We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Amazing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Absolutely Amazing”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

This is definitely one of if not the best hotel I have stayed in!

My Girlfriend booked this as a treat for us both and I was glad she did!

Upon arrival we were booked in and shown to our room by the polite and friendly staff.

The room was out of this world with a Tyne bridge theme across the main wall and all amenities were perfect. These included iphone charging stations, LED television, a beautiful bathroom and the whole room was immaculately clean.

We had booked a room with a balcony and the views were fantastic. The only down side was the partitions between each balcony were glass so not much privacy but I can accept this for the quality of room. Fridge also came with complimentary beers and wine! Which went down a treat before our night out.

The bed was amazingly comfortable and the air conditioned room made this one of the best nights sleep I can remember having.

We opted for room service breakfast in the morning and I was definitely not disappointed. both arrived on time and cooked to perfection. I had the full english breakfast which consisted of the usual sausage, egg (How you like it), bacon, beans and toast with fresh juice and coffee. My girlfriend being vegetarian opted for the continental breakfast which contained fresh croissant, lovely fruit, Cheese and cereal of her choice with a pot of tea. Eating this on the balcony topped off a beautiful stay we had and I would definitely recommend this hotel to anybody both from Newcastle or Visiting!

Room Tip: Definitely get a room with a balcony. The views across newcastle are beautiful and sun catches them...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GeordieKris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,150 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,393
    580
    144
    24
    9
See reviews for
181
1,000
85
394
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (371)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East Sussex
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

I have stayed over the years in what one calls "boutique" hotels and this is the first one that bears the true meaning of the word. I would also add it is a "bijou" hotel. We stayed for a full week. The room was lovely and so comfortable. Everyday, drinks, crisps, mineral water and chocolate were added to the small fridge in the room and this was free!
The food was sublime, breakfast very rich and varied as you would expect from a Marco Pierre White restaurant.
The location is perfect! Right in the centre of the City. We walked everywhere.
The staff was ever so helpful with every aspect of our stay. I could go on and on saying how wonderful everything is. To sum it up, I could say that the sense of satisfaction we felt was similar to the one we felt when staying in the Carlton Ritz Hotel in Dubai and the Wesbury Hotel in Dublin.
Staying in the Indigo Hotel certainly helped us have a great holiday. We went there as a trip down memory lane for my husband who attended university in Newcastle many years ago :)

Room Tip: The staff gave us a room overlooking the car park as we were told that this would be quieter, and it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Redfierylady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, England
Level Contributor
101 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We stayed for just one night, before heading off on a cruise the next day. Located just a couple of minutes walk from Newcastle station, we were greeted by Rachel on reception who was lovely and friendly, helpful and efficient - a real delight. The room was spacious and clean, with everything we needed, the wifi worked well. We ordered wine and nibbles from room service, which was delivered very quickly. The bed was comfy, so we slept well - though there was a bit of noise from the street outside and from other guests during the night, however on a Saturday night in a big city a certain amount of noise is inevitable. Breakfast was lovely, buffet-style so you have as much or as little as you like. When we checked out, Rachel was on the desk again and she recognised us and knew our names before we said anything - impressive! She then offered to help us find the shuttle bus stop for our cruise by taking us there! When do you find service like that these days - so rare, and so welcome. We would go back to this hotel any time, the only sad thing is that we doubt we'll find such first rate customer service again in a hurry.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dizzy33Derby_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Stayed here last weekend for one night, check in was very easy and the staff where most helpful.
We had and upgrade to a room with a balcony and the drinks in the mini bar where included.

The location is spot on for the night life.

I would stay here again if I was in Newcastle
The only criticism I would have is that the parking spaces aren't very wide making it difficult to get out of the car once you are in your space.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Well... Where do I begin? Arrived at 10:30am after a very short stroll from Newcastle station- first impressions were that the hotel was well positioned and had a lovely looking bar! We were greeted by the two most friendly ladies I have ever experienced within a hotel. Both asked about the purpose of our visit and genuinely looked interested which doesn't always happen! I advised we were there for my husbands birthday and could we leave our bags as we were very early but wanted to look around. We were then advised that we could check in now as our room was ready and that they had upgraded us to a balcony room! We were over the moon!
The room was GORGEOUS. Modern well thought out decor with a fantastic mural of Grainger market on the wall and a lovely big balcony... Being a bit of a girly girl, I always judge on the presence of a dressing table, hairdryer and complimentary toiletries and it was a big ten out of ten for all three of these! Powerful hairdryer, gorgeous Aveda toiletries and a dressing table with a huge mirror so I could primp and preen until my heart was content.
Having been advised the minibar was complimentary we took a sneaky peek inside and were delighted to find small bottles of red & white wine, two beers, a bottle opener, water, soft drinks, chocolate and crisps! I even checked on the way out whether the alcohol was complimentary and was advised 'of course, it's the weekend- go for it!' Having read previous comments that state there was no alcohol in the minibar, I can only presume it depends which room you were in? That being said, we are not an ungrateful pair and cannot overstate how much we appreciated these little touches on what was a very special weekend.
Upon returning from a fantastic day exploring Newcastle we returned to a beautiful chocolate and pistachio tart with the words Happy Birthday iced next to it, and a birthday card that one of the staff members had taken the time to personalise. Well, it was decided there and then that Hotel Indigo was the one to be beaten. And it will certainly take great things to beat this gem.
A delicious buffet breakfast with a large selection of hot and cold items, decent coffee (we've found you hardly ever get nice coffee with a hotel breakfast!) and more fantastic service the following morning meant we left feeling like we had found a firm favourite. In fact, we just had to pop out and buy a thank you card for the staff- some people may roll their eyes at this but I think credit should be given where credit is due and we felt it necessary to reciprocate their lovely gesture and write them a note telling them how happy we were with our stay.
It was a weekend we will never forget and Hotel Indigo should be extremely proud of their staff that made it that way for us.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
71 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

I don't have any complaints about this hotel - it's in a good, central location, and the staff were friendly and helpful. I had a very comfortable sleep and the room had an I-pod dock which was very useful while getting ready to go out! There is a free mini bar in the room but don't get too excited about it as there was no alcohol in the fridge! It was still a nice touch to get some complimentary soft drinks.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoveHols85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Used this hotel as a stop over after attending a concert at the Metro Arena. It's only a brisk 5 minute walk away. Modern interior in what looks like a developed older building. Rooms were smart, and boutiquey, The executive room was not overly large but large enough for 1 night stay. The only drwaback was that the view over the car park and rubbish bins was not so appealing. Only tried the restaurant for breakfast, which was very reasonably priced. The evening restaurant has a Marco Pierre White stamp, so maybe next time will try it... yes, it's worth a second visit. The staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Be careful parking in the hotel car park...the spaces are very narrow !
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DRRHyvots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.7 mi away
Malmaison Newcastle
Malmaison Newcastle
#15 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,258 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#7 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,050 reviews
0.7 mi away
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
#1 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Roomzzz Newcastle City
Roomzzz Newcastle City
#2 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
477 reviews
0.2 mi away
Motel One Newcastle
Motel One Newcastle
#6 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
408 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
#14 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo Newcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Newcastle

Property: Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Address: 2-8 Fenkle Street, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 5XU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 82 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Indigo Newcastle 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Indigo Newcastle is just a two-minute walk from Central Station, and a ten-minute walk to Newcastle United Football Club. This upscale venue features an iconic Marco Pierre White Steakhouse, delivering to our guests a refreshing and welcoming experience.Hotel Indigo is a boutique concept by InterContinental Hotels Group (IHG), offering guests the luxury and individuality you would come to expect of a 4-star hotel. The design of the venue has been heavily influenced by its location within the historic Grainger Town area and will feature bold geometric forms, classical proportions and repeating patterns to mimic the architecture and rows of columns that can be seen around the local neighbourhood. Today, the Grainger town area is a hot-spot for cutting edge architecture and just a short stroll away from the city’s art galleries, restaurants, shops, bars and business district. Hotel Indigo Newcastle has a car park at the rear with charges at £12 per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Indigo Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing