We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“6 inch fan!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Jurys Inn Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 July 2014

such a shame this hotel is let down by lack of air con. my boyfriend and i stayed for 2 nights for my birthday. the room was so hot it was impossible to sleep. you could only open the window about 3 inches and it was blocked by curtains and a screen. we asked for a fan as we had seen the reviews but they had none left! we spent a sleepless and very uncomfortable first night here. we did get a fan the next day, after asking again and getting names on the fan list, really! it was 6 inches! i didn't know whether to laugh or cry. it was better than nothing but that was it. still had a bad nights sleep. there should be a fan in every room as standard. couldn't fault the room apart from the heat. oh and don't be so mean with the milks, teas, coffees and milks, we pay enough for the rooms.

Room Tip: take your own fan. you will need it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Roznorman1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpsManager_JurysInn, Manager at Jurys Inn Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review, apologies that we were unable to get you a fan on your first evening, i'm glad however to see we managed to resolve this for you on your second night. Our 24 hour reception would have happily given you extra tea, coffee or milks if made aware. Please let us know in advance when you plan to visit and we can ensure we place a few extra amenities in the room for you.

Kind Regards
Thomas Carter
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,479)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,100 - 2,106 of 2,479 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2014

It's been said before in these reviews, and, I know it's summer, but the room we stayed in (622) was ridiculously hot, and made sleeping very difficult.The windows open around 4 inches at most, however, there is so much traffic noise, even in the early hours of the morning, that leaving it open wasn't an option anyway. The corridors also seemed very hot, so, I'm confident it wasn't just our room.

We asked for a fan on our first night, but, they had all been allocated to other rooms, and we were 'on the waiting list'. One did arrive the following day, but it ended up being a very small 6" fan and was next to useless.

The rest of the hotel is clean and is a decent standard, and it's in a central-ish location, but, it's a shame that even after several reviews complaining about heat, there's still not a reasonably sized fan in each room as a matter of course - come on Jury's, they're a tenner each, go buy some.

My next stay (unless it's in winter) certainly won't be at this hotel - but only because of the heat and lack of fans. If you're staying here, I'd take your own.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank KarlStanley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpsManager_JurysInn, Manager at Jurys Inn Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review, apologies that the room was too hot for your liking, the extreme hot weather caused some of our rooms to be warmer than usual. I'm glad to hear we were able to supply you a fan on your second night. Since your review we have purchased larger fans which will be available on request if such weather repeats itself. Please feel free to contact me when you visit Newcastle again on thomas_carter@jurysinns.com

Kind Regards
Thomas Carter
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Great Location apart from the Noisy road outside , but secondary glazing provided if you want to keep the noise out and the excessive heat in.
The room was so hot It felt like we were in a sauna , no air flow through the partially open window and with the loud road outside the window not much sleep either.
The room was not that clean and quite dusty.
When i checked out I was not asked how I had enjoyed my stay (maybe for a good reason)
I was told yes the rooms do get really hot as there is not Ventilation or Air Conditioning (No Apology) and i should have asked for a fan !

We wont ever stop here again.

Room Tip: Bring a fan
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank ultraleds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We paid for an "upgraded" room which meant we got an extra single bed in the room !!??? I could be mistaken but the bed didn't seem like a king bed as described either.

We were put on the top floor and overlooking a bridge. The downside to this was at night it seemed to be used as a racetrack with revving engines and people testing the 0-60 time of their cars.

There is triple glazing but it was SO HOT in the room we had to have the window open. We paid far more than a premier inn but got a smaller bed and NO aircon or fan in the room so wouldnt stay here in the summer. Location close to the station was the best bit about this hotel

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cheshire159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

Booked two nights. Would rather have not gone back for the second. Big hotel, impersonal. Both rooms were doubles despite one being booked for an adult plus child and reception wouldn't change. Roll away bed provided but was broken

Very noisy, couldn't sleep with window open

Worst Jury's I've stayed in.

Agree pictures are misleading.

Stayed: July 2014
2  Thank PaulMiltonKeynes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpsManager_JurysInn, Manager at Jurys Inn Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review, I'm disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your stay with us, please can you send me more information directly to thomas_carter@jurysinns.com so I can investigate further

Kind Regards
Thomas Carter
Operations Manaher

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Having read the complaints I was really worried about staying. Welcome via reception was as expected and friendly. Room was lovely and as for the heat you can hardly blame the hotel for that given we are having a heatwave.

Restaurant food was amazing. It was so busy but the limited staff worked hard to keep on top of things. Working in the industry I understand how hard it can be to please everyone. Chris and Emilia were very friendly.

Breakfast was manic. Again the staff worked hard and greeted us with a smile.

Again thanks for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happyaslarrys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpsManager_JurysInn, Manager at Jurys Inn Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We pride ourselves on our excellent customer service and I'm pleased to read that Chris and Emily displayed our Jurys Inns values during your visit. I will ensure to pass your feedback on to them directly. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards
Thomas Carter
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

We are here to visit Newcastle . We had heard a lot of a good things about the city. We were attracted by the photos on Tripadvisor which shown room with two double beds and lovely bathroom . Image our disappointed when we told at reception that jury's inn does not provided room with two double beds. Disappointed nr 2 was a bathroom which did not resemble the photo and was dirty and did not smell nice. Disappointed nr 3 No air conditioning or even fan in room. Disappointed nr 4 waiting time to be served in the restaurant . The amount of time which we waited was not worth it for the very poor quality of the food. Avoid disappointing by booking another hotel.

Stayed: June 2014
2  Thank Mark_896
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpsManager_JurysInn, Manager at Jurys Inn Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your email, the official photos provided do not show any rooms with 2 double beds as we do not offer this room type, we do however offer family rooms which have a double bed and double sofa bed (subject to availability). The hotel does not have air conditioning as due to our climate this is not required, for exceptional weather like we have been experiencing we do offer fans upon request. I'm disappointed to read that our bathroom was below expectation.

Kind Regards

Thomas Carter
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Ci...
#16 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,233 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hote...
#25 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,555 reviews
0.4 mi away
Royal Station Hotel
Royal Station Hotel
#26 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
#20 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,092 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
#14 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,447 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#7 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jurys Inn Newcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jurys Inn Newcastle

Address: Scotswood Road | St James Gate, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 4AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 83 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range: £47 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Jurys Inn Newcastle 3*
Number of rooms: 274
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jurys Inn Newcastle offers great-value accommodation in the very centre of vibrant Newcastle. The hotel is just 500 metres from Newcastle Rail Station, a short walk from a plethora of shops, bars and restaurants and just a 10 minute walk from Eldon Square and The Gate shopping centres. The Centre for Life science is 200 metres away and Newcastle United Football Club is 900 metres from the hotel. Its excellent city-centre location makes it the ideal place to stay when visiting Newcastle for both business and leisure. Newcastle is known for its vibrant nightlife and has been voted one of the UK's leading destinations for stag and hen parties. The hotel features an all day Costa Coffee bar and a stylish onsite bar to relax in after an eventful day in the city. Enjoy a great selection of seasonal food and drink in our trendy restaurant which is open from 6:30am to 10:00am for breakfast and 6:00pm to 10:00pm for dinner. Laundry and dry cleaning service is available. If arriving by car public car parking is available nearby at Times Square car park, located next door to the hotel. Our 274 comfortable bedrooms can accommodate up to 3 adults or 2 adults and 2 children. All bedrooms are furnished with large soft beds, spacious bathrooms with complimentary toiletries, a hair dryer, a flat screen TV with Freeview and Free WiFi. Guests who book direct with us enjoy Free Premium WiFi, best price guarantee, no booking fees and also earn points and get rewards with our loyalty programme, Jurys Rewards. Enjoy a warm welcome, comfortable bedrooms, seasonal menus and a memorable visit to Newcastle with Jurys Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Jurys Inn Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jurys Inn Newcastle Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Jurys Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing