We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, Excellent Customer Service, Lovely hotel!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
Ashington, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent location, Excellent Customer Service, Lovely hotel!!”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Me and my partner stayed here in July for Newcastle's gay pride, The location is perfect its right next to the gate and the gay scene (pink triangle) the hotel itself is very modern and 'posh' feel to it, lovely staff and very clean and gorgeous rooms! 5 stars!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GreggandDean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paul B, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Good evening GreggandDean,

Thanks for your great review and photos. I am pleased the location suited you perfectly! We hope you do choose to stay with us again when you are next in Newcastle.

Kindest regards,
Paul Borg- General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,217 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,433
    598
    150
    24
    12
See reviews for
191
1,038
88
399
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (380)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Middlesbrough
1 review
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

We have stayed at the Indigo many times and every time we return it just gets better and better. The staff here are so welcoming and really put themselves out to make our stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible. In particular, Rachel the reception Manager and Mike and Colleen from the bar. They are the reason we return every month. Thank you for making our stays great :) We are already looking forward to our next visit :)

Dean and Zara

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DandZ25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paul B, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Hello Dean and Zara,

Many thanks for the feedback. It is great to hear you get such a great welcome with each and every stay. I will ensure that Rachel, Mike and Colleen personally receive praise for their contribution to you choosing to stay with us when in Newcastle!

We look forward to your next visit.

Kindest regards,
Paul Borg- General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

This hotel is absolutely amazing!! Went on june 28th 2014 for my 30th birthday with 6 friends, the staff were fantastic and friendly and they even gave us a free upgrade!! All the rooms were great with mini fridge and soft drinks and snacks free of charge, spotless clean and fresh. 2 of my friends who already live in newcastle joined us in our room for a drink and it was no problem at all. my friends gave the bar staff a birthday cake to bring out to me as a suprise and they did it no problem at all. Can't say a bad word about the place and the next time I'm staying in Newcastle I will be staying here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank b4rry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paul B, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Thank you B4rry for this great review. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your 30th birthday with us, especially with the staff going that extra mile to ensure you had the best stay possible.

I do hope you choose to stay with us on your 31st!

Kindest regards,
Paul Borg- General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

I stayed here for one night in early August. Great location - really central and two minutes from the station. Clean, bright, reasonable size rooms. The balcony was a good size with a reasonable view. Bathroom was fine although a shower not a bath. Welcoming and efficient service. Breakfast spoiled by the Lancashire Cheese Omelette being packed with ham (the Veggie Surprise, no doubt) and despite ordering Earl Grey tea I got English Breakfast. All sorted out quickly and with good grace. Stay here again? Definitely.

Room Tip: Higher rooms have better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Justin_Dillon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paul B, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Hello Justin,

It is great to hear you will choose to stay with us again on a future visit to Newcastle. Apologies that during breakfast the correct order was not given first time around, however we pride ourselves in the customer service we provide and I am glad the issue was rectified with no additional issues. I hope to see you again soon.

Kindest regards,
Paul Borg- General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with my partner on a Saturday night.room was great, nice and clean, massive shower nice modern decor. The hotels also in a great spot a few mins walk from central station and in easy walking distance of both the shopping centre and nightlife. We had a room with a balcony which was great to sit out on and have a drink.I will say that if your looking for an early night or if noise will bother you, ask to be put to the opposite side of the hotel from Bonbar which is next door, as on a weekend the music is blaring till after 2am. I would have given 5* if it wasn't for one of the bottles of beer in our mini bar had already been half drank then put back in there with a lid on! Also they need to do something about the bed,which slides away from the headboard every time you move in bed, by morning the bed had moved halfway across the room! But overall a good stay and I would go back.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank imallebbot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paul B, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Hello Imallebbot,

Thank you for giving the time to give this great review. Unfortunately on weekends noise from nearby can be a factor and on a future visit we will be more than happy to allocate you a room away from any potential disturbances. The feedback regarding the minibar has been noted and passed on to the relevant department. I am happy to hear you still had a great stay with us, and hope to see you again soon!

Kindest regards,
Paul Borg- General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
angus
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here on a Friday/ Saturday. There was a special Friday offer Champagne for £20 till 7pm. MPW restaurant was excellent. All the staff were super very efficient and friendly. The rooms are very well appointed, my wife was impressed with the Aveda products in the bathroom. If you come by train this so easy to get to. By car is also catered for with plenty if parking. We will certainly come back. Thanks Avida.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jobra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paul B, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Hello jobra,

Thank you for the great five star review. I appreciate the feedback regarding the service and location. Fizz Friday is also a fantastic deal so it is great you got to take part!

It would be great to see you again in the near future.

Kindest regards,
Paul Borg- General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

The hotel was very modern and rooms were spacious.wasn't quite as clean as I would expect for this hotel but wasnt dirty.lovely cocktails in the hotel bar and highly recommend Marco pierre whites restaurant.we ate the three course set meal and it was all sensational!great location for a city stay,as it's walking distance to shops and football stadium but not too lively

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank youngfamilysunandfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paul B, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thank you for your great review of both Hotel Indigo and MPW restaurant. We appreciate the feedback regarding your room, cleanliness is of the highest priority and I am sorry on this occasion you didn't feel it was of the highest standard. I will ensure this feedback is passed on to the relevant department.
I am delighted you had enjoyed your stay however and hope to see you again in the near future.

Kindest regards,
Paul Borg- General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#7 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,102 reviews
0.7 mi away
Malmaison Newcastle
Malmaison Newcastle
#16 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,338 reviews
0.7 mi away
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
#1 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hote...
#23 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,414 reviews
0.3 mi away
Roomzzz Newcastle City
Roomzzz Newcastle City
#2 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
501 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Station Hotel
Royal Station Hotel
#25 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo Newcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Newcastle

Property: Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Address: 2-8 Fenkle Street, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 5XU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 82 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Indigo Newcastle 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Indigo Newcastle is just a two-minute walk from Central Station, and a ten-minute walk to Newcastle United Football Club. This upscale venue features an iconic Marco Pierre White Steakhouse, delivering to our guests a refreshing and welcoming experience.Hotel Indigo is a boutique concept by InterContinental Hotels Group (IHG), offering guests the luxury and individuality you would come to expect of a 4-star hotel. The design of the venue has been heavily influenced by its location within the historic Grainger Town area and will feature bold geometric forms, classical proportions and repeating patterns to mimic the architecture and rows of columns that can be seen around the local neighbourhood. Today, the Grainger town area is a hot-spot for cutting edge architecture and just a short stroll away from the city’s art galleries, restaurants, shops, bars and business district. Hotel Indigo Newcastle has a car park at the rear with charges at £12 per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Indigo Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing