so and so every so often. All in all a fab hotel, excellent location and worth paying a little bit extra for those extra little touches here and there.

Room Tip: Most reviews i saw suggested a room away from the neighbouring nightclub which is probably a good sh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank darty07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

Well we came to try again, we had some IHG points to use. The first visit wasn't good, the second was still nothing to write home about. At booking in we were presented with an envelope with a room number on, no nice greeting, no info re breakfast, no guidance to room location.
The room was small, the view was of the back of the O2 academy.
We had a drink in the bar, a beer and a diet coke is more money than a wine and beer, REALLY!?! On exit we didn't get a print out of the bill as seemly it's Sunday and the printers never work on a Sunday.
Anyway no more tries, we'll go somewhere else next time.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Kelly M,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay with us. It is regrettable you were not satisfied with the service you received. I would like to address this with you further. I have sent you a private message to obtain more information about your stay. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Kind Regards,

Tracy V.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#8 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 929 reviews
0.7 mi away
Malmaison Newcastle
Malmaison Newcastle
#15 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,167 reviews
0.7 mi away
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
#1 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Roomzzz Newcastle City
Roomzzz Newcastle City
#2 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
5.0 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
0.2 mi away
Motel One Newcastle
Motel One Newcastle
#6 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hote...
#21 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo Newcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Newcastle

Property: Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Address: 2-8 Fenkle Street, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 5XU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 84 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Indigo Newcastle 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Indigo Newcastle is just a two-minute walk from Central Station, and a ten-minute walk to Newcastle United Football Club. This upscale venue features an iconic Marco Pierre White Steakhouse, delivering to our guests a refreshing and welcoming experience.Hotel Indigo is a boutique concept by InterContinental Hotels Group (IHG), offering guests the luxury and individuality you would come to expect of a 4-star hotel. The design of the venue has been heavily influenced by its location within the historic Grainger Town area and will feature bold geometric forms, classical proportions and repeating patterns to mimic the architecture and rows of columns that can be seen around the local neighbourhood. Today, the Grainger town area is a hot-spot for cutting edge architecture and just a short stroll away from the city’s art galleries, restaurants, shops, bars and business district. Hotel Indigo Newcastle has a car park at the rear with charges at £12 per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Indigo Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing