We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good choice”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We took awhile to choose a hotel for our Newcastle trip but our final choice turned out to be a great one. This hotel is a short walk from the railway station and in a good location for all the high lights of the town. It is a lovely modern building with a large lounge/reception area. Checking was quick and easy and our room was lovely. We enjoyed the comfortable room with free snacks and soft drinks. Staff we friendly and helpful, breakfast was excellent with lots of choice and good service. This was not a cheap choice but for us it was the best.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YCPManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paul B, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
I am pleased to hear that after a bit of decision making you opted to stay with ourselves, and that the choice was justified! We would be delighted to welcome you back on a future trip to Newcastle.

Kindest regards,
Paul Borg- General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,215 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,431
    598
    150
    24
    12
See reviews for
191
1,037
88
399
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (380)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Hotel Indigo is just a short walk from the station and very central. The staff were friendly and helpful. My room was smart, clean and well equipped, although housekeeping had forgotten towels. The breakfast had plenty of choices and the food, fresh and well prepared. My only real gripe was that the staff assured me that in the whole hotel not a single room had a bath. Bad news for those of us whose idea of luxury is a soak in the tub....

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thinbungee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paul B, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Good afternoon Thinbungee,

Thank you for your review. I am sorry for the lack of bath facility however I am please that the other services this hotel provides made up for that. I do hope you stay with us again.

Kindest regards,
Paul Borg- General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We booked 2 rooms for our guests on the weekend of Ladies day at Newcastle races and the Sunderland Air Show, this hotel never fails to get better on every visit.
The indigo has got it right in all respects, rooms, bar, staff, meals an oasis in the centre of Newcastle keep up the good work.
My only complaint was against myself I forgot to book a meal on the night time in this every popular restaurant, however a bar menu was ordered and served very quick which filled us tired travellers after a day at the races and was very tasty.
Thanks for a fantastic stay back again soon THANKS

Room Tip: The rooms on level 6 have balcony's with a table and chairs for that late night drink to soak up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paul B, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Hello Jeff,

I appreciate the time giving us such a positive review and I am delighted to hear you are enjoying every stay with us. I do recommend that you book the restaurant in advance, like you said it is very popular and we never like to turn people away!

I look forward to your next stay with us,
Paul Borg- General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
teeside
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

Stopped here before in a bigger room and would recommend an upgrade if you can. When the wife and I got there there was a half drank can of pop on the table. The staff were very apologetic and gave us complimentary drinks which was graciously accepted as I felt it would be rude to decline the bottle of red and white! Cheers!
Rooms are spot on. Lovely modern decor, spotless and super comfy bed. Never ate on the evening this time as we went out for tea but the breakfast is top notch. Staff very friendly and helpful. Like I said, favourite place to stop in Newcastle and have booked in for our next trip there in October.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teeside70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paul B, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Good evening teeside70,

Thank you for such a great review of our hotel. I do apologise about the beverage being there upon your arrival, housekeeping are aware of the issue and will not allow a repeat of this. Glad this was rectified however, and I hope you stay with us again soon!

Kindest regards,
Paul Borg- General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Amazing hotel. The executive room has a balcony with bed to have the sun and table with chairs to have a drink. The bathroom perfect, new, clean and big with nice design and equipment. Difficult to find this kind of hotels in uj

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank JorgeC9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paul B, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Good evening JorgeC9,

I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you got to make use of the balcony facilities! We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,
Paul Borg- General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

I would like too start by saying thank you too the excellent staff at this hotel they couldnt do enough for you (especially coleen serving drinks and trina on the restraunt) the room was air conditioned well stocked fridge most definitely recommend staying again.also I would like too add that it was my husbands birthday and 2 complimentary glasses of prosseco we're welcoming after a long drive thank you again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karon p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paul B, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Hello Karon,

Thank you for your review. I am pleased to hear that the birthday weekend was made extra special with the customer service you received. I will ensure Trina and Colleen are commended for their hospitality, and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Kindest regards,
Paul Borg- General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Market Bosworth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
225 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

I would say that they need to be clearer with their advertising as on their website it says ' Why not treat yourself to one of our king executive rooms with private balcony'. Now I read that to say that their king executive rooms have balconies. Which I found out when I checked in to be wrong if you want a balcony it was another £20 to 'upgrade'. Slightly frustrating but after a 6hr car journey decided that being able to sit outside was worth the cost.

Their normal executive rooms are very small but the ones with the balcony where much larger and brighter with the huge window wall.

Bed was super comfortable as were the pillows, the cordless phone was much more user friendly. The 'upgraded' mini bar had a bottle of white, a bottle of red, couple of small beers, few soft drinks and snacks all of which were complementary which was a nice touch.

The balcony was a good size with a table and couple of chairs, they are all in a line with each other with glass dividers so not at all private but still nice to be able to sit outside.

Ordered room service and the food was quick and very good.

Breakfast was nice, eggs benedict was a lovely treat.

The staff were all helpful and it felt like nothing was too much trouble.

Car park was underground just passed the front door if the hotel and well sign posted, spaces were small but it was quite empty. £12 charge but apparently the exit ticket was valid all day so ideal if you had meetings in the city centre.

Would certainly use again when I am in Newcastle.

Room Tip: Their normal executive rooms are very small but the ones with the balcony where much larger and brig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma_N68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paul B, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Good evening Emma,

Thank you for your review. Apologies that the room you had booked was different to the one you had expected, however pleased to hear that you were satisfied after checking in.

I hope you will visit again in the near future. If there is anything we can help with prior to your arrival, we will ensure this is actioned 24/7 to make your stay as smooth and enjoyable as possible.

Kind regards,
Paul Borg- General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#7 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,102 reviews
0.7 mi away
Malmaison Newcastle
Malmaison Newcastle
#16 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,334 reviews
0.7 mi away
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
#1 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hote...
#23 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,413 reviews
0.3 mi away
Roomzzz Newcastle City
Roomzzz Newcastle City
#2 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
499 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
#15 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo Newcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Newcastle

Property: Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Address: 2-8 Fenkle Street, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 5XU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 82 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Indigo Newcastle 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Indigo Newcastle is just a two-minute walk from Central Station, and a ten-minute walk to Newcastle United Football Club. This upscale venue features an iconic Marco Pierre White Steakhouse, delivering to our guests a refreshing and welcoming experience.Hotel Indigo is a boutique concept by InterContinental Hotels Group (IHG), offering guests the luxury and individuality you would come to expect of a 4-star hotel. The design of the venue has been heavily influenced by its location within the historic Grainger Town area and will feature bold geometric forms, classical proportions and repeating patterns to mimic the architecture and rows of columns that can be seen around the local neighbourhood. Today, the Grainger town area is a hot-spot for cutting edge architecture and just a short stroll away from the city’s art galleries, restaurants, shops, bars and business district. Hotel Indigo Newcastle has a car park at the rear with charges at £12 per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Odigeo, Expedia, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Indigo Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing