We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Training day”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Metro Inns Newcastle
Reviewed 19 May 2014

I came here tonight not knowing what to expect for £20. I arrived and parked up, checked in quite quickly. There are lot of builder type persons here due to the cost probably. It's in quite a good location with a travel lodge next door and a toby carvery. The rooms are a double bed with a bunk bed on top. So each room can sleep 3 easily. The bathroom and toilet is down the corridor. The room itself is basic, at least you get a towel, but no kettle or brewing kit. So bring your own as there is a sink. Oh and bring your own shower gel and stuff as there is only gel to buy.
Overall, ok for £20 but I would not want to bring my missus here or stay for more than one night. It's like staying on an oilrig.
There's no curtains, just a pull down blind and only one power socket which is no good for the gadgets we have these days. . The light is a strip fluorescent light at the side of the bed. As is mentioned by somebody else. It's ok if you have nowhere else. It'll do I suppose.

Room Tip: The ground floor rooms face onto the car park. I don't think you can choose where you want to be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trev D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (203)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

109 - 115 of 203 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

Staff very rude (sue)
Bad service and try to keep deposits for no reason blaming for other guests behaviour on same floor with no proof
Bad attitude towards customers
Would never stay again and definitely would not recommend to any one
Ends up being £75 a night a room.
(Travel in next door )

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nukes P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

I have used the metro inn many times for business in Newcastle , found the rooms adequate for my needs and very good value for money , staff have always been very helpful , next door to a Toby carvery for Food and drink , on my last trip the reception area have been modernised and looked very good and now have a shared kitchen for guests . The only down side is the shared bathroom and toilet but for the price you can't really complain . Also good internet connection

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Davebussell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Went here for a night the room was very basic room few things you need to know the main one being there isn't a bathroom in your room its down the hall, very basic but you get what you pay for.Also there is only plug in the room so bring your extension lead if possible or it gets awkward
all in all basic room for a good price.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chmalzating
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Ideal for a couple of night stopover, very basic but thats reflected in the price, staff friendly and welcoming
One word of warning, if you want a quiet time, do not stay on a Friday/Saturdy night, hen/Stagg groups stay here

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charles c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Excellent, a room with a TV, free wifi, a bed for the night, that's all u need. What do u expect for £20 a night. Not any worse than Novotel just smaller room
I've had worse a lot worse . Places with dirty floors, cracked tiles , this has none of this. So I say thumbs up to this great wee place , only thing being u can't make a cuppa unless u bring kettle, next door to Toby car very so no looking for so me where to eat

Room Tip: Rooms small, more like dorms, all on ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jenwil74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

From the Savoy to the Waldorf Astoria to the Palace of Versailles, there are names that resonate through history as paragons of luxury. It is high time another name joined this famous company: that of the Metro-Inn Newcastle. Combining the elegance of belle-epoque Paris with the glamour of Gatsby's New York, all in a location of magnificent natural beauty that has inspired poets and artists for generations, your stay is sure to be a truly once in a life time experience. Towels provided

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MikeCapper2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
3.3 mi away
Euro Hostel Newcastle
Euro Hostel Newcastle
#59 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
468 reviews
0.1 mi away
Novotel Newcastle Airport
Novotel Newcastle Airport
#34 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,368 reviews
3.5 mi away
easyHotel Newcastle
easyHotel Newcastle
#17 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Surtees Hotel
Surtees Hotel
#71 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
602 reviews
2.8 mi away
Britannia Hotel Newcastle Airport
Britannia Hotel Newcastle Airpor...
#68 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,176 reviews
2.8 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#72 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metro Inns Newcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metro Inns Newcastle

Address: Ponteland Road | Kenton Bank, Newcastle upon Tyne NE3 3TY, England (Formerly "Formule 1")
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 83 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range: £20 - £53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Metro Inns Newcastle 1*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With free parking for resident guests and a 24-hour front desk, Metro Inns Newcastle offers budget rooms with free Wi-Fi. The hotel is situated in Kenton Bank, just a 10-minute drive from Newcastle centre and just minutes away from junction 77 of the A1 Motorway. Each of the bright and airy bedrooms has a small work desk and a wash basin. All rooms have a TV and radio, and there are plenty of shared bathroom facilities. Metro Inns Newcastle is just 5 minutes’ drive from Newcastle International Airport. The historic centre and vibrant nightlife are just 3 miles away, and St James’ Park can be reached in a 10-minute drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Metro Inns Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing