We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Jurys Inn Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Stayed here for one night due to working in Newcastle and was very pleased with the location, perfect for a walk into town for something to eat and drink, the room was an excellent size with everything I needed, the tea and coffee facilities were great and the tv good too. the only thing that let the room down was the bathroom, it was somewhat dated and in need of a refurbishment asap as the shower was old and strange although lovely and warm. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scott b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpsManager_JurysInn, Manager at Jurys Inn Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post your review, Im glad to read you enjoyed our recently refurbished bedrooms, especially the tea and coffee amenities.

We look forward to welcoming you back during your next business trip.

Kind Regards
Thomas Carter
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,315)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,961 - 1,967 of 2,315 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2014

No complaints about the rooms, or cleanliness of the rooms or hotel. What let this place down was the staff, we were booked in on a stag do via a stag company so we did not chose this hotel.
Clearly this is a hotel used for regular stag and hen do's based on the number I saw while there, however the staff were poor and ill equipped to deal with the groups. They took exception to all of the fancy dress outfits our stag wore, even though at no stage on our journey from the south coast to Newcastle had anyone else said or looked disgusted or appalled. Once in this hotel though it all changed, instantly they took a dislike and subsequently barred the stag from the bar, citing that children were offended.
Now for the rest of our stay in this hotel not a single person in our group (16) - ranging in age from 26 to 64 saw a child in this hotel!!!

There objection was totally unjustified and was a blatant lie.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Graham S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpsManager_JurysInn, Manager at Jurys Inn Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. As you mentioned we are popular for group bookings looking for a weekends away due to our excellent city centre location. Any costumes or fancy dress that are deemed inappropriate will be asked to be removed by management.

Kind Regards
Thomas Carter
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Very central hotel, in walking distance to the shops, waterfront, bars and restaurants.
Nice clean comfortable rooms, tea and coffee, fridge, table chairs, adjustable reading lights.
Breakfast was good value for £10, self service, eat as much as you want. They even supplied soya milk for cereals if required.
We ate in the restaurant and were very impressed with the food, presented nicely, good value.
Parking nearby choice if car parks, but a discount from the hotel in the nearest. £8 for 24 hours.
Will certainly book again .

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marjoriepeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpsManager_JurysInn, Manager at Jurys Inn Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review, our team are very proud of the service they provide so I will ensure to pass your comments onto them.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon, ensure to sign up to Jurys Rewards so that you can start collecting points for your stays which can also be back dated www.jurysinns.com/rewards

Kind Regards
Thomas Carter
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Basic hotel, decent location in Newcastle city centre. Poor quality bed which was too small. Pillows flat and past their best. No fridge. Just very basic. Only had the breakfast which was a help yourself affair. Very poor indeed with scrambled egg like an old tyre, fried eggs even worse, just a tray full of previously over-cooked muck! Very limited choice. Won't bother again. Woken by rowdy drunk guests at 03.00am

Room Tip: Ask for a room..........In another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevinperree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpsManager_JurysInn, Manager at Jurys Inn Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. Although our beds are a standard size for a 3 star property we do offer an upgrade package of just £20 which includes a king size bed and other extra amenities. Our selection of full English items and Continental usually receives fantastic feedback so im disappointed to read you did not enjoy it. We do also offer other items that are not on the buffet such as poached and boiled eggs.

Kind Regards
Thomas Carter
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

this hotel is pretty below average. rooms are basic and pillows are ridiculous. ive had a stiff neck after spending 3 nights here. spent every night being awoke by hens or stags slaming doors and trolling the corridors, bad management by staff. ! the rooms could definitely do with air conditioning! beware if you forget your room card as the guy at the door of the hotel will escort you to the desk and by escort I mean grab u by the arm to prove you are not some sort of prostitute.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Padraig87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpsManager_JurysInn, Manager at Jurys Inn Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, I'm disappointed to read that you were woken up during your sleep, although we cannot be held responsible for the actions of all our guests we do have a 24 hour reception who would have happily resolved the matter if made aware. Guests will have to provide further information with regards to their reservation if they lose their key card at the reception to ensure the safety and security of all our guests. I will ensure to pass your feedback onto our external security company also.

Kind Regards

Thomas Carter
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Unlike some I found this hotel to be very comfortable,bearing in mind this was our first visit to Newcastle. The bedrooms was quite spacious and offered excellent on-suite facilities, We did have a small problem with the flushing facility in the toilet, but this was rectified quite quickly by the maintenance staff ( understandably,these things do happen) We travelled as a party of four with Majestic Coaches of Devon, and the other room was equally as good. The staff were very pleasant and and helpful at all times. Personally we found the courtyard facilities for off road parking of coach very acceptable, no dodging passing traffic,. and easy pick up for excursions. The dining room service although in the main self service, appeared to be rather slow. Not your average run of the mill coach touring venue. as there is no entertainment within the hotel, although personally this suited my party. The hotel is within easy reach of the city, which has an unlimited source of pubs and entertainment venues.Beware there is an enormous population of students, at most venues. Unlike some hotels the three lifts were easily accessed and very efficient in every respect. There are also, some very interesting historical points within the city. Found the hotel bar rather expensive and lacked variety of drinks(no Thatchers Gold) Very enjoyable stay, thanks. Note...As with many hotels these days there is no porterage available.

Room Tip: Rooms facing road can be a little noisy from passing fraffic, but there is sufficient reducing doubl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpsManager_JurysInn, Manager at Jurys Inn Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit and the customer service we provide, I will ensure to pass your comments onto the rest of the team. Thank you for your recommendations with regards to drinks, we are currently in the process of sourcing local ales and beers to further improve our selection of drinks in the bar.

We hope to welcoming you back to Newcastle soon.

Kind Regards
Thomas Carter
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Not far from the train station, Jurys Inn is a good place for a stay in Newcastle. Nearby are more than enough pubs and restaurants if you don't want to eat at the inn. The rooms are spacious and the staff is friendly and efficient. If I'm back this way, I'll try to stay here.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpsManager_JurysInn, Manager at Jurys Inn Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. Its great to read that you enjoyed the hotels city centre location and close proximity to the local night life, Jurys Inn prides itself in having all of its hotels in prime city centre locations. Its pleasing to read that you will choose us when you decide to visit Newcastle again.

Kind Regards
Thomas Carter
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newcastle upon Tyne
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Ci...
#16 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,199 reviews
0.4 mi away
Royal Station Hotel
Royal Station Hotel
#24 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,896 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
#20 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Newcastle Gateshead Quays
0.5 mi away
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hote...
#25 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,462 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#7 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jurys Inn Newcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jurys Inn Newcastle

Address: Scotswood Road | St James Gate, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 4AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 83 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range: £50 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Jurys Inn Newcastle 3*
Number of rooms: 274
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jurys Inn Newcastle offers great-value accommodation in the very centre of vibrant Newcastle. The hotel is just 500 metres from Newcastle Rail Station, a short walk from a plethora of shops, bars and restaurants and just a 10 minute walk from Eldon Square and The Gate shopping centres. The Centre for Life science is 200 metres away and Newcastle United Football Club is 900 metres from the hotel. Its excellent city-centre location makes it the ideal place to stay when visiting Newcastle for both business and leisure. Newcastle is known for its vibrant nightlife and has been voted one of the UK's leading destinations for stag and hen parties. The hotel features an all day Costa Coffee bar and a stylish onsite bar to relax in after an eventful day in the city. Enjoy a great selection of seasonal food and drink in our trendy restaurant which is open from 6:30am to 10:00am for breakfast and 6:00pm to 10:00pm for dinner. Laundry and dry cleaning service is available. If arriving by car public car parking is available nearby at Times Square car park, located next door to the hotel. Our 274 comfortable bedrooms can accommodate up to 3 adults or 2 adults and 2 children. All bedrooms are furnished with large soft beds, spacious bathrooms with complimentary toiletries, a hair dryer, a flat screen TV with Freeview and Free WiFi. Guests who book direct with us enjoy Free Premium WiFi, best price guarantee, no booking fees and also earn points and get rewards with our loyalty programme, Jurys Rewards. Enjoy a warm welcome, comfortable bedrooms, seasonal menus and a memorable visit to Newcastle with Jurys Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotelopia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jurys Inn Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jurys Inn Newcastle Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Jurys Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing