We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just what the doctor ordered”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Jurys Inn Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“Just what the doctor ordered”
Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

This was a perfect trip.

We went away with friends and stayed at the hotel in which is in a great location. The rooms are big and very clean.
The service was brilliant, friendly and efficient.
Couldn't ask for more.
We will definitely be returning.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Djh1523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas C, Manager at Jurys Inn Newcastle, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us

I look forward to welcoming you back soon

Kind Regards

Thomas Carter
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,078 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    802
    779
    310
    87
    100
See reviews for
294
560
84
515
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

A nice clean hotel, room was a good size, shower was hot and powerful and breakfast was very good. Fresh well cooked food.

We booked the hotel as an overnight stay because we were going to see Paul Weller at City Hall. On arrival check in was fine but it was obvious the place is also an overnight stay for stag and hen do's. What we should have done was cancelled and found another hotel because when we arrived back at around 11 after a great gig, although the hotel quiet, it wasn't long before the mindless masses arrived back.

Throughout the night until about 5 am, these drunken and ignorant morons arrived back shouting, crying, banging on doors (including ours) without any respect for anyone else. It's a real shame because the hotel is half decent.

If you are spending a night in Newcastle and want just somewhere to lay your head, don't stay here. Choose somewhere cheaper such as the Premier Inn

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kev H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas C, Manager at Jurys Inn Newcastle, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. Here at Jurys Inn we have a zero tolerance with regards to excessive noise. Security walks are completed during the night every hour in order to keep noise and disturbances to a minimum. We also have a 24 hour reception who are on hand to deal with any queries or disturbances if they are made aware of them.

When you plan to visit Newcastle again please contact me directly on thomas_carter@jurysinns.com

Kind Regards

Thomas Carter
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Jury's Inn is great, they are going through a refurbishment program, according to the staff, but i wish they advertise which hotel is completed and which needs doing, this will help me make my decision were to stay, as all is OK, did not have problem in the restaurant, staff or have any trouble getting around,

But i did have a very uncomfortable night as the bed was old and needed replacing, the room was just OK.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Khuram A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas C, Manager at Jurys Inn Newcastle, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. Im glad to hear that your a regular guest with Jurys Inn. Please let me know when you plan to visit us again on thomas_carter@jurysinns.com

Kind Regards

Thomas Carter
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 October 2013 via mobile

I've been staying in Newcastle for a few months for work but this had been my first stay at a Jurys. Apart from being unable to get into any room that I was allocated due to an antequated key card system without having to bang vigorously on the battery pack, the phone at the side of the lifts not connecting to reception when unable to get into my room at all, the paper thin towels, no air conditioning or heat in the radiators, there was not much wrong. Breakfasts were good. Assistant manager offered me a coffee when I checked out but as I was running for the Metro it was too little too late. I've informed my employers that I will never be entertaining this chain again.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas C, Manager at Jurys Inn Newcastle, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review, Im dissapointed to hear that your did not enjoy your stay with us. Please can you contact me directly so I can investigate further. Thomas_Carter@jurysinns.com

Kind Regards

Thomas Carter
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Piercebridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013 via mobile

Overall great hotel. Staff very polite. Check in staff very accommodating for my family, Floor 7 has some rooms that look to be re-furbed - great views, comfy beds, lovely shower.

Lot of stag & hens in the hotel but there usually is here.

Hotel bar is expensive but enjoyable, gorgeous lagers.

Breakfast is one of the better buffet brekkies in Newcastle (all good quality food & a lot of selection).

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C-Wearside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas C, Manager at Jurys Inn Newcastle, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for posting your review, Im glad to hear you enjoyed your visit, especially our all you can eat buffet. I will ensure to pass your positive comments onto our front desk staff.

I look forward to your next visit

Kind Regards

Thomas Carter
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013 via mobile

My Mum and I stayed at this hotel for one night after going to a concert at Metro Radio arena. On arrival we asked where to park and a very unwilling receptionist gave us a small piece of paper with very poor 'directions' on. He gave us no further information. After finally finding the car park and going back to the hotel the same man checked us in and gave us yet another piece of paper with our room number on. He did not once explain to us what time breakfast was, how to get to our room or anything we needed to know. We had travelled down from Derby and hadn't eaten all day so therefore we were both quite hungry after the concert. We went to order food at the bar to be told by one member of staff that they were doing room service only which would cost us £4.50 and another member of staff that they were doing food at the bar and no room service. I then wanted to speak to the manager however couldn't as he was arguing with another visitor and therefore had to speak to the assistant manager who was extremely rude and decided to argue with me about anything he could. None of the staff knew what they were doing and all of them seemed to have a 'can't be bothered' attitude. After arguing with the assistant manager for at least 5 minutes, he finally realised he was in the wrong and agreed to let us order food at the bar. The bar staff were clearly not pleased about this as they took our orders in a very rude manner and rolled their eyes at everything we requested. We ordered our 'complimentary' paper for the morning, which we then didn't recieve. We did not know whether the water and biscuits in the room were complimentary as we weren't told anything. The hotel was busy however this is not an excuse for poor customer service and as hotel staff I would personally say that this is the main quality they should have. We were both very annoyed with the quality of this hotel and noticed that quite a few other visitors felt the same way. I would not recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaniClamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas C, Manager at Jurys Inn Newcastle, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review. Here at Jurys Inn we pride ourselves on our exceptional customer service. Im dissapointed that these standards were not met during your visit.

Please can you contact me directly so I can investigate further. Thomas_carter@jurysinns.com

Kind Regards

Thomas Carter
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billingham, Cleveland. UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We stayed here for one night as it was convenient for a show and not too far away from the venue. Bedroom was clean bathroom adequate however the room became quite stuffy during the night. We didn't hear any loud road noise nor noise from and late night guests returning to the hotel. Being a Friday night I expected it to be rather noisy but was very quiet. I would return to this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lesleyandy11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas C, Manager at Jurys Inn Newcastle, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. Im glad you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and that you plan to return.

Please ensure to let me know when you have your next booking in Newcastle

Kind Regards

Thomas Carter
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newcastle upon Tyne
1.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Newcastle Gateshead Quays
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#7 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 998 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Ci...
#17 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Royal Station Hotel
Royal Station Hotel
#26 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,788 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hote...
#22 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,350 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
#14 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jurys Inn Newcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jurys Inn Newcastle

Property: Jurys Inn Newcastle
Address: Scotswood Road | St James Gate, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 4AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 82 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Jurys Inn Newcastle 3*
Number of rooms: 274
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jurys Inn Newcastle offers great-value accommodation in the very centre of vibrant Newcastle. The hotel is just 500 metres from Newcastle Rail Station, a short walk from a plethora of shops, bars and restaurants and just a 10 minute walk from Eldon Square and The Gate shopping centres. The Centre for Life science is 200 metres away and Newcastle United Football Club is 900 metres from the hotel. Its excellent city-centre location makes it the ideal place to stay when visiting Newcastle for both business and leisure. Newcastle is known for its vibrant nightlife and has been voted one of the UK's leading destinations for stag and hen parties. The hotel features an all day Costa Coffee bar and a stylish onsite bar to relax in after an eventful day in the city. Enjoy a great selection of seasonal food and drink in our trendy restaurant which is open from 6:30am to 10:00am for breakfast and 6:00pm to 10:00pm for dinner. Laundry and dry cleaning service is available. If arriving by car public car parking is available nearby at Times Square car park, located next door to the hotel. Our 274 comfortable bedrooms can accommodate up to 3 adults or 2 adults and 2 children. All bedrooms are furnished with large soft beds, spacious bathrooms with complimentary toiletries, a hair dryer, a flat screen TV with Freeview and Free WiFi. Guests who book direct with us enjoy Free Premium WiFi, best price guarantee, no booking fees and also earn points and get rewards with our loyalty programme, Jurys Rewards. Enjoy a warm welcome, comfortable bedrooms, seasonal menus and a memorable visit to Newcastle with Jurys Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jurys Inn Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jurys Inn Newcastle Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Jurys Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing