We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Scotch Corner Deli (not butchers)” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grainger Town

Grainger Town
Book In Advance
More Info
US$31.74*
and up
Historical Walking Tour of Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Scotch Corner Deli (not butchers)”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

Lets start with the nice places the fruit stalls are great with fabulous customer service, the second hand book stalls are fantastic I regularly buy Martina Cole and Karen Rose books for 1-2 pounds each as opposed to 7 pounds plus in Waterstones anyway everywhere else in Grainger Market is great! Moving on Scotch Corner Deli is just awful after letting 2 people push in front of me then trying to serve another I decide to speak up then I am screamed at by what I can only describe as a chav saying that she hasn't served anyone before me which she clearly had so I carry on with my order anyway as I do not like confrontation. Then when I am given the wrong order I say I think you have given me someone elses food to be told that was what I had ordered in the most digusting attitude. Not a very nice experience and a shame because the Grainger Market is lovely apart from that awful woman at Scotch Corner Deli. If you go there you will know who I mean just by appearance. Forgot to mention a lovely cake stalk called Pet Lamb now they know good customer service.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Magg14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    103
    18
    6
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,562 reviews
233 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 809 helpful votes
“Classical Streets”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

The Grainger town area is the historical heart of Newcastle City Centre predominantly Georgian and Victorian buildings designed and built by Richard Grainger. Grey St being one of the finest streets in England with Greys monument at the top.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank thefooddood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larkhall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
256 reviews
93 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“interesting part of Newcastle”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

Grainger Town is in the heart of Newcastle. It contains shops and bars and the Central Arcade and Grainger Market are here. There is a nice atmosphere and there is the occasional street performer or busker

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Retford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
158 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Lovely indoor market”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

We went into the very large indoor market. There are a good number of stalls from butchers selling tripe and cow heel to ironmongers and clothes stalls. Lovely architecture too

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank SMD1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester
Level Contributor
174 reviews
103 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Indoor market was good”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

Nice buildings, dirty streets, but the indoor market was a wonderful throwback to days gone by and had some really good meat and deli outlets and a massive queue for the pizza takeaway (didn't have time to join the queue but lots were enjoying the pizzas)

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Graham S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Grainger Town also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Grainger Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing