We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great staff, good value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN New Kent Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
South West UK
Level Contributor
61 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great staff, good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

I'm guessing that Best Western have taken over what was previously a run-down independent hotel and are renovating it. The renovated areas are very nice; the older parts are - as other reviewers have said - a bit dated. However, the delightful, friendly staff and excellent location more than make up for the odd bit of flock wallpaper.

My only real criticism is the breakfast which is a bit limited if you don't want a fry-up (the grim "luxury muesli" is at least 90% sugar) and which inexplicably has to be eaten in a screened off, gloomy area of the dining room so that the nice tables near the windows can be laid up for dinner. I'd have thought that the intervening 10 hours would have left enough time to re-lay the tables post-breakfast. That apart, I really enjoyed my stay and would certainly use the New Kent again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lapine006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    112
    39
    20
    11
See reviews for
26
51
39
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
298 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

We had a very comfortable stay in this hotel - excellent facilities and a very good and plentiful breakfast. Tea and coffee making facilities in the room. We have stayed here twice before and have never been disappointed. The location is excellent and very close to a wide range of bars and restaurants.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carolina46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow
Level Contributor
108 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here on business. Clean and tidy, spacious room with ensuite bathroom and shower. Tea, coffee, biscuits, TV but no iron. Staff are friendly but communal areas, bedroom, bar & restaurant are dated. Still clean and no more or less than its 3 star rating. Parking to front & rear. Waitrose round the corner, plenty of bars/restaurants on the door step and Town Moor a 5-10 minute walk away if you fancy a stroll. All good, wouldn't 'rush' back but would stay again if I had to be in Jesmond.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank colin7629
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed for one night as we're at a wedding in Jesmond. Advance room rate very reasonable at £65 for a Saturday night. We were In room 31 which seemed newly renovated and was very nice. Friendly staff and there was ample parking. Bathroom was nice and there was a good supply of tea coffee and biscuits in the room.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Aidan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

For the star rating and the price we paid for bed and breakfast we were very pleased with the hotel. The accommodation was clean and pleasant to look at (had a decent size flat screen television unlike some hotels) The location was quite pleasant and especially good for us as we were visiting a student who lived only 2 minutes walk away. The hotel was only a 5 minute walk to the Metro which only took 10 minutes to the centre of Newcastle. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank helensW999VP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

Located on Osborne Rd, which lively with a good selection of restaurants and bars. The hotel is remarkably quiet given it's location. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was plentiful and freshly cooked. There is a good bus service into the centre of Newcastle.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Breff449
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.3 mi away
Dene Hotel
Dene Hotel
#52 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
0.2 mi away
The New Northumbria Hotel
The New Northumbria Hotel
#28 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
0.4 mi away
Osborne Hotel
Osborne Hotel
#49 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cairn Hotel
Cairn Hotel
#8 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
0.2 mi away
Caledonian Hotel Newcastle
Caledonian Hotel Newcastle
#44 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond
#16 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN New Kent Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN New Kent Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN New Kent Hotel
Address: 127 Osborne Road | Jesmond, Newcastle upon Tyne NE2 2TB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 84 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN New Kent Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN New Kent Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Newcastle Upon Tyne
Newcastle Upon Tyne Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing