We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Xmas dinner”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western New Kent Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Xmas dinner”
Reviewed 1 January 2013 via mobile

We have been having our Christmas lunch's here for years.
The staff are friendly and efficient and we find we have little"waiting" time.
The food is plentiful and tasty . A good selection of courses and plenty of time to eat them.
I would recommend everyone to book for Xmas.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StephenJCressey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    113
    39
    21
    11
See reviews for
28
51
39
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2012

This hotel is in need of a deep clean and the rooms need updating. The carpets in the hallways appear to be a mismatch of various different carpets and worn in places. The upstairs floorboards creak badly and in my room they even creaked when I was stood still.The ceiling in my room had polystyrene tiles and it looked like there had been a leak as there was brown marks in the corners. The curtains/nets were also filthy and seriously in need of a wash. The food is quite good and they do a three course evening meal for just over £16 which is really good value.However, as it was December the three course Christmas menu was exactly the same for both nights of my stay. So on the 2nd night I ate in the bar which was very quiet but again the food was quite good. The service is okay and the staff are all pleasant and welcoming.
I was working in Newcastle the following week and decided against staying here again and moved to the Caledonian further down on Osborne Road.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RossoCol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels

Darwen, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2012

It's a good job I don't have a cat because I tell you there is no place to swing it in this box of a hotel. I felt like I was walking into the 70s when I went into the restaurant. My room was tiny and had the old fashioned polystyrene square ceilings. This hotel has no right to call itself 3star.

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
211 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2012

Best Westerns are like a bran tub, you just dont know what you are going to get! the joy of a franchised empire eh.
The New Kent is OK, not the best the group has on its books nor the worst by a long way.
The lovely lady referred to in other reviews looked after me very well, i arrived late and tired, needed to be fed and watered quickly and they did a great job .Basic fayre but tasty and met my needs.
Seemed only to be two staff , the lovely lady and a chef.
Bar was a bit void of anything beer wise, no delivery apparently, but wine was fine.
Rooms basic but comfy, car parking limited, no detectable wifi.
Would probably use the New Northumbria around the corner in preference, but thats me.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bertie500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2012

I thought after staying three times within the past few months, I should really write a review for this hotel, as it always is a great stay.

Friendly service throughout, and I've always had the same receptionist, waitress and breakfast server. Very polite and courteous, but never fake.

The hotel is a bit dated, but what's wrong with that. If you can request a room, I would suggest room 31. It has lovely lime green and brown wallpaper and styling to it.

My only gripe with the place is the severe lack of plug sockets. I believe you get a 'pair' per room, and that is over by the desk. So if you're wanting to charge your phone overnight and want it was an alarm, be prepared to walk over to it if you want to press snooze!! Though I guess if you find it hard getting out of bed, it will certainly get you up!!

Food is of a decent standard here, I opt for the lamb shank which never fails to disappoint nor fill me up!

There are only three on site parking spaces here, but there is on the road parking outside if you arrive fairly early, ideally before 18:00.

I shall be back for my fourth visit in the next few weeks.

Room Tip: I'd recommend room 31
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michaelbella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
895 reviews
243 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 388 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2012

Stayed here for a night again whilst working nearby. The staff are extremely good here, the lady on reception (Justine? Juliette? Sorry - writing this three days later and my memory isn't good!) even moved her car so we could park in the hotel car park. Extremely nice evening meal in the restaurant, breakfast was nice too. Wireless internet worked well, no connection problems and the immediate area is very quiet with a small park opposite.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarcusHurley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton , East Sussex
Level Contributor
106 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2012

Hotel is OK, limited parking available if you don’t get there early then you have to find parking in nearby streets. You can’t park right outside as its permit holders only so be warned. Had requested a double room but when I got then only a very small room and single bed available, and too late to look anywhere else. Hotel is clean, food was really good no complaints there.

You can here almost everything from the next room, I could hear the bathroom ventilation unit coming on in the room next door lights being switched on , and people walking past your room at night due to squeaky floorboards and banging doors

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rhodesiabill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.3 mi away
Dene Hotel
Dene Hotel
#50 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
0.2 mi away
The New Northumbria Hotel
The New Northumbria Hotel
#24 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
0.4 mi away
Osborne Hotel
Osborne Hotel
#49 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cairn Hotel
Cairn Hotel
#10 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
0.2 mi away
Caledonian Hotel Newcastle
Caledonian Hotel Newcastle
#45 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond
#18 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western New Kent Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western New Kent Hotel

Property: Best Western New Kent Hotel
Address: Osborne Road | Jesmond, Newcastle upon Tyne NE2 2TB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 82 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western New Kent Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western New Kent Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Newcastle Upon Tyne
Newcastle Upon Tyne Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing