We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My fav in newcastle” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Indigo Newcastle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“My fav in newcastle”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

very clean, well looked after rooms, descent size and nice bathrooms. I have been staying here a lot. Free bar in room, not bad. wonderful staff, excellent location 2-3 mins from station and metro, very central. Nice breakfast selections

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Manmeet Singh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,058 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,334
    551
    142
    23
    8
See reviews for
174
950
79
375
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (363)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

Travelling to Newcastle for the first time I wasn't sure of what to expect. Very Modern and stylish reception and warm welcome. Modern stylish and welcoming not too simple had the elements of good design without going for no frills feels.
Good strong design in the rooms with a bit of style & flair and maybe a few too many lighting options...not really a complaint just maybe slightly over done.
Great reception experience with Northern charm and encouraged to go to the Quayside for the nightlife but the room was comfortable and so stayed in and ordered room service which was prompt and of a good standard ...beef dripping chips are more like quartered potatoes , but very moorish if not the healthiest option...
The products in the bathroom are Aveda and they were topped up so all good for products and cleanliness was perfect. Elegant and nodding towards luxury

Room Tip: We stayed at the very top so had a balcony overlooking city roofs tops very pleasant!mnice and warm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ivan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Egremont, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
188 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Hotel close to the station, St. James Park and metrowest arena. 12 oclock check out is a winner after a heavy night on the toon. Free mini bar provides those midnight snacks and water you usually have to pay for. Never used the restaurant as we had not prebooked and couldn't get a table. I will definitely use this hotel again

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walton on Thames
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

This was my first time in a Hotel Indigo and the overall experience was excellent.

The hotel had great decor, and we were greeted by friendly reception and bar staff.

I hadn't realised this hotel had a Marco Pierre White restaurant in it before we arrived so I was very happy to have lunch and two breakfasts during our stay.

Fabulous cocktails were served in the bar.

I loved my purple themed bedroom. They also offered orange and green themes.

I also liked the attention to detail such as the picture frame around the TV in the bedroom and lots of little style items like the black and white photos throughout the hotel with images of Newcastle architecture.

I would definitely go there again if I was in the area. Its central location meant you were 5 mins from the Central train/metro station, 5 mins from the main shopping centre, and bars and pubs were on the doorstep. We arrived in Newcastle from London via the airport so we caught the metro to central station and walked 5 mins with our suitcases to the Hotel. The whole journey could not have been easier. No need to get taxis.

If you want a stylish centrally located hotel this is for you.

The only slight negative was we used the gym, which is basically one bedroom converted to contain gym equipment. Its not very big and the floor area is very small so if anyone else would have joined us it would have felt very cramped. However the fact that a gym was there at all was a bonus, its just quite limited in what it offers. I suggest you leave your gym stuff at home and go out and see the city instead.

Room Tip: Pick your colour theme, purple, green or orange!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank soniavbuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

One night stay in this hotel and we just didn't want to leave .
The staff were lovey and anything we asked for was no effort at all .
spotlessly clean and our breakfast was just delicious no faults what's so ever looking for a good reason to go back.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank DawnLouiseWatts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

Business trip but with a social element and Hotel Indigo was providing the latter plus the overnight accommodation for a large group. Have to say top marks for the food, the service and the rooms. It may sound like a back-handed compliment but many of us did not leave the hotel despite Newcastle's attractions so it must have got something right. Would definitely try it again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Great location
Easy to find and park
Excellent rooms
Great staff
Great service, made you feel valued
And the lights in the champagne bottles on the bar...are to die for
If only the view could be improved...
Can't beat it for access to the city

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ian007dq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#7 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
0.7 mi away
Malmaison Newcastle
Malmaison Newcastle
#15 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,120 reviews
0.8 mi away
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
#1 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Roomzzz Newcastle City
Roomzzz Newcastle City
#2 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
0.2 mi away
Motel One Newcastle
Motel One Newcastle
#6 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hote...
#20 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo Newcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Newcastle

Property: Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Address: 2-8 Fenkle Street, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 5XU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 84 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Indigo Newcastle 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Indigo Newcastle is just a two-minute walk from Central Station, and a ten-minute walk to Newcastle United Football Club. This upscale venue features an iconic Marco Pierre White Steakhouse, delivering to our guests a refreshing and welcoming experience.Hotel Indigo is a boutique concept by InterContinental Hotels Group (IHG), offering guests the luxury and individuality you would come to expect of a 4-star hotel. The design of the venue has been heavily influenced by its location within the historic Grainger Town area and will feature bold geometric forms, classical proportions and repeating patterns to mimic the architecture and rows of columns that can be seen around the local neighbourhood. Today, the Grainger town area is a hot-spot for cutting edge architecture and just a short stroll away from the city’s art galleries, restaurants, shops, bars and business district. Hotel Indigo Newcastle has a car park at the rear with charges at £12 per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Indigo Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing