We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“maybe it was just a bad day”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Jurys Inn Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Stayed at this hotel from the 24-26th November, check in time 2pm, at 3.20pm after asking numerous times when our room would be ready, and told to wait in the bar until the room was ready( no reason given) we were allowed into our 7th floor disabled room, we had requested a low floor room, ( not sure why we were given a disabled room) woken at 12.30 am to people coming in then the noise went on until at least 1.30 am. Breakfast the next morning, lovely selection but,it would have been better if the plates had been warm, the hotel is very clean, staff are functional rather than friendly, a brilliant location to visit the city, would use the hotel again but a few little niggles spoilt what has the potential to be the hotel to go to when in Newcastle.

Room Tip: cant give a tip as we had requested a low floor room, once when we made the booking and a again by e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank franklinHartlepool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas C, Manager at Jurys Inn Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Thank you for your feedback, Im delighted to hear that you made the most of our city centre location. Apologies that we were unable to meet your room request, we do try our best to meet all requests.

Please ensure to contact me directly when you plan to visit Newcastle again

Thomas Carter
Operations Manager

thomas_carter@jurysinns.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,449)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,229 - 2,235 of 2,449 reviews

Reviewed 26 November 2013

We travelled with family, 4 couples and stayed here for two nights, friday and saturday. the hotel is located just 5 minutes walk from newcastle central rail station. the self service buffet breakfast was great, the evening meal although delicious, was spoiled due to the cold draft coming through the restaurant from the front doors which were kept wide open well into the evening. apart from that, a great time was had by all.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas C, Manager at Jurys Inn Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Im pleased you enjoyed your stay, especially our all you can eat buffet service. Apologies for the problems with the main entrance doors, this issue has now been resolved. Look forward to your next visit.

Thomas Carter
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

My friends and i were staying in the city for shopping and some overdue socialising,we chose the Jurys inn to stay as at time of booking it had best room rates for the amount of rooms we needed and had been recommended by a few family members and as we wanted a little more than average this seemed the best choice for us.we had a great stay the rooms were clean and very comfortable and staff were more than happy to help at anytime.thank you all we will definately book again xx

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas C, Manager at Jurys Inn Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Dear Guest

Im delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay, espically our bedrooms and pleased that you plan to visit us again.

Thomas Carter
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Came here on my first ever visit to Newcastle & loved it! We were a hen party of 18, staff couldn't have been more helpful. Rooms allocated with speed, receptionists (both male & female) happy to take group photos of us, security/porter fetched taxis etc, bar staff friendly enough (apart from one girl who clearly didn't want to be there). Room great, we were on 3rd floor with another hen party so hopefully didn't bother anyone. Bed soooooo comfortable, great pressure in the shower & plenty of hot water. Lovely housekeeping staff!! Gave us extra milk & went & got us biscuits to help with the hangovers Even the taxi drivers outside were friendly & helpful. Security present on both nights when we returned from being out, happy feeling safe in the hotel. Only made breakfast one morning & it was lovely - plenty on offer. All in all I had a great experience from start to finish & I can't wait to come back to Newcastle
The only gripe was the price of drink in the hotel bar - £6.30 for a glass of wine is a bit steep....

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Jules H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas C, Manager at Jurys Inn Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your great review, Im delighted to hear the staff were helpful during your visit and that the housekeeing staff went the extra mile for you. I will ensure to pass your feedback to the rest of the team. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Thomas Carter
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Woken up at 3am by staff entering our room to be told that one of our group was trying to get in but had no ID. Then to be told there was nothing that could be done even though the fellow guest had a paid for bed. We offered to pay for the bed again just so our fellow guest could get a safe nights sleep until this could be resolved in the morning . Everyone solution include meet with a unhelpful objection.

Considering we paid for near 20 beds over 2 nights at around £2500 and I might add caused no problems during our stay the staff couldn't have been any less helpful.

I would avoid and a offical complaint will be raised tomorrow morning.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marsden2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas C, Manager at Jurys Inn Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Dear Guest

Our guest feedback is normally exceptional so Im dissapointed to hear that you experienced some issues during your stay.

Please can you contact me directly so that I can investigate further

Kind Regards

Thomas_Carter@jurysinns.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Ok budget hotel, indifferent staff

I was a bit uncertain whether to book this hotel, but rate of £44 through e-bookers and it being a Monday evening, thought I'd to avoid the well reported stags dos and price seemed too good to miss.

Welcome was at best luck warm, more indifferent, 2 male staff on check in, one seemed to be directing the other on how to correct some error he'd made on his PC, whilst he did acknowledge me after a minute just to tell me to wait a moment whilst he finished what he was doing, his colleague was clearly more important to him that an arriving guest. When I filled in booking form he wandered back to the colleague to finish conversation and I had to call him back to complete check in - definitely needs some training on how to deal with customers! Key issued, directed to lifts and on my way. No offer of dinner, breakfast times, wifi etc Hotel may be cheap but failed to cross sell anything or create a welcome.

Room was adequate, small double and single bed - it's while since I've stayed at Jury's so forgot this arrangement. Shower great and decent toiletries.

Came back later, no evidence of any security, no one on reception, and I walked to lifts without challenge - anyone could have walked in without challenge that night.

Noisy during night from busy road immediately outside and doors banging noticeable. Bed was comfy - shame sheet was not as long as the bed and the cheap mattress cover was evident.

Check out whilst less rude, was as indifferent as check in.

So for price ok - staff need some training to focus on customers, it's clear they are at best functional rather than effective - very unusual for Newcastle...

Not recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ManxQueenies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas C, Manager at Jurys Inn Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. Here at Jurys Inn we pride ourselves on our exceptional customer service so I am dissapointed to hear that during your visit these standards were not mantained. Please can you contact me on thomas_carter@jurysinns.com so I can investigate your comments further

Kind Regards
Thomas Carter
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

We booked 6 months ago for the 16th nov. When we tried to check in we were told the hotel had been overbooked and there were no rooms. Ruined our weekend. They said they would book us into another hotel which turned out 10 miles away. From speaking to others it seems many were turned away. Awful service and would never book again.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bradley501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas C, Manager at Jurys Inn Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Dear Guest

I would like to apologise for the inconvenience caused. Please can you contact me directly on thomas_carter@jurysinns.com with your reservation details so I can investigate further

Kind Regards

Thomas Carter
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Ci...
#16 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,228 reviews
0.4 mi away
Royal Station Hotel
Royal Station Hotel
#27 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,960 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hote...
#26 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
#20 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,081 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
#14 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,424 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#7 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jurys Inn Newcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jurys Inn Newcastle

Address: Scotswood Road | St James Gate, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 4AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 83 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range: £44 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Jurys Inn Newcastle 3*
Number of rooms: 274
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jurys Inn Newcastle offers great-value accommodation in the very centre of vibrant Newcastle. The hotel is just 500 metres from Newcastle Rail Station, a short walk from a plethora of shops, bars and restaurants and just a 10 minute walk from Eldon Square and The Gate shopping centres. The Centre for Life science is 200 metres away and Newcastle United Football Club is 900 metres from the hotel. Its excellent city-centre location makes it the ideal place to stay when visiting Newcastle for both business and leisure. Newcastle is known for its vibrant nightlife and has been voted one of the UK's leading destinations for stag and hen parties. The hotel features an all day Costa Coffee bar and a stylish onsite bar to relax in after an eventful day in the city. Enjoy a great selection of seasonal food and drink in our trendy restaurant which is open from 6:30am to 10:00am for breakfast and 6:00pm to 10:00pm for dinner. Laundry and dry cleaning service is available. If arriving by car public car parking is available nearby at Times Square car park, located next door to the hotel. Our 274 comfortable bedrooms can accommodate up to 3 adults or 2 adults and 2 children. All bedrooms are furnished with large soft beds, spacious bathrooms with complimentary toiletries, a hair dryer, a flat screen TV with Freeview and Free WiFi. Guests who book direct with us enjoy Free Premium WiFi, best price guarantee, no booking fees and also earn points and get rewards with our loyalty programme, Jurys Rewards. Enjoy a warm welcome, comfortable bedrooms, seasonal menus and a memorable visit to Newcastle with Jurys Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Jurys Inn Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jurys Inn Newcastle Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Jurys Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing