We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Classy, friendly hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Classy, friendly hotel.”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

First stay in this hotel (it had been recommended) and I can see why. Room was very clean and comfortable. Speakers in the bathroom were an unusual novelty and the complimentary stocked fridge was good too. Location is excellent for access to the city centre or train station and despite being so near the busy areas of the centre the rooms were quiet. (It was a Monday night so I can't say what it would be like at the weekend.) I didn't have the chance to try the Marco Pierre White restaurant but the food at breakfast was very tasty.
But what makes this hotel stand out for me above others I have stayed in are the very friendly and helpful staff. I'm planning to use this hotel again for future visits to Newcastle.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vecchiaia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paul B, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear vecchiaia

Thank you for your review of our hotel. Its always pleasing to read that our team stand out.

Can I also thank the person who recommended the hotel to you and do look forward to welcoming you both back to the hotel soon.

Many Thanks
Paul Borg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,374
    570
    142
    24
    9
See reviews for
179
985
83
386
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (369)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

I joined my husband at the Indigo on Friday and relieved a warm welcome from the front of house staff. It had been my husbands birthday the previous week and I emailed the hotel to see if an upgrade was possible, I received a quick positive response and we were given a lovely room with a balcony. The whole experience was fab and we will definitely be going back, soon!!
Thank you again to all of the lovely staff!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Honor K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paul B, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Honor K

Many thanks for your great review of our hotel. I was really pleased to read that the team responded to your request quickly.

I do look forward to welcoming you back soon to the hotel.

Many Thanks
Paul Borg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

The customer service at this hotel was faultless and nothing was too much trouble. The friendly and helpful staff make this hotel. I really enjoyed our stay (especially the room service breakfasts) and I'd happily stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank awayuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paul B, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear awayuk

Many Thanks for your 5* review of our hotel. I was really pleased to read that its the staff that make this a great place to stay.

Many Thanks
Paul Borg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
230 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We are starting our trek along Hadrian's Wall and stayed at the Hotel Indigo. The staff have gone out of their way to direct us to local points of interest which was very much appreciated. The rooms are modern, clean and comfortable! Great stay!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jsimmill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paul B, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear jsimmill

Many thanks for your 5* review of our hotel. I was really pleased to read that the team went out of there way to direct you to some off Newcastle's points of interest.

I do hope you enjoyed your trek and the beautiful scenery along the way.

Many Thanks
Paul Borg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stokesley, Cleveland, UK
Level Contributor
150 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

What can I say? This has to be one of the nicest hotels I have stated in. The staff are very friendly and the rooms are awesome, we were staying in the exec rooms on floor 4, they even had their own balcony. The room was clean and the bed was very comfortable, nice touch of a stocked fridge with water, soft drinks and nibbles. We ate in the Marci Pierre White restuarant and it was amazing, would definately eat here again. Hotel is in a great location with most amenities very close by, so great for shopping, theatres and restaurants and bars. If I have to stay in Newcastle again, I will definately stay again

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paul B, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Shello

Thank you for your great review of our hotel. Its great to read when guests have an amazing stay with us. I am glad that you got to try the Marco Pierre White restaurant, and that you would book again.

Many Thanks
Paul Borg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Calder, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

I'm not an expert on Newcastle hotels but I doubt you'll find better than Indigo. Everything's fresh and new, very modern, extremely comfortable. Toilet/shower area a bit wee, but shower really great.
Couldn't find more pleasant, helpful, attentive staff; the staff are probably what really makes this hotel so good.
Didn't eat in the restaurant (looked decidedly pricey, beginning at £17 for sausage and mash) but the breakfast was one of the best hotel breakfasts I've had anywhere.
Bar prices were high at £16 for a pint and a (large) white wine, yet cocktails seemed to be 'average' price, and spirits prices didn't seem at all excessive for a really smart bar in a top city-centre hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Poadster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paul B, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Poadster

Thank you for your 5* review of our hotel. I am really pleased to read that you found the hotel very modern, and extremely comfortable. But most of all that the staff where pleasant, helpful, attentive which your right is what makes our hotel so special.

I do look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Many Thanks
Paul Borg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a week in July and could not have been more pleased. Everything was comfy and clean, the staff were fantastic and the restaurant served me some of the best food I'd ever eaten.
Highly recommended, best hotel in the area by some margin.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Lloyd C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paul B, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Lloyd C

Thank you for your review of our hotel.

its so pleasing to read that you would highly recommend our hotel and the you think we are the best in the area by some margin.

We will ensure that the team are aware of your comments.

Many Thanks
Paul Borg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#7 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 996 reviews
0.7 mi away
Malmaison Newcastle
Malmaison Newcastle
#15 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,214 reviews
0.7 mi away
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
#1 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Roomzzz Newcastle City
Roomzzz Newcastle City
#2 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
0.2 mi away
Motel One Newcastle
Motel One Newcastle
#6 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hote...
#22 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo Newcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Newcastle

Property: Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Address: 2-8 Fenkle Street, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 5XU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 82 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Indigo Newcastle 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Indigo Newcastle is just a two-minute walk from Central Station, and a ten-minute walk to Newcastle United Football Club. This upscale venue features an iconic Marco Pierre White Steakhouse, delivering to our guests a refreshing and welcoming experience.Hotel Indigo is a boutique concept by InterContinental Hotels Group (IHG), offering guests the luxury and individuality you would come to expect of a 4-star hotel. The design of the venue has been heavily influenced by its location within the historic Grainger Town area and will feature bold geometric forms, classical proportions and repeating patterns to mimic the architecture and rows of columns that can be seen around the local neighbourhood. Today, the Grainger town area is a hot-spot for cutting edge architecture and just a short stroll away from the city’s art galleries, restaurants, shops, bars and business district. Hotel Indigo Newcastle has a car park at the rear with charges at £12 per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Indigo Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing