We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent real ale, friendly staff”
Review of The Bodega

The Bodega
Attraction details
Crewe, England
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Decent real ale, friendly staff”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

A great pub, situated a couple of doors down from the Mill Volvo Theatre.

A good variety of real ales, and great recommendations from the bar staff for the local tipples.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon0573
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    17
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
1,357 reviews
207 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 698 helpful votes
“Decent bar”
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Handy bar next door to Tyne Theatre. Great choice of beers and a long list of future guest ales. Lots of space and big screens/TV for footie! Part of the Sir John Fitzgeralds group.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank sleep007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Friendly pub, top beer”
Reviewed 21 January 2014 via mobile

I went to this pub early on a monday evening. I had a warm welcome and the beer was excellent. It is an architectural gem, definitely worth a visit.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Mtdestro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
Reviewed 15 September 2013 via mobile

Nice, chilled, and not full of idiots on a Saturday night which in Newcastle is rare!! Drinks are reasonably priced and decor is traditional and clean. Recommended.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank JonnyBurnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“The bar maids are mint”
Reviewed 21 April 2013

.... Because I work with 2 of them in their day jobs.

This is a great after work pub with loads of guest and local ales; as well as the trendy imported stuff that has infiltrated every pub you go to these days.

It's the interior (as well as the bar maids) that make this place stand out with its stained glass domes - I believe it was once part of the theatre next door????

It's spacious too with loads of seating and standing but it does get rammed on match days - they also have the football on TVs too - I can't for the life of me remember if they have music; I'm always drunk when I go here.

I was did the quiz and it was a good un - think it was a Wednesday?

If you're visiting the toon it's a very friendly pub so well worth a visit - just dodge the charvers as they F and blind their way down the Westgate Rd.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Robfromcrammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Bodega also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to The Bodega? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing