We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate hotel let down by poor staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Jurys Inn Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Ok budget hotel, indifferent staff

I was a bit uncertain whether to book this hotel, but rate of £44 through e-bookers and it being a Monday evening, thought I'd to avoid the well reported stags dos and price seemed too good to miss.

Welcome was at best luck warm, more indifferent, 2 male staff on check in, one seemed to be directing the other on how to correct some error he'd made on his PC, whilst he did acknowledge me after a minute just to tell me to wait a moment whilst he finished what he was doing, his colleague was clearly more important to him that an arriving guest. When I filled in booking form he wandered back to the colleague to finish conversation and I had to call him back to complete check in - definitely needs some training on how to deal with customers! Key issued, directed to lifts and on my way. No offer of dinner, breakfast times, wifi etc Hotel may be cheap but failed to cross sell anything or create a welcome.

Room was adequate, small double and single bed - it's while since I've stayed at Jury's so forgot this arrangement. Shower great and decent toiletries.

Came back later, no evidence of any security, no one on reception, and I walked to lifts without challenge - anyone could have walked in without challenge that night.

Noisy during night from busy road immediately outside and doors banging noticeable. Bed was comfy - shame sheet was not as long as the bed and the cheap mattress cover was evident.

Check out whilst less rude, was as indifferent as check in.

So for price ok - staff need some training to focus on customers, it's clear they are at best functional rather than effective - very unusual for Newcastle...

Not recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ManxQueenies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas C, Manager at Jurys Inn Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. Here at Jurys Inn we pride ourselves on our exceptional customer service so I am dissapointed to hear that during your visit these standards were not mantained. Please can you contact me on thomas_carter@jurysinns.com so I can investigate your comments further

Kind Regards
Thomas Carter
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,449)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,234 - 2,240 of 2,449 reviews

Reviewed 20 November 2013

We booked 6 months ago for the 16th nov. When we tried to check in we were told the hotel had been overbooked and there were no rooms. Ruined our weekend. They said they would book us into another hotel which turned out 10 miles away. From speaking to others it seems many were turned away. Awful service and would never book again.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bradley501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas C, Manager at Jurys Inn Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Dear Guest

I would like to apologise for the inconvenience caused. Please can you contact me directly on thomas_carter@jurysinns.com with your reservation details so I can investigate further

Kind Regards

Thomas Carter
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights on a weekend trip to see a match at St James park.The hotel is modern,clean and very central.We followed the advice on tripadvisor and asked for a room on the higher floors and had a quiet night(too old at 43 not to need a good nights sleep!!).The hotel is busy and there was a good crowd in the bar each night(drink was a fair bit cheaper in the city).Newcastle was a great city to visit,the people were extremely friendly and I would recommend it for a lively weekend away.Jurys was an excellent base.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
Thank DDHAWK1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas C, Manager at Jurys Inn Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post your review, Im glad that you enjoyed your stay and the city of Newcaslte. Its great to hear that you plan on booking one of our hotels in the near future.

Kind Regards
Thomas Carter
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Loads better than holiday inn up the road.
Friendly reception and very clean room. Lovely soft beds for a great nights sleep.
Good views of River Tyne if get room high up. No traffic or street noise.
Breakfast was lovely, everything there should be.

Room Tip: Stay here for value for money!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JillhelenNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas C, Manager at Jurys Inn Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post your review, Im delighted that you enjoyed your stay, espcially the view of the Tyne. I will ensure to pass on your feedback to the breakfast team.

Kind Regards
Thomas Carter
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Ideal city centre location.

Receptionist was very friendly and assisted with a query I had.

Rooms are fit for purpose although bathroom looked as though it was due a makeover. Noise from courtyard below is quite intrusive. On the subject of noise, on my booking form I stated 'quiet room only, if no quiet room available, please do not accept this booking'. Guess what, I was put in a room that was adjacent to the Chambermaids store and the banging and clattering went on for hours in the afternoon.

There is no car park on site and you have to use nearby private car park at a cost of £8.

Breakfast was also extra at a cost of £8.95.

Would go again if I was stuck.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liamshelley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas C, Manager at Jurys Inn Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post your review, Im delighted that you recieved exceptional customer service, I will ensure to pass this onto the team. Apologies that we couldnt guarantee a quiet room, we do try our best to meet all requests. Please ensure to email me directly next time thomas_carter@jurysinns.com

Kind Regards
Thomas Carter
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed here last few nights , food good in restaurant, service good but turn the heating on. Breakfast was ok could of been warmer , bacon stone cold. On arrival greeted by a lovely girl Michelle (I think) but came back later in afternoon and a guy was on duty . Can't remember his name, but oh my totally no interest in been there not a bit helpful, and he should take off his "be exceptional pin" because he was far from it. Such a pitty. As everything was generally good over all.

But I will be back and hopefully receptionists may be more friendly.

Regards

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Innishannon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas C, Manager at Jurys Inn Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. Here at Jurys Inn we pride ourselves with our exceptional customer service so Im dissapointed to hear these standards were not met during your stay. I am pleased to hear however that Michelle went the extra mile, I will ensure to pass your feedback on to her.

I look forward to welcoming you back soon

Kind Regards
Thomas Carter

Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Typical Jurys Inn, clean comfortable and good location. Stayed here with partner for a weekend break and a few nights out in Newcastle and this site suited us to the ground.

Good food and staff always friendly and welcoming, even at 4am!

No complaints from us and will be returning again.

Room Tip: ideal for nightlife and city centre breaks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank azamat2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas C, Manager at Jurys Inn Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your review, I will ensure to pass your comments on to the team.

I look forward to welcoming you back soon

Kind Regards
Thomas Carter

Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Ci...
#16 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,228 reviews
0.4 mi away
Royal Station Hotel
Royal Station Hotel
#27 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,960 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hote...
#26 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
#20 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,081 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
#14 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,424 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#7 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jurys Inn Newcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jurys Inn Newcastle

Address: Scotswood Road | St James Gate, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 4AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 83 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range: £44 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Jurys Inn Newcastle 3*
Number of rooms: 274
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jurys Inn Newcastle offers great-value accommodation in the very centre of vibrant Newcastle. The hotel is just 500 metres from Newcastle Rail Station, a short walk from a plethora of shops, bars and restaurants and just a 10 minute walk from Eldon Square and The Gate shopping centres. The Centre for Life science is 200 metres away and Newcastle United Football Club is 900 metres from the hotel. Its excellent city-centre location makes it the ideal place to stay when visiting Newcastle for both business and leisure. Newcastle is known for its vibrant nightlife and has been voted one of the UK's leading destinations for stag and hen parties. The hotel features an all day Costa Coffee bar and a stylish onsite bar to relax in after an eventful day in the city. Enjoy a great selection of seasonal food and drink in our trendy restaurant which is open from 6:30am to 10:00am for breakfast and 6:00pm to 10:00pm for dinner. Laundry and dry cleaning service is available. If arriving by car public car parking is available nearby at Times Square car park, located next door to the hotel. Our 274 comfortable bedrooms can accommodate up to 3 adults or 2 adults and 2 children. All bedrooms are furnished with large soft beds, spacious bathrooms with complimentary toiletries, a hair dryer, a flat screen TV with Freeview and Free WiFi. Guests who book direct with us enjoy Free Premium WiFi, best price guarantee, no booking fees and also earn points and get rewards with our loyalty programme, Jurys Rewards. Enjoy a warm welcome, comfortable bedrooms, seasonal menus and a memorable visit to Newcastle with Jurys Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Jurys Inn Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jurys Inn Newcastle Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Jurys Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing