We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Jurys Inn Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Unlike some I found this hotel to be very comfortable,bearing in mind this was our first visit to Newcastle. The bedrooms was quite spacious and offered excellent on-suite facilities, We did have a small problem with the flushing facility in the toilet, but this was rectified quite quickly by the maintenance staff ( understandably,these things do happen) We travelled as a party of four with Majestic Coaches of Devon, and the other room was equally as good. The staff were very pleasant and and helpful at all times. Personally we found the courtyard facilities for off road parking of coach very acceptable, no dodging passing traffic,. and easy pick up for excursions. The dining room service although in the main self service, appeared to be rather slow. Not your average run of the mill coach touring venue. as there is no entertainment within the hotel, although personally this suited my party. The hotel is within easy reach of the city, which has an unlimited source of pubs and entertainment venues.Beware there is an enormous population of students, at most venues. Unlike some hotels the three lifts were easily accessed and very efficient in every respect. There are also, some very interesting historical points within the city. Found the hotel bar rather expensive and lacked variety of drinks(no Thatchers Gold) Very enjoyable stay, thanks. Note...As with many hotels these days there is no porterage available.

Room Tip: Rooms facing road can be a little noisy from passing fraffic, but there is sufficient reducing doubl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpsManager_JurysInn, Manager at Jurys Inn Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit and the customer service we provide, I will ensure to pass your comments onto the rest of the team. Thank you for your recommendations with regards to drinks, we are currently in the process of sourcing local ales and beers to further improve our selection of drinks in the bar.

We hope to welcoming you back to Newcastle soon.

Kind Regards
Thomas Carter
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,449)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,099 - 2,105 of 2,449 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2014

Not far from the train station, Jurys Inn is a good place for a stay in Newcastle. Nearby are more than enough pubs and restaurants if you don't want to eat at the inn. The rooms are spacious and the staff is friendly and efficient. If I'm back this way, I'll try to stay here.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpsManager_JurysInn, Manager at Jurys Inn Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. Its great to read that you enjoyed the hotels city centre location and close proximity to the local night life, Jurys Inn prides itself in having all of its hotels in prime city centre locations. Its pleasing to read that you will choose us when you decide to visit Newcastle again.

Kind Regards
Thomas Carter
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Annual trip to Newcastle on business and decided to give The Jury's Inn another chance. Better room this time facing the inner courtyard as opposed to the busy road.sounds like I was luck to be there midweek as no Stags & Hens - don't think the French coach party were in that category. Room is functional and acceptable for the price although the bathroom had that dated look/ feel - still the annoying extract running 24 hours and no way to increase the room heating.Worst thing is the paper thin walls - could hear next doors TV until midnight! All the staff I met were helpful and friendly - perhaps need more bar staff as the wait to be served was disappointing. Food acceptable although small portions for the price (dinner) Breakfast fine if you beat the rush and can get a table.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
Thank Alan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpsManager_JurysInn, Manager at Jurys Inn Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review, I'm pleased to read that you decided to stay with us again for your annual business trip. We pride ourselves on our exceptional customer service and will ensure to pass your kind comments onto the rest of the team. Our 24 hour reception team would have been pleased to resolve the heating in your room if made aware.

When you make your next booking please ensure to contact me directly on thomas_carter@jurysinns.com so I can allocate a room with your requests.

Kind Regards
Thomas Carter
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Rooms were clean and spacious, however there were no luggage stands to put your luggage on; I personally will not put my luggage on floor or put clothes in drawers, which there were none anyway, only 3 baskets. Good tea/coffee making in room with ceramic mugs, wi-fi was not always strong in rooms, and only gave you a small amount of time to use without paying. Convenient location, could walk to many attractions, convenient to Metro Radio Arena where we had an event. The drains did not work well in the shower/ would not drain out quickly enough, became a bath; had to flush toilet more than once for it to empty completely. Could not find any air conditioning, had to open windows for air, which was very loud during the night with party people coming in late, garbage trucks picking up. The staff was friendly, took care of calling cabs for us right outside the front door. Very pleased with the Rib Eye steak I got for dinner. Remember if you prefer to use a wash cloth or bath puff, bring one with you as they do not provide these.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpsManager_JurysInn, Manager at Jurys Inn Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear Guest

I'm glad to read that you enjoyed your overall stay at the hotel and especially the rib-eye steak. We have recently introduced a new refreshing summer menu and our head chef will be pleased to read your positive comments. Sorry that you were a little warm in the warm, cooling fans are available on request from housekeeping team.

Kind Regards
Thomas Carter
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

The rooms are spacious and comfortably furnished, although the removal of bagstands during the last upgrade was a retrograde move. The hotel is conveniently located close to downtown and Newcastle Central Station.
From here things went downhill. In the room there was an ironing board but no iron. The TV controller did not work because the batteries were flat. When reported, these things were corrected quickly. A slow running drain in the bath presented danger as the shower is over the bath. On reporting this to reception the response was; "yes, we know about that." During my stay of several days there was no evidence that it was attended to. The whole situation implies a lack of attention to detail by housekeeping and lack of supervision by Management.
The meals at the restaurant were of a good standard although servings were small and prices proportionately high.

Room Tip: Check everything when you arrive
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LesS_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpsManager_JurysInn, Manager at Jurys Inn Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review, I’m glad to read that you found our rooms spacious and comfortable. Our rooms are checked on a daily basis so I’m disappointed that the issue with the remote control and bath drain were missed. The hotel has a 24 hour ironing room or alternatively irons can be delivered to the room upon request.

Kind Regards
Thomas Carter
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Went for hen weekend, hotel was well situated for getting to the clubs, bars, restaurants etc. Rooms were a great size very clean and the tea making in rooms had mugs not silly cups..great first thing in the morning. The staff were very helpful and polite, cabs right outside the front door and all the drivers were friendly and helpful. We arrived by train ( a 5minute walk away) but some of our party went by car, there is a multi storey car park just behind (payable extra) but you expect that in city location. Breakfast was very nice and hot and replenished regularly. Would definitely recommend.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank mrsb65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpsManager_JurysInn, Manager at Jurys Inn Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post your review, im glad you enjoyed our city centre location. The hotel is ideal for weekend breaks due to the close proximity to the famous Newcastle night life. I agree that you need a proper tea or coffee to start the day so its pleasing to read that the in room amenities we provide were appreciated.

Look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards
Thomas Carter
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

1. No parking and you need to add extra on top of the hotel, 2. There is no dropoff areas in the hotel area, 3. Taxi bay is directly "in" the hotel and Taxi drivers very territorial about parking. Badly designed hotel and i don't understand! If you don't have a car, maybe you can consider this.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jetjetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpsManager_JurysInn, Manager at Jurys Inn Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post your review, due to our city centre location we do not have our own car park however we do have preferential rates with local car parks. For future reference guests can park in the outside courtyard to unload luggage for a 10 minute duration.

I hope this extra information helps for your next visit.

Kind Regards
Thomas Carter
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Ci...
#16 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,228 reviews
0.4 mi away
Royal Station Hotel
Royal Station Hotel
#27 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,960 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hote...
#26 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
#20 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,081 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
#14 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,423 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#7 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jurys Inn Newcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jurys Inn Newcastle

Address: Scotswood Road | St James Gate, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 4AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 83 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range: £44 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Jurys Inn Newcastle 3*
Number of rooms: 274
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jurys Inn Newcastle offers great-value accommodation in the very centre of vibrant Newcastle. The hotel is just 500 metres from Newcastle Rail Station, a short walk from a plethora of shops, bars and restaurants and just a 10 minute walk from Eldon Square and The Gate shopping centres. The Centre for Life science is 200 metres away and Newcastle United Football Club is 900 metres from the hotel. Its excellent city-centre location makes it the ideal place to stay when visiting Newcastle for both business and leisure. Newcastle is known for its vibrant nightlife and has been voted one of the UK's leading destinations for stag and hen parties. The hotel features an all day Costa Coffee bar and a stylish onsite bar to relax in after an eventful day in the city. Enjoy a great selection of seasonal food and drink in our trendy restaurant which is open from 6:30am to 10:00am for breakfast and 6:00pm to 10:00pm for dinner. Laundry and dry cleaning service is available. If arriving by car public car parking is available nearby at Times Square car park, located next door to the hotel. Our 274 comfortable bedrooms can accommodate up to 3 adults or 2 adults and 2 children. All bedrooms are furnished with large soft beds, spacious bathrooms with complimentary toiletries, a hair dryer, a flat screen TV with Freeview and Free WiFi. Guests who book direct with us enjoy Free Premium WiFi, best price guarantee, no booking fees and also earn points and get rewards with our loyalty programme, Jurys Rewards. Enjoy a warm welcome, comfortable bedrooms, seasonal menus and a memorable visit to Newcastle with Jurys Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Jurys Inn Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jurys Inn Newcastle Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Jurys Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing