We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only stopping for one night”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Jurys Inn Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
Silverdale, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Only stopping for one night”
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

Stopped over as a coach driver with a large group of Chinese tourists which can often cause problems at check in simply because of the sudden influx. In this case the Jury's staff handled it quickly and without fuss. The multiple and quick lifts helped whisk 53 people away within about ten minutes.

I had a family room allocated to me, nice but unnecessary, which was clean, spacious with a decent bathroom, certainly up to the standards of other Jury's I've stayed in across the UK and Ireland.

If I was being critical I'd point out that there was no air con in the bedroom, the only option being to have the window open, normally my preferred option anyway, but being in the tone centre, the traffic noise was noticeable.

Having been negative, a positive. Wifi is free and useable across the hotel allowing me to catch up on emails and paperwork, so nice one - a lesson for other faceless chains?

Would I stay again? Not the first time here, won't be the last.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Tablespider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpsManager_JurysInn, Manager at Jurys Inn Newcastle, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post your review, I'm glad that you found your check - in experience for your group booking fast and efficient, our reception staff will be pleased to read these comments.

I'm delighted that you plan to visit us again in the future.

Kind Regards
Thomas Carter
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,223 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    862
    816
    339
    98
    108
See reviews for
314
592
93
558
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Located in Newcastle centrally. Clean and light hotel with friendly helpful staff. Rooms large with comfortable beds and good sized bathroom. Shower over bath with quite a step over. Hot water. Tea and coffee with kettle facilities and hair dryer. Laundry facilities at usual costs. Breakfast was the usual buffet. Did not use the bar. Arrived by private vehicle so did not use the car parking available. Outside is a little grim. Suited our needs.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpsManager_JurysInn, Manager at Jurys Inn Newcastle, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review, I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us, especially our central location. I hope that next time your have time to use our bar facilities.

Kind Regards
Thomas Carter
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Have stayed at this hotel on several occasions and always been impressed with the standard of the room, the breakfast and an extremely helpful staff with a great attitude.
Ideally located near the station and a short walk from the centre.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Woolyback12014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpsManager_JurysInn, Manager at Jurys Inn Newcastle, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post your review, I'm delighted to read that you are a regular guest of ours. I will ensure to pass your feedback onto the team.

Look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards
Thomas Carter
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Bit disgruntled as no car park with the hotel. Also quite scary as parked in an underground car park and had to walk to the hotel in the dark. Entrance poorly lit and left feeling very vulnerable. Once inside it's exactly What you would expect from any other jury's inn. Basic but all the essentials there.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Alexandra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpsManager_JurysInn, Manager at Jurys Inn Newcastle, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post your review, as mentioned on all booking websites we do not have our own private car park but do offer discounted rates at two local car parks which are both walking distance from the hotel. I will ensure to pass on your feed back to the car park management with regards to its lighting.

Kind Regards
Thomas Carter
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

I have stayed in quite a few Jury's Inns and you know what to expect before you arrive so no one can doubt the quality of the figures, fitting, beds and rooms. But there is something terribly soulless about both the reception area and bar of this hotel which just made it so miserable. Bare tables, chairs, little ambience or background music and just something missing?!

The lifts were excellent and the breakfast was really good , apart from a shortage of Danish pastries.

Another thing that really annoyed me were the bottles of mineral water displayed on reception. I asked if they were available to take as there was no price displayed. "They are £1" said a rather grim receptionist as if I had the audacity to even ask! OK, PUT THE PRICE THERE THEN, lol

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robmarshall33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpsManager_JurysInn, Manager at Jurys Inn Newcastle, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review, our lobby and bar has undergone a recent refurbishment, apologies if this is not to your taste. Unfortunately the price sign for the bottled water was broken off during your visit, this has now been replaced to ensure there is no confusion for future guests.

We hope to welcoming you back soon

Kind Regards
Thomas Carter
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

I stayed at stayed at Jurys Inn Newcastle for a night whilst visiting relatives in the region with my partner and daughter. The room was good with everything we needed. It was clean and we had a great view from the 7th Floor. The staff and management were very helpful from checking us in, to spending 5 minutes to make us feel welcome in the bar later in the evening.
The decor in the public areas is lovely and rivals many a bar in town and again was very clean. The location is also extremely convenient; only 5 minutes walk to nearest bars and restaurants. The breakfast buffet was lovely and had plenty of choice and a good selection of fresh fruit and cereals as well as the hot buffet and continental choices.
We parked at a small car park next to the hotel which cost £8 for 24 hours which allowed us to visit the Center for Life the next day so all in all a really lovely trip to Newcastle!

Room Tip: Higher floors get a good view if facing the river and quieter as it is central so expect some traffi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FezikUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpsManager_JurysInn, Manager at Jurys Inn Newcastle, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post your review, Im delighted that you received exceptional customer service during your stay, which is one of our core values. Im glad you also enjoyed our breakfast offering.

Kind Regards
Thomas Carter
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby
2 reviews
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

We were here as I had a course my husband & 2 children (10wk & 6yrs) Were in the room I was breast feeding and needed help storing milk in the fridge lauren was amazing she even let us have the room till 5pm so we could She really wowed me. Also a thanks to Tiffany too x thanks what top class service I thought I was in America it was that great x

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Henrymatilda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpsManager_JurysInn, Manager at Jurys Inn Newcastle, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Guest

Many thanks for your kind words, I will ensure to pass this on to Lauren and Tiffany who will be delighted with your comments.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards
Thomas Carter
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newcastle upon Tyne
1.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Newcastle Gateshead Quays
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Ci...
#18 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,172 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#8 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
#20 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,026 reviews
0.4 mi away
Royal Station Hotel
Royal Station Hotel
#25 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,852 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#7 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jurys Inn Newcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jurys Inn Newcastle

Property: Jurys Inn Newcastle
Address: Scotswood Road | St James Gate, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 4AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 82 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Jurys Inn Newcastle 3*
Number of rooms: 274
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jurys Inn Newcastle offers great-value accommodation in the very centre of vibrant Newcastle. The hotel is just 500 metres from Newcastle Rail Station, a short walk from a plethora of shops, bars and restaurants and just a 10 minute walk from Eldon Square and The Gate shopping centres. The Centre for Life science is 200 metres away and Newcastle United Football Club is 900 metres from the hotel. Its excellent city-centre location makes it the ideal place to stay when visiting Newcastle for both business and leisure. Newcastle is known for its vibrant nightlife and has been voted one of the UK's leading destinations for stag and hen parties. The hotel features an all day Costa Coffee bar and a stylish onsite bar to relax in after an eventful day in the city. Enjoy a great selection of seasonal food and drink in our trendy restaurant which is open from 6:30am to 10:00am for breakfast and 6:00pm to 10:00pm for dinner. Laundry and dry cleaning service is available. If arriving by car public car parking is available nearby at Times Square car park, located next door to the hotel. Our 274 comfortable bedrooms can accommodate up to 3 adults or 2 adults and 2 children. All bedrooms are furnished with large soft beds, spacious bathrooms with complimentary toiletries, a hair dryer, a flat screen TV with Freeview and Free WiFi. Guests who book direct with us enjoy Free Premium WiFi, best price guarantee, no booking fees and also earn points and get rewards with our loyalty programme, Jurys Rewards. Enjoy a warm welcome, comfortable bedrooms, seasonal menus and a memorable visit to Newcastle with Jurys Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Jurys Inn Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jurys Inn Newcastle Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Jurys Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing