We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Afternoon tea”

Browns Brasserie and Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Browns Brasserie and Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #105 of 1,270 Restaurants in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price range: US$13 - US$33
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Our building is the perfect example of 1830s classical architecture. Its understated elegance makes it a stylish, yet relaxing place to sample our delicious, freshly prepared food and our carefully chosen selection of wines, beers and cocktails. We're right in the centre of the oldest part of the city - the perfect place to watch the world go by as you sit back and enjoy our hospitality.
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Afternoon tea”
Reviewed 29 January 2013

I visited browns for the second time last weekend and have to say it has really gone downhill in a very short space of time! (first time in november 2012) i came with a group of 10 friends for afternoon tea. the afternoon tea consisted of pot of tea (very nice!) sandwiches (pretty rubbish-using the crusts) meringues (nice) scones (nice), gingercake (horrible-stodgy). The toilets were grim too! The nice soup dispensers were hanging off the wall and replaced with cheap anti bac soap on the counters. It's obviously very popular and well frequented but places must learn to keep up with standards.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Catherine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,035 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    372
    299
    178
    128
    58
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
newcastle
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Excellent food, excellent service”
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Booked a table her with my 87 year old gran and young niece and nephew for a treat before going to the theatre royals panto. I had head mixed reviews and some people advised it was very pretentious. However when I checked the menu there was something to fit everyone's tastes. You can book on line and also make special requests where you want to be sat, I ask for a window table and got what I had requested. The food was first rate, kids three course meals for 8.95 and they are fussy eaters but ate everything, us adults also had three courses, I had garlic mushroom, salmon salad for mains and frozen yogurt for dessert. All were very tasty and well presented. The staff were attentive and were excellent with my gran and the kids. The whole meal came to £60.00 which for food and service of this quality I do not feel you could fault. Will most certainly go again.

Thanks for giving us a great start to our day out.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mrshearer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Durham
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Lovely !”
Reviewed 21 January 2013

Super food and lovely cocktails ( especially the Long Island Ice Tea ) good service and very comfrotable surroundings.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Donsque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Lovely cocktails!!”
Reviewed 20 January 2013

We have been here a couple of times and havent had a bad meal yet!! The service has always been good and attentive. The food is tasty but the portion sizes are small.... Perfect for me but not so much my husband and for the size of the portions it is a little pricey...
Coming here for cocktails is lovely and always has a nice atmosphere.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ThisIsMrsR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“They need to learn about what breakfast and brunch means”
Reviewed 20 January 2013

Unable to take an order correctly .
Butter is apparently an allergen so you have to ask for it!
No routine coffee to ups.
No hash browns.
Air con blowing cold air.
Great fish cake.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mnasrudin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Browns Brasserie and Bar also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Browns Brasserie and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing