We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Never Again” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN New Kent Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
BEST WESTERN New Kent Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
chelmsford
Level Contributor
83 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Never Again”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2012

Stayed here on Saturday night and was appalled. Really drap, rubbish service, rooms in need of a good clean. Ran a bath and a load of what looked like tobacco flew out the taps. Really creaky floorboards ensure no sleep Avoid room 17! Never asked if we would like breakfast or dinner and even the bar was closed. This place is a shambles compared with the Caledonian around the corner. Stay away.
I even contacted the hotel directly on Wwednesday but have yet to hear back from them.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yidarmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    109
    38
    20
    11
See reviews for
25
51
37
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2012

I stayed here in September 2010 and is possible one of the worst hotels I stayed in, in addition to this it was over £100. The hotel smelled a bit like urine and the decor was very dated. The bed was uncomfortable and the television did not work properly. On the upside the breakfast wasn't too bad.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan504022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels

Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2012

Had problems with the parking space. I had to park on a a parallel street, which was quiet a pain.

Rooms were nice and clean. Staff was courteous too.

Breakfast was decent as well, nothing fancy but almost something you would expect.

Got a good deal on the pricing as booked 4 weeks in advance, so wouldn't complain at all :)

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1988abhishek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Lanarkshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2011

First impressions werent great to be honest. Driving for almost 3 hours and when I arrived there were only a few parking spaces on the hotel grounds (less than 5 and all taken) so had to drive along the street a few times to find a space that wasnt double-yellowed then walk to the hotel.

Seems nice and warm enough and the staff were really nice and friendly so no issues there. The hotel does not have a lift so be prepared to do some rat maze walking to find your room lol. I had one of the little rooms on the first floor which wasnt too bad but had to walk upstairs and through 3 sets of doors to get there. Got to the room, entered and the window was wide open. I wouldnt have minded but it was absolutely freezing outside and I was hoping to get into a nice warm room, not was the case. Closed the window and looked for thermostat for heating...couldnt find any...all I could find were 2 central heaters in the bathroom so had to leave the door open to get heat built up in the room.

In saying that, those were the not so nice bits but first impressions last and all that. To make up for it though I was impressed with how clean the room was, absolutely no complaints there whatsoever; it was immaculate, including the bathroom and shower areas.

Osborne Road has many restaurants and bars so a 5 minute walk will get you a very enjoyable and social evening of drinks, banter and food.

What really topped it off was the breakfast...there is a cold breakfast buffet, i.e cereals, fruit etc but you could also order a cooked breakfast made to order. I opted for the full English with poached egg and it was simply divine. Really tasty, you could see that it was fresh made and everything was cooked to perfection. Nothing over cooked or under cooked or had been lying under a hot plate....no, the whole breakfast was nice, fresh and really tasty. I wished I had dinner there as well given my experience with breakfast.

Restaurant is not that big but I didn't care about that. It was warm and comfortable with pleasant and helpful staff with amazing food. What more could I have wanted... well...if I had gotten a parking space and a warm bedroom upon checking in then it would have been one of the best hotel stays ever. No joking. I would definitely go again but at least this time I know what to expect and to deal with it to make it more enjoyable and relaxing for me.

Rated it 4 stars because I feel that rating it less would not do justice to the overall experience. A couple of small niggles but overall well pleased and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BigBozMagraw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2011

My mate and I stayed at this hotel as we were going to a football match. Parking was limited but to be fair we didn't have a problem. Staff polite, freeview tv. Room was clean and the breakfast was very nice but maybe a little expensive. I would definately use this hotel again as we will no doubt come to this part of the world to watch another football match .

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Supasaint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cirencester, Glos,UK
Level Contributor
58 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2011

We enjoyed 4 nights here, visiting our daughter who has just started at The Uni. Room compact but clean and comfortable. Breakfasts good, well presented and freshly cooked.
Great position, close to shops and restaurants. No lift, but stairs are good for you!Prices excellent, and a bottle of house wine in the bar just £10.50. Staff pleasant, helpful and friendly. Will definitely return to this excellent value small hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cyberce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2011

Grabbed this Groupon BB & evening meal for 2; excellent deal. Hotel was lovely & staff were a credit to Best Western group. Very helpful & always polite. Hotel was clean , food good. Breakfast served was hot & good; waiter very attentive. Shower in room 4 needs a new head I think as we managed to soak everything without trying.

Newcastle was a joy, the shops, restaurants & area were brilliant. Would recommend any one to visit. A credit to the people of Newcastle.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HJA63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.2 mi away
The New Northumbria Hotel
The New Northumbria Hotel
#25 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dene Hotel
Dene Hotel
#52 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cairn Hotel
Cairn Hotel
#8 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Osborne Hotel
Osborne Hotel
#53 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
1.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ryokan Hotel
BEST WESTERN Ryokan Hotel
#40 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
0.2 mi away
Caledonian Hotel Newcastle
Caledonian Hotel Newcastle
#44 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN New Kent Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN New Kent Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN New Kent Hotel
Address: 127 Osborne Road | Jesmond, Newcastle upon Tyne NE2 2TB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 84 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN New Kent Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN New Kent Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Newcastle Upon Tyne
Newcastle Upon Tyne Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing