We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Takes it seriously”

The Stand Comedy Club
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Purpose built comedy club open 7 days a week in the heart of Newcastle. We host regular touring comedy from the biggest names on the comedy circuit. On Wednesday nights we host our famous Red Raw (beginners night) developing the stars of the future and our Weekend Shows(Thurs - Sat)feature 5 acts over 2 hours. If comedy and a good bottle of wine is for you then look no further. Locally sourced home cooked food is available in the venue as well as our Bistro which is open daily from 11am serving lunchtime and evening menus. Please not we do not take bookings from Stag and Hen Parties.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Takes it seriously”
Reviewed 15 February 2014

...but in a good way. The Stand is determined that you actually enjoy your comedy night, without having it ruined by stag and hen parties trying to out-do the comedians on stage, or people interrupting the show. My friend and I didn't eat upstairs, but went straight down for the Bright Club science comedy night. The quality was a little variable, but that;'s fine when it's a first-timers' night, and the compere was great. I applaud them for having local real ales on the tap, good burgers, and the peerless invention of the sourcream, cheddar and bacon potato wedge basket. Go for it, you'll enjoy it.
Also, it has the best sign ever on its walls (see photo).

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LouR21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    179
    70
    16
    6
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Impressive Food and Comedy”
Reviewed 4 February 2014

I have visited here just for the food in the Restaurant on many occasions, but coupled with the great comedy downstairs The Stand is a great place for a night out.

The menu was not what i expected, a varied selection of dishes from different cuisines. There aren't many 'standard' dishes that you expect to see on a menu. I had a Wasabi Burger which was lovely and cooked just how I wished.
The comedy is great value no matter what night (especially for students) but slightly higher drinks prices to a normal pub.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank danoistheman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fun Wednesday night comedy.”
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Great evening out on Wednesday nights, and cheap at only £2 entry. The quality of comedy is a bit hit-and-miss, but you can laugh at how bad some of them are... others are great for a good giggle. Cheap drinks. Get there early for a seat or risk standing or being picked on at the front!!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Madmad333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Loved it!!”
Reviewed 30 January 2014 via mobile

Attended red raw where around 10 new comedy acts are on and a headliner, only £2 to get in. This was my first visit and I just loved it! We arrived at 7 and went straight down to the club. The bistro was very busy and looks very nice. There were 3 items on the club menu, all curries and in the beginning I was disappointed but after eating my lamb curry I was amazed it was delicious. I laughed at every act they were all fab and the place filled up it is very popular. I would come every week if I could but will defo be there next wed I can't wait! (Only downside is drinks are rather expensive)

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank fionaoroarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very impressed by the food”
Reviewed 27 January 2014 via mobile

Booked to come here with friends over the Christmas period. Had no idea what to expect but was pleasantly surprised.

Good choice of food on their evening menu. The venue itself is very relaxed no need to dress up. However they still made a real effort with the food which was delicious and well presented.

A find!!

Helpful?
Thank dowlers08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Stand Comedy Club also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to The Stand Comedy Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing