We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 June 2014

First impression was excellent, very warm greeting from Rachael on reception. We were given a choice of room colours, that was a first for me ! Wife chose purple, and I chose quiet over scenic. The room was fine, clean, modern and perfectly acceptable. It was only later, after returning from the theatre that we found the bed to have practically collapsed in the middle, now , I love my wife but rolling together all night was a bit much. I did point this out in a nice way to the duty manageress the next morning, she popped up to the room for a lie down with me to test the bed! Above and beyond the call of duty, especially as she was quite pregnant. We were offered a good discount if we wanted to come back as way of an apology. Needless to say, my wife has booked herself in for a night away with our 7year old daughter in July to see Cats at the theatre.
Breakfast was good, not excellent, felt the chef let himself down by not cooking bacon and sausages fresh but having them lie in their own fat under a heat lamp having probably been cooked in the oven on a deep tray. Lazy :-(
Really can't fault the reception staff or manager as they were ace and very, very nice.
If it wasn't for the bed it would be five stars.

Room Tip: Decide on view or noise
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank craigorange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 1 week ago

Dear Guest.
Thank you for leaving a review. We use feedback from our guests to improve our hotel and the guest experience. We hope to see you again.
David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,249)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Indigo Newcastle
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,226 - 1,232 of 2,250 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2014

I chose to say at Hotel Indigo because it was close to public transport - I caught the train up from London, and then I had a business meeting in the suburbs so I wanted easy access to the metro.

This hotel exceeded my expectations! Not only is it well-located, but all the staff were friendly, the room was a good size and very clean, there were nice added extras like the Aveda products in the bathroom and (non-alcoholic) drinks for free in the minibar ... it made for a very welcoming and comfortable stay. And my room, overlooking the carpark, was very quiet.

The restaurant food was great - both breakfast and dinner. In fact I struggle to think of anything I could possibly criticise about this hotel which is a very good sign!

I didn't know about the Indigo chain before booking this hotel, but now I will be on the lookout for other Indigo hotels. Would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PriscillaFromSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 1 week ago

Dear Guest.
Thank you for leaving a review. We use feedback from our guests to improve our hotel and the guest experience. We hope to see you again.
David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

This has to be my favourite hotel. Great welcome on checking. And the rooms are just lovely very stylish. This time I had a room with a balcony. I brought clients in to have lunch and a meeting. Just exceptional. I have to say the restaurant service is just the best. Fish pie and steak are just yummy.
Everywhere is close by so you can leave the car and walk around shops. Night life restaurant and bars within five minutes walk

Cocktails in the bar are lovely and the breakfast is not to be missed

Fantastic hotel

Room Tip: All the rooms seem very good. I loved the one with balcony as opened and sat on it in the evening
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amandajolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 1 week ago

Dear Guest.
Thank you for leaving a review. We use feedback from our guests to improve our hotel and the guest experience. We hope to see you again.
David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

An excellent hotel: good location two minutes from Newcastle Central station and five minutes walk from the town; good rooms; excellent breakfasts (and restaurant if required) and extremely friendly and competent staff. Not the cheapest hotel you can find but definitely worth every penny.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BobW2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 1 week ago

Dear Guest.
Thank you for leaving a review. We use feedback from our guests to improve our hotel and the guest experience. We hope to see you again.
David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We stayed in this hotel for 1 night, before heading back on the ferry. Check-in went smoothly, very friendly staff too. Our room was clean, stuff from the fridge was free (just a candy bar, 2 sodas, 2 bottles of water and some crisps, but still nice perk), and the TV adequate.

We had a good nights sleep, but it was a king-bed consisting of two separate matrasses on two separate boxsprings on wheel. This made the bed feel a bit wobbly, and when lying near the middle the two parts tried to move apart. The designer sink and tap didn't work very well together since the tap somehow poured water along the nozzle instead of straight out of it.

Final remark that kept me from giving the otherwise outstanding hotel 5 stars was the fact that. At breakfast someone who I assume was the head of the wait staff scolded a man in the kitchen for something. However all the breakfast guests could hear and see the spectacle. Very unprofessional.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vossekop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 1 week ago

Dear Guest.
Thank you for leaving a review. We use feedback from our guests to improve our hotel and the guest experience. We hope to see you again.
David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

very clean, well looked after rooms, descent size and nice bathrooms. I have been staying here a lot. Free bar in room, not bad. wonderful staff, excellent location 2-3 mins from station and metro, very central. Nice breakfast selections

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Manmeet Singh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 1 week ago

Dear Guest.
Thank you for leaving a review. We use feedback from our guests to improve our hotel and the guest experience. We hope to see you again.
David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Travelling to Newcastle for the first time I wasn't sure of what to expect. Very Modern and stylish reception and warm welcome. Modern stylish and welcoming not too simple had the elements of good design without going for no frills feels.
Good strong design in the rooms with a bit of style & flair and maybe a few too many lighting options...not really a complaint just maybe slightly over done.
Great reception experience with Northern charm and encouraged to go to the Quayside for the nightlife but the room was comfortable and so stayed in and ordered room service which was prompt and of a good standard ...beef dripping chips are more like quartered potatoes , but very moorish if not the healthiest option...
The products in the bathroom are Aveda and they were topped up so all good for products and cleanliness was perfect. Elegant and nodding towards luxury

Room Tip: We stayed at the very top so had a balcony overlooking city roofs tops very pleasant!mnice and warm...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ivan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 1 week ago

Dear Guest.
Thank you for leaving a review. We use feedback from our guests to improve our hotel and the guest experience. We hope to see you again.
David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#8 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,144 reviews
0.7 mi away
Malmaison Newcastle
Malmaison Newcastle
#13 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,373 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hote...
#23 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
#1 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,403 reviews
0.3 mi away
Roomzzz Newcastle City
Roomzzz Newcastle City
#2 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
509 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Station Hotel
Royal Station Hotel
#25 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo Newcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Newcastle

Address: 2-8 Fenkle Street, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 5XU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 82 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range: £74 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Indigo Newcastle 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Indigo Newcastle is just a two-minute walk from Central Station, and a ten-minute walk to Newcastle United Football Club. This upscale venue features an iconic Marco Pierre White Steakhouse, delivering to our guests a refreshing and welcoming experience.Hotel Indigo is a boutique concept by InterContinental Hotels Group (IHG), offering guests the luxury and individuality you would come to expect of a 4-star hotel. The design of the venue has been heavily influenced by its location within the historic Grainger Town area and will feature bold geometric forms, classical proportions and repeating patterns to mimic the architecture and rows of columns that can be seen around the local neighbourhood. Today, the Grainger town area is a hot-spot for cutting edge architecture and just a short stroll away from the city’s art galleries, restaurants, shops, bars and business district. Hotel Indigo Newcastle has a car park at the rear with charges at £12 per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, IHG, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Indigo Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing