We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spot on”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Jurys Inn Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Spot on”
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

The greeting at reception from the guy who'd only just started was superb (sorry, forgot his name, I'm useless at names!). The hotel was fine, room was spot on, breakfast good, we didn't hear any of the multitude of hen dos who were knocking about the hotel in matching t-shirts.

I'd stay here again.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Steven M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpsManager_JurysInn, Manager at Jurys Inn Newcastle, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review, I will ensure to pass your kind words onto Marcus who was the gentleman who greeted you on arrival. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards

Thomas Carter
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,078 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    802
    779
    310
    87
    100
See reviews for
294
560
84
515
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Stayed here last night for my birthday. Very clean hotel and helpful and friendly staff. The rooms we're spacious and the beds we're comfy. The location of the hotel is perfect aswell. I will definetely be staying here again!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SammyM18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpsManager_JurysInn, Manager at Jurys Inn Newcastle, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review, I hope you enjoyed your birthday celebrations in Newcastle. Its fantastic to read that you enjoyed our city centre location. Hopefully your be returning for your next birthday!

Kind Regards
Thomas Carter
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We stayed at Jurys inn for one night . We were disappointed with the lack of air conditioning in the room and we could not open the window wide enough. The breakfast was just awful , messy and busy. We could not believe we paid £10 each for it. Our table was dirty with no cutlery . There was a problem with the coffee machine ; the other one was out of service. There was no milk , bread and fruit . Every time we had to ask staff to bring it. It would be nice if the staff said good morning or anything to people on their way to breakfast. We found the atmosphere in the hotel unpleasant and we felt ignored . Staff do not make the stay a nice stay. We were glad that we stayed here just for one night only.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Johnyjohny_2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpsManager_JurysInn, Manager at Jurys Inn Newcastle, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review, the hotel does not currently have air conditioning, however due to recent high temperatures we do have fans available at request. I'm disappointed to read about your breakfast experience, the reviews we receive for our buffet is normally outstanding. Please could you send me your reservation details so I can investigate further thomas_carter@jurysinns.com

Kind Regards
Thomas Carter
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Not sure why everyone is saying this hotel is a budget hote! Could agree that the breakfast wasn't first class but the majority of people staying there over weekend is hen and stag parties and they just wand fed!

The bar is reasonably priced compared to some of the other pubs in Newcastle!

Rooms were just what you wanted but definitely not budget. As for air conditioning its Britian we are in not the Med!!!

Had a fab time and staff couldn't be more helpful.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpsManager_JurysInn, Manager at Jurys Inn Newcastle, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your enjoy, I'm delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will ensure to pass your feedback on the the rest of the team.

Kind Regards
Thomas Carter
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

This hotel was ok for a budget hotel, but as there was no air conditioning the room was too hot. It was difficult to sleep. If you open the window there is a noisy road outside.

The breakfast was ok.

The toilet seat annoyingly wouldn't stay up, which isn't the best for gentlemen.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fastb0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpsManager_JurysInn, Manager at Jurys Inn Newcastle, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review, the hotel does not currently have air conditioning in the rooms however we do have fans available at request from our 24 hour reception team, who are happy to assist with any queries. Please let me know when you plan to visit us again so we can allocate you a lower floor room and a fan if visiting in the summer months.

thomas_carter@jurysinns.com

Kind Regards
Thomas Carter
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
116 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

In its favour Jurys Inn is very close to the train station, it also has very acceptable bar food at reasonable prices. It provides slowish wifi free of charge and you'll need to pay £7 to upgrade to premium wifi if you want to stream.
The first room I was allocated to I stayed in for about 10 minutes before deciding i could stand it no longer. There was a high pitched whine added to the very loud traffic noise outside - the traffic I could possibly have coped with, but the whine was horrendous. I went back down to reception to see if I could change my room and the gentleman at reception said " They're all like that " I insisted on changing rooms anyway and he grudgingly obliged. They are NOT all like that, and the second room had no such whine AND had secondary double glazing and was much quieter. That said - the bathroom floor was not very clean with an unpleasant aroma and,there was an unpleasant stain on the side of one of the beds. Sleep quality wasn't great as you can hear everything in the bathroom next door.
The hotel has pretensions it isn't living up to, and is more of the standard of an average budget hotel, and far far from the standards of the better budget hotels.

Room Tip: ask for a room on the inside of the hotel - much quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank seajay1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpsManager_JurysInn, Manager at Jurys Inn Newcastle, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your email, our rooms are checked on a daily basis so I'm disappointed the issue with the extractor fan was missed. Please can you send me your reservation details to thomas_Carter@jurysinns.com so I can ensure your points raised have been resolved.

Kind Regards
Thomas Carter
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

The hotel was very well laid out with great staff at the desk on arrival.

Was only here for the two nights but in that time found the hotel to be extremely comfortable the bedrooms in particular. We are a family of 5 up for a graduation and it certainly served us well

Location for the bars,restraunts and shops was great and I would certainly recommend this hotel

Thanks

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Warren D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpsManager_JurysInn, Manager at Jurys Inn Newcastle, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review, I'M happy to read that you and your party choose to stay with us for the graduation celebrations. We always set out to ensure we offer a warm and friendly welcome, I will ensure to pass your feedback on to the staff who were on duty.

Kind Regards
Thomas Carter
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newcastle upon Tyne
1.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Newcastle Gateshead Quays
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#7 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 998 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Ci...
#17 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Royal Station Hotel
Royal Station Hotel
#27 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,788 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hote...
#22 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,350 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
#14 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jurys Inn Newcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jurys Inn Newcastle

Property: Jurys Inn Newcastle
Address: Scotswood Road | St James Gate, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 4AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 82 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Jurys Inn Newcastle 3*
Number of rooms: 274
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jurys Inn Newcastle offers great-value accommodation in the very centre of vibrant Newcastle. The hotel is just 500 metres from Newcastle Rail Station, a short walk from a plethora of shops, bars and restaurants and just a 10 minute walk from Eldon Square and The Gate shopping centres. The Centre for Life science is 200 metres away and Newcastle United Football Club is 900 metres from the hotel. Its excellent city-centre location makes it the ideal place to stay when visiting Newcastle for both business and leisure. Newcastle is known for its vibrant nightlife and has been voted one of the UK's leading destinations for stag and hen parties. The hotel features an all day Costa Coffee bar and a stylish onsite bar to relax in after an eventful day in the city. Enjoy a great selection of seasonal food and drink in our trendy restaurant which is open from 6:30am to 10:00am for breakfast and 6:00pm to 10:00pm for dinner. Laundry and dry cleaning service is available. If arriving by car public car parking is available nearby at Times Square car park, located next door to the hotel. Our 274 comfortable bedrooms can accommodate up to 3 adults or 2 adults and 2 children. All bedrooms are furnished with large soft beds, spacious bathrooms with complimentary toiletries, a hair dryer, a flat screen TV with Freeview and Free WiFi. Guests who book direct with us enjoy Free Premium WiFi, best price guarantee, no booking fees and also earn points and get rewards with our loyalty programme, Jurys Rewards. Enjoy a warm welcome, comfortable bedrooms, seasonal menus and a memorable visit to Newcastle with Jurys Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Jurys Inn Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jurys Inn Newcastle Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Jurys Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing