We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Birthday treat”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Cafe Spice

Cafe Spice
Ranked #307 of 1,254 Restaurants in Newcastle upon Tyne
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti, Eastern European, Bangladeshi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Delivery, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Birthday treat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

Food excellent, staff were pleasant but not particularly attentive. Would recommend. Early eaters menu between 5pm and 7pm every day looks exceptional value

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    25
    9
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Axminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Reasonable not outstanding”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

This is an OK restaurant with tasty food although the meat content isn’t great, perhaps this is why the prices are quite reasonable. They could do with understanding what a pint actually is as each one we ordered didn’t quite measure up.

The menu is considerable but there is nothing outstanding to say. Staff were pleasant and but not especially attentive.

I would revisit but only for a quick mid week meal.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Boxerdogs1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2013

I go here quite often for sit-down meals but mainly order as a takeaway. I also visit the Bengal Curry Centre just down from here for takeaway. I alternate the two because, quite frankly, you cannot get any better for Indian food. Cafe Spice operate without an alcohol licence so you can take your own bottle(s), and enjoy your night without paying the cost for in-house drinks. Whenever I go here for a sit-down meal, the service is fast, friendly and the value is good. I am reluctant to try other Indians as Cafe Spice, Bengal Curry Centre and Khans are the best I have ever had.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark26Mark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shetland Islands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good value for money if you eat before 7pm”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013 via mobile

At £8.95 a head you maybe shouldn't expect too much. Service was a bit slow. Big dishes of curry sauce but not a lot of meat. Tasty enough, nice naan breads.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dratsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level Contributor
50 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Terrible service but ok food”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2013

Got a takeaway from here and it turned up over an hour late, cold, and missing parts of the order. The food was alright but nothing particularly special. Not really acceptable. Won't be going back.

When I tried to get a refund for the bits they didn't deliver all I got were excuses, finally I got the money back through Just Eat after talking to the manager. Pretty sad to give such a bad review since a friend of mine rates it really highly.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank polygonglider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Spice also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Cafe Spice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing