We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Metro Inns Newcastle
Reviewed 13 January 2014 via mobile

If you want somewhere to get your head down this is spot on not on suit but for £20 a night what more can you ask for no breakfast but for £3.99 u can go next door to the Toby for all you can eat
Clean beading and towels rooms nice and warm
mgr sue spot on and on hand for any queries will defo stay again bargain

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank graham-2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (202)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

119 - 125 of 202 reviews

Reviewed 1 December 2013

Ive never seen anything like it in my life. The place is vile. Rooms were embarrassing. The lights were hanging down muck up the walls and radiators hanging off! They make you pay a £50 deposit incase of soiled matresses etc! A soiled mattress would brighten the place up. Hell hole!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jomo1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

If you are considering staying at the metro inn for a night, don't do it! Just don't do it to yourself! Pay the money and stay somewhere nice! Unless you're a rotter then you'll be right at home! Describing the rooms as basic is an understatement! I imagine people will have stayed in better police cells! If you like sharing a shower with 50 other people then this is the place for you, just make sure you bring your veruca socks!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jfkdndjdjej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

12 lasses stayed one night and never again! Reception man was very rude and unpolite! None of us got the deposit back!! Rooms was very basic and DIRTY! The toilet and shower area was disgusting the toilet floor was wet through!!!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Escotty212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

The place reeked of cigarette smoke, if you're thinking about staying on a weekend; don't. Too much noise could hardly sleep. Sheets and towels were clean and staff were really friendly but in saying that the simple hygiene in the place was appalling. Stay in the Travelodge next door.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank redphone12345678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

The rooms themselves were basic but for 12 pound each, You can't argue with.The hotel is situated 10/15 mins from the centre of Newcastle. Blueline taxis was 12 pounds for 5 people just for one way. Toby carvery is right next to the hotel and they serve all you can eat breakfasts for 4 pounds. All in all a great cheap night in Newcastle. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Matthew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Does what it says on the tin and for that reason I won't complain as I knew what to expect. The rooms really are incredibly basic with no niceties at all. However, the bed was clean and that was the main concern. I arrived at 10pm and had to leave at 6.45am, so it did the job as a very short stop over. Showers and toilets were clean-ish (wear flipflops!). My only problem was that I was disturbed throughout the night due to the noise from parties coming in/going out, as my room was just off the main entrance. Again - it was Friday night so I can't complain. I'd especially like to mention and thank the thoughtful guy at reception for providing me with a cup of tea on arrival and saving me from having to go out to the reception area full of party goers in my pjs! He was extremely helpful and as a women travelling alone he ensured I felt safe i.e. - checked windows for me and made sure I knew how to lock the door etc. Cheers!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Talullah12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
3.3 mi away
Euro Hostel Newcastle
Euro Hostel Newcastle
#56 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
465 reviews
0.1 mi away
Novotel Newcastle Airport
Novotel Newcastle Airport
#34 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,347 reviews
3 mi away
Jesmond Park Hotel
Jesmond Park Hotel
#52 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Osborne Hotel
Osborne Hotel
#48 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
148 reviews
2.8 mi away
Britannia Hotel Newcastle Airport
Britannia Hotel Newcastle Airpor...
#68 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,166 reviews
3.5 mi away
Tune Hotel - Newcastle
Tune Hotel - Newcastle
#18 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metro Inns Newcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metro Inns Newcastle

Address: Ponteland Road | Kenton Bank, Newcastle upon Tyne NE3 3TY, England (Formerly "Formule 1")
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 83 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range: £21 - £55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Metro Inns Newcastle 1*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Metro Inns Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing