We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
Pulloxhill, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
222 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 260 helpful votes
“Excellent service”
Reviewed 28 August 2014

As an IHG Platinum member, I always try to use IHG hotels wherever possible, but this was my first experience of the Indigo brand.

Overall, I can't fault this hotel - great location, superb service, trendy vibe, contemporary styling, decent price - and it will be my hotel of choice for any future visits to Newcastle.

The rooms are quite small but beautifully decorated, the toiletries are Aveda (wow!) and the complimentary minibar is a far cry from the stingy hotels charging extortionate prices for an in-room glass of water. In standard room the minibar is soft drinks only so don't get too excited, but I was upgraded (love it when the Platinum membership is recognised, thanks) and got some wine and beer too in addition to the fabulous balcony. Complimentary room service for breakfast and a Marco Pierre White restaurant on the premises completes the deal for me.

I doubt you'd get better for less than 100 quid in any city centre.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hamish11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paul B, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Hello Hamish,

Thank you for choosing us to be your first Indigo experience! We do ensure we recognise all IHG members that come and stay with us, I am glad you got to make use of the upgraded mini bar and balcony.

I hope you will make us your first choice within the city centre as you can get fantastic deals especially when booking in advance, considering our great location, transport links and nearby attractions.

Kindest regards,
Paul Borg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,217 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,433
    598
    150
    24
    12
See reviews for
191
1,038
88
399
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (380)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2014

We had 3 twin rooms for one night recently for 6 guys to use. From the booking process to the checkout, it was an easy process and for us, good value with using a package deal that was on offer.

Whether we were fortunate or not, the girl on the checkin desk was superb being friendly, explaining everything well to us and getting us sorted quickly and efficiently. The rooms were all very good, clean and well proportioned.

We made use of the bar for one drink - quite expensive prices at £5/pint - and the package we had included a breakfast in the Marco Pierre White restaurant. This turned out to be the most disappointing aspect of the visit for all of us with everyone commenting that the selection of hot food was limited (scrambled egg that was very dry), sausages, bacon, mushrooms and hash browns - no beans/tomatoes/black pudding/alternative eggs etc. The toast was cold within a minute of being delivered to the table but there was a good choice of fruit/cereals etc.

The staff were excellent throughout and we all commented that we would make use of the hotel again but maybe not have the breakfast option in the future.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank derbyjap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paul B, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Hello derbyjap,

Thank you for your review. I am pleased to read that the staff provided excellent service and that you would return for this reason. Regarding breakfast, the feedback will indeed be passed onto the food and beverage department, all feedback is greatly appreciated.

I look forward to your next stay with us at Hotel Indigo.

Kindest regards,
Paul Borg- General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Great service - excellent value. The staff were very helpful. The room size and finishings are first rate. would recommended for anyone needing to be central. only issue is the lack of lift from the car park

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank corporatehotelguest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paul B, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Good evening,

Thank you for your kind review. On a return visit if you are needing assistance coming into our car park please give us a heads up and our front desk team will be more than happy to assist you.

I hope you choose to stay with us again in the near future.

Kindest regards,
Sam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
70 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

After walking Hadrian's Wall finishing and staying here was awesome! Situated in the heart of Newcastle the hotel gives you access with easy walking distance to so many things.

The front of house staff were exceptional and cannot do enough for you! And all so happy to be so.

The room was more then adequate, quiet, decent shower and bathroom.

Room service very quick and professional, I really cannot fault this hotel, I would not hesitate to come back. Wonderful staff!!

Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Campbell C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paul B, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Hello Campbell C,

I am glad to hear you had a great stay with us from such a great review, especially after walking Hadrians Wall! Our front desk team are extremely welcoming and will be more than happy to check you in on a future visit.

Kindest regards,
Paul Borg- General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NEWCASTLE
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We booked Hotel Indigo for an anniversary treat. The reception staff are the best Ive come across. Without asking he (Sam) moved our room form one side of the hotel to the other as there was a very large wedding occurring next door. He also arranged for 2 glasses of prosecco to be sent to our room as a treat for our anniversary .

In the room on the 4th floor. Complimentary soft drinks mini bar coke, water, crisps, kitkat etc.
Hairdryer, Iron lots of charging ports, iPod dock, large TV etc.

Room was really modern and very comfortable with A/C. Spotlessly clean and very comfortable. No bath but large walk in shower with Aveda toiletries.

We ate out and returned later that night and had a drink in the bar downstairs.

Breakfast in MPW restaurant in the morning was lovely too. I had pancakes with hot berries. There were lots to choose from continental and cooked

Hassle free checkout again and a chat with Rachel and Sam on reception. Staff are superb Indigo a credit to the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paul B, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Good morning Stardy,

I greatly appreciate the fantastic review. At Hotel Indigo we aim to go above and beyond in any way we can, I am glad you feel the hospitality was of a high standard. With this in mind, I hope you come and visit us again in the future!

Kindest regards,
Paul Borg- General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Stayed one night at this hotel and wish it had been a fortnight!! We received a warm welcome when we arrived and were lucky enough to get an upgrade - wow, what a room! Really spacious and spotlessly clean with a great bathroom. The wallpaper in the room was really unusual - loved it! We had a balcony with table/chairs and sun loungers. Thankfully, it was warm enough to take advantage of the loungers and we enjoyed a glass of wine on the balcony from the complimentary mini bar!

Dinner was wonderful at Marco Pierre White's - I've never tasted chips so delicious! Breakfast too was hearty and beautifully cooked.

Going back in October!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PandDW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paul B, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Hello PandDW,

Thank you for your great review. I am very happy to hear you had a great stay with us. Regarding the rooms, the design is inspired by the local Grainger Town architechture, glad you liked it!

I do hope you choose to stay with us again in the near future.

Kindest regards,
Paul Borg- General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Lovely warm welcome welcome by two young gentlemen who couldn't help enough. Room was lovely but no view which was disappointing. Everything you wanted from this hotel was catered for. Large safe for laptop and lots of sockets for your devices. Breakfast staff gave slow service and looked like they didn't want to be there., and breakfast service was quite only 5 tables? Food was excellent.. Very clean and ideal for business or pleasure. Plus free wifi

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 80502946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paul B, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I do apologise that the service at breakfast was not up to our usual standards, this will be looked into.

Hope to see you again on your next visit.

Kindest regards,
Paul Borg- General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#7 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,102 reviews
0.7 mi away
Malmaison Newcastle
Malmaison Newcastle
#16 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,338 reviews
0.7 mi away
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
#1 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hote...
#23 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,414 reviews
0.3 mi away
Roomzzz Newcastle City
Roomzzz Newcastle City
#2 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
501 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Station Hotel
Royal Station Hotel
#25 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo Newcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Newcastle

Property: Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Address: 2-8 Fenkle Street, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 5XU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 82 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Indigo Newcastle 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Indigo Newcastle is just a two-minute walk from Central Station, and a ten-minute walk to Newcastle United Football Club. This upscale venue features an iconic Marco Pierre White Steakhouse, delivering to our guests a refreshing and welcoming experience.Hotel Indigo is a boutique concept by InterContinental Hotels Group (IHG), offering guests the luxury and individuality you would come to expect of a 4-star hotel. The design of the venue has been heavily influenced by its location within the historic Grainger Town area and will feature bold geometric forms, classical proportions and repeating patterns to mimic the architecture and rows of columns that can be seen around the local neighbourhood. Today, the Grainger town area is a hot-spot for cutting edge architecture and just a short stroll away from the city’s art galleries, restaurants, shops, bars and business district. Hotel Indigo Newcastle has a car park at the rear with charges at £12 per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Odigeo, Expedia, Booking.com, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Indigo Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing