We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awful sleep” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jurys Inn Newcastle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Jurys Inn Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Awful sleep”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013 via mobile

Reception upon check in were not particularly friendly or efficient.
Off site parking was extortionate.
Room was fine, clean and nice bathroom.
Throughout the night it got unbearably humid.
Pillows were extremely firm and like sleeping on bricks.
Plumbing was very noisy after flushing toilet and constantly noisy throughout.
Very poor night's sleep and very stiff necks in the morning.
Very upsetting as would have liked to stay again.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank BeccaMoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas C, Manager at Jurys Inn Newcastle, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. Im dissapointed to hear that you experienced some problems during your stay. Please foward me your reservation details to thomas_carter@jurysinns.com so we can discuss the matter further

Kind Regards

Thomas Carter
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,976 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    764
    736
    299
    85
    92
See reviews for
279
535
77
486
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dumfries and Galloway
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

Stayed here for one night and the overall experience was very good.

Some small niggles that i hope management will deal with, the check inn seemed very busy and although plenty staff on duty, not many seemed keen to be front of house.Please serve the customer before dealing with back office.Breakfast just lacked a little presence and personal attention from staff.

However, these niggles are overshadowed by a top hotel in super central location. We had a great family room with the single bed rather than a camp bed always a sign of class. Breakfast was very relaxed, with plenty of seats and good selection of food on offer.

The hotel is a must stay for central newcastle at a good price including the very handy luggage storage facility.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Derek C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas C, Manager at Jurys Inn Newcastle, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Thank you for your review, im glad to hear you enjoyed our city centre location and our breakfast service. Apologies with regards to the check in process, our feedback is normally exceptional so Im dissapointed to hear of this issue.

We look forward to your next visit

Kind Regards
Thomas Carter
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights .. perfect location for attending gig at Metro Arena just few mins walk. Woke on second morning to freezing cold shower !! Reported this to reception on check out and filled in feed back card and was told someone would be in touch in next day or two .. still waiting !!

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank susanm1507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas C, Manager at Jurys Inn Newcastle, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Thank you for your feedback

Please can you send me your contact details along with your reservation details to thomas_carter@jurysinns.com so I can investigate further

Kind Regards

Thomas Carter
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

Stayed in the hotel with my friends for the weekend and we really couldn't have picked a better hotel for our weekend away the service and the staff were fantastic would recommend this hotel to family and friends and we will certainly be back.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Morto11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas C, Manager at Jurys Inn Newcastle, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Im delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you will recommend us to friends and family. I will ensure to pass on your feedback to those on duty during your stay.

Kind Regards

Thomas Carter
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hartlepool
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

Stayed at this hotel from the 24-26th November, check in time 2pm, at 3.20pm after asking numerous times when our room would be ready, and told to wait in the bar until the room was ready( no reason given) we were allowed into our 7th floor disabled room, we had requested a low floor room, ( not sure why we were given a disabled room) woken at 12.30 am to people coming in then the noise went on until at least 1.30 am. Breakfast the next morning, lovely selection but,it would have been better if the plates had been warm, the hotel is very clean, staff are functional rather than friendly, a brilliant location to visit the city, would use the hotel again but a few little niggles spoilt what has the potential to be the hotel to go to when in Newcastle.

Room Tip: cant give a tip as we had requested a low floor room, once when we made the booking and a again by e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank franklinHartlepool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas C, Manager at Jurys Inn Newcastle, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Thank you for your feedback, Im delighted to hear that you made the most of our city centre location. Apologies that we were unable to meet your room request, we do try our best to meet all requests.

Please ensure to contact me directly when you plan to visit Newcastle again

Thomas Carter
Operations Manager

thomas_carter@jurysinns.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

We travelled with family, 4 couples and stayed here for two nights, friday and saturday. the hotel is located just 5 minutes walk from newcastle central rail station. the self service buffet breakfast was great, the evening meal although delicious, was spoiled due to the cold draft coming through the restaurant from the front doors which were kept wide open well into the evening. apart from that, a great time was had by all.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas C, Manager at Jurys Inn Newcastle, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Im pleased you enjoyed your stay, especially our all you can eat buffet service. Apologies for the problems with the main entrance doors, this issue has now been resolved. Look forward to your next visit.

Thomas Carter
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumbarton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

My friends and i were staying in the city for shopping and some overdue socialising,we chose the Jurys inn to stay as at time of booking it had best room rates for the amount of rooms we needed and had been recommended by a few family members and as we wanted a little more than average this seemed the best choice for us.we had a great stay the rooms were clean and very comfortable and staff were more than happy to help at anytime.thank you all we will definately book again xx

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas C, Manager at Jurys Inn Newcastle, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Dear Guest

Im delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay, espically our bedrooms and pleased that you plan to visit us again.

Thomas Carter
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newcastle upon Tyne
1.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Newcastle Gateshead Quays
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Ci...
#18 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,112 reviews
0.4 mi away
Royal Station Hotel
Royal Station Hotel
#27 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#7 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 851 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hote...
#20 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,284 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
#13 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jurys Inn Newcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jurys Inn Newcastle

Property: Jurys Inn Newcastle
Address: Scotswood Road | St James Gate, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 4AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 84 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Jurys Inn Newcastle 3*
Number of rooms: 274
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jurys Inn Newcastle offers great-value accommodation in the very centre of vibrant Newcastle. The hotel is just 500 metres from Newcastle Rail Station, a short walk from a plethora of shops, bars and restaurants and just a 10 minute walk from Eldon Square and The Gate shopping centres. The Centre for Life science is 200 metres away and Newcastle United Football Club is 900 metres from the hotel. Its excellent city-centre location makes it the ideal place to stay when visiting Newcastle for both business and leisure. Newcastle is known for its vibrant nightlife and has been voted one of the UK's leading destinations for stag and hen parties. The hotel features an all day Costa Coffee bar and a stylish onsite bar to relax in after an eventful day in the city. Enjoy a great selection of seasonal food and drink in our trendy restaurant which is open from 6:30am to 10:00am for breakfast and 6:00pm to 10:00pm for dinner. Laundry and dry cleaning service is available. If arriving by car public car parking is available nearby at Times Square car park, located next door to the hotel. Our 274 comfortable bedrooms can accommodate up to 3 adults or 2 adults and 2 children. All bedrooms are furnished with large soft beds, spacious bathrooms with complimentary toiletries, a hair dryer, a flat screen TV with Freeview and Free WiFi. Guests who book direct with us enjoy Free Premium WiFi, best price guarantee, no booking fees and also earn points and get rewards with our loyalty programme, Jurys Rewards. Enjoy a warm welcome, comfortable bedrooms, seasonal menus and a memorable visit to Newcastle with Jurys Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com and Lastminute so you can book your Jurys Inn Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jurys Inn Newcastle Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Jurys Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing