We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“High tea experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“High tea experience”
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

The husband and I booked in for afternoon tea and what a fab experience, sandwiches, pastries, cakes and scones with clotted cream and jam. As much tea and coffee as you want and a lovely modern and contemporary atmosphere we throughly enjoyed our treat

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Melhutton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paul B, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Melhutton

Many thanks for your 5* review of our hotel.

I do hope to welcome you back for afternoon tea soon.

Many thanks
Paul Borg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,086 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,352
    560
    142
    24
    8
See reviews for
178
965
80
381
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (367)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

This hotel's main attraction Is that it's just around the corner from the station and the shops. Quite a distance from the waterfront which is much more appealing as a tourist destination.

It's fine for a short stay. We booked an executive room which was disappointingly small. There was no way the bed was king size either.

The staff were unfailingly warm and friendly. From reception to restaurant nothing was too much trouble. They were only let down by management/HR staff who were conducting personal (and not pleasant) interviews with other staff in the middle of the bar at lunchtime. Embarrassing, unnecessary and unprofessional! Get a room!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank heandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paul B, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear heandi

Thank you for your review of our hotel.

We thank you for your comments and will look at some of our policy's and procedures.

Many thanks
Paul Borg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
39 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

Why? because the hotel is faultless! The staff are arguabley the most welcoming and down-to-earth you'll ever have the pleasure to meet. The hotel rooms are spotless, high end luxury and without a doubt, different from the norm - like the speaker in the bathroom so I can listen to the radio in the Shower, or the minibar stocked with loads of lovely goodies. The cleanliness is 11/10 and down to the anazing cleaning staff, who work tirelessly to keep it spot-on and having met on briefly, found them to be equally lovely;-)).

You wouldn't have a better experience anywhere else - PS 439 is the only way to roll!

Special mentions to 'Danielle' @Reception for making us smile despite having to check out;'Hajnal' @Breakfast staff - they all work incredibly hard, but for us she stood out. Our baby took a shine to her and love the attention she paid, despite being busy. She was a joy to talk to and pleasure to see in the morning; The very young bartender (sorry forgetten the name) who my husband raved over for knowing so much and making an already great cocktail ever better, with his special touches.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scouser_on_the_move
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paul B, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear scouser_on_the_move

Thank you so much for your great review of our hotel. I am extremely proud of all of the team at the hotel and the hard work they do to make every guests stay special. I am very pleased to read that our team did this for you.

Its extremely nice to read that Danielle and Hajnal made your stay with us and of course our housekeeping team who do work extremely hard to ensure our hotel is spotless.

Many Thanks for your kind words and I do hope to welcome you and your family back soon.

Paul Borg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

There is so much good to write about this place, so I will bullet point for ease.
* Most lovely reception welcome ever
* Delightful room, fresh décor, comfy bed & plump pillows
* Lovely bathroom, lovely Aveda toiletries
* Complimentary mini-bar which was stocked with still/sparkling water, kit-kat, crisps, diet coke & lemonade & refreshed daily.
* Nom Nom Nom breakfast included daily provided off a menu with a buffet option on Sundays.
* Lovely food ordered from room service
* Chips cooked in beef dripping (WHAT!!!! TRY AT LEAST TWICE TO BE SURE)
* Waitresses were a delight and understood what burnt bacon (the way I like it) actually meant
* Even the security cards were a crack at night
* Extended check out till 2pm on Sunday

I can NOT fault this hotel at all.

We went for Newcastle Pride, which was fabulous and this just made the trip even more special.

Well Done to all the team there.

Room Tip: Higher floor, front facing to avoid car-park views :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Majid R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paul B, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Majid R

Many Thanks for your great review of our hotel.

is always great to read such positive comments as yours about our great hotel. I do hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Many Thanks
Paul Borg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

I don't even know where to start with this place.

This was our first stay in Newcastle when we arrived back from Spain and it was a delight! We were greeted by lovely receptionist's that were explaining good places to eat and where the shopping centre was. We were upgraded to a lovely room due to anniversary!! and we got chocolates and a card from the staff.

I work as a receptionist and it was great to be at the other side receiving such good service.

Would definitely come back to stay here, in fact we are looking at trips down for September!

Thank you again to all the staff! :)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank _sarahlouiseee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paul B, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear _sarahlouiseee

Many Thanks for you 5* review of our hotel. Its always great to read what a fantastic job our team does to deliver great customer service.

I do look forward to welcoming you back in September.

Many Thanks
Paul Borg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Driffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
198 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Just back from a weekend stay and had an excellent time. Got upgraded to a balcony room and couldn't fault it, great for sitting out with a glass of wine (from the free mini bar) in the evening. Bed was very comfy and the bathroom was spotless and had a superb shower. Breakfast was included on our rate and was delicious.

Location was very good, just round the corner from the station and town. Will definitely return.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Johnatdriff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paul B, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Johnatdriff

Many Thanks for your 5* review of our hotel.

I was pleased to read that you managed to enjoy our outside space with your free wine from our minibars.

Many Thanks
Paul Borg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Very brief and sad visit to my home town was made very comfortable by very attentive, caring and helpful staff. Nothing was to much trouble, they thought of every thing to make my stay as comfortable as possible. Good food and excellent wine, a traditional quality menu of British classics.
The room was clean and comfortable and considering its in the centre of Newcastle , very quiet.
Thanks for everything .

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tucks2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paul B, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear tucks2

Many Thanks for your review of our hotel. Always great to read that the team where attentive, caring and helpful.

I do hope to welcome you back to Newcastle soon hopefully for longer.

Many Thanks
Paul Borg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#8 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
916 reviews
0.7 mi away
Malmaison Newcastle
Malmaison Newcastle
#15 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,160 reviews
0.7 mi away
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
#1 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Roomzzz Newcastle City
Roomzzz Newcastle City
#2 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
461 reviews
0.2 mi away
Motel One Newcastle
Motel One Newcastle
#6 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
377 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hote...
#21 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo Newcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Newcastle

Property: Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Address: 2-8 Fenkle Street, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 5XU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 84 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Indigo Newcastle 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Indigo Newcastle is just a two-minute walk from Central Station, and a ten-minute walk to Newcastle United Football Club. This upscale venue features an iconic Marco Pierre White Steakhouse, delivering to our guests a refreshing and welcoming experience.Hotel Indigo is a boutique concept by InterContinental Hotels Group (IHG), offering guests the luxury and individuality you would come to expect of a 4-star hotel. The design of the venue has been heavily influenced by its location within the historic Grainger Town area and will feature bold geometric forms, classical proportions and repeating patterns to mimic the architecture and rows of columns that can be seen around the local neighbourhood. Today, the Grainger town area is a hot-spot for cutting edge architecture and just a short stroll away from the city’s art galleries, restaurants, shops, bars and business district. Hotel Indigo Newcastle has a car park at the rear with charges at £12 per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Priceline, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Indigo Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing