We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not as bad as you fear !!! (honest )” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Metro Inns Newcastle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Metro Inns Newcastle
Accrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Not as bad as you fear !!! (honest )”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2010

Stayed here as part of a group of 18 on a stag do,its true the rooms are the size of prison cells and very basic but they are fit for purpose. The showers and toilets were fine when we got there but looked a little worse for wear the following morning. Plenty of groups staying there but if your looking for somewhere to crash and arent too fussy its ideal.. Nice carvery next door and a little burger van outside next morning.Mini-bus into Newcastle centre cost £20...No problem either getting deposit back

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Crasivo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
metroinnsmanager, Manager at Metro Inns Newcastle, responded to this review, 23 November 2010
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

Firstly, i'm glad that you had a good weekend and i hope that you enjoyed the City of Newcastle.

I am glad that you found our rooms purposeful, we do tend to find that groups in particular just want a place to get their head down, which is clean and cheap off course.Our toilets and showers are self cleaning as you will already be aware, however our staff do monitor these throughout the day and night and clean them when required.

There is indeed a good place to eat and drink next door which we off course recommend to all our groups and individual travellers and guests. We always get positive feedback in respect of the breakfast van which pitches up on a Sunday morning selling quality and well needed breakfast!!

I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay and i would hope that when you return to Newcastle in the future that you will allow my staff and i to look after you once again.

Kind Regards

Darren Gillen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    23
    37
    21
    72
See reviews for
20
17
16
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2010

just got back from a lads weekend in newcastle, staying at the metro inns with a group of 6 lads. after reading some of the reviews on here i thought i had made a big mistake booking here, but i was quite surprise how clean and quite it was when we got here. The people at reception were very kind and friendly and when you get their they tell you which rooms your staying in and give you a code to get in to the room that only you know, so no one else can get in. You do have to leave a £50 deposit for each room, but we had no problem getting it back when we left there. There is a toby carvery right next door for £5.25 with we all ate there friday evening before we hit the town. The rooms are basic but very clean, with a double bed and bunk bed, tv, sink(which was clean) and mirror and heater. There no toilets or showers in the room, which we thought might be a problem, but ther are about 4/5 toilets and showers just outside and we didn't find it problem. We stayed there friday and saturday night and didn't hear much noise on the friday, although it was much move lively and noisey on the saturday night, but it was just young people having fun and everyone was friendly. The location is slightly out of the city centre, to far to walk, but ask at reception and they will call you a taxi which charged us £12(£2 per person), it takes about 8 minutes to get into town. All in all we had a get time in newcastle and everyone seems so much friendly there and i couldn't fault the hotel at all. The hotel is based around young groups lads and girls looking for a good time.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank smiler529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
metroinnsmanager, General Manager at Metro Inns Newcastle, responded to this review, 4 November 2010
Dear Guest

First of all can i thank you for taking the time to write a review.

Im glad that you found our facilities clean and of an acceptable level. It is true that at the weekend we do attract a lot of young people who visit Newcastle to sample the wonderful nightlife and area. However, we also cater for business persons, families,tour groups and individual's.

I do hope that by giving us a positive review that you and your friends will remember the wonderful time that you had here and allow us to look after you once again if you ever visit Newcastle.

Kind Regards

Darren Gillen
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2010

It is very cheap, especially if you fit 3 people in the room. The sheets on the beds seem clean. But the shared toilet and shower facilites are pretty grim. The whole place is in need of a major revamp. It's smelly (and I could smell very little with my head-cold), the corridors smell of smoke and the sink smells of wee when you run the tap. My door looked like it had been kicked-in at one stage. The blind in my room wouldn't open then when it eventually went up I couldn't get it down. There were families with dogs IN the hotel. I didn't feel overly safe.
Even for a stag do, I'd recommend saving the money on taxis (it's quite far out) and getting a good deal on a place in town. For business travellers, pay the extra £10 and get a nice B&B in Jesmond.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank annettekelly18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels

Scotland Uk
Level Contributor
141 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2010

ok what was right with it. Location five - seven minutes from green line metro which runs from the airport to city centre and beyond. couple of minutes from a bus stop with buses running both in to Manchester city centre and the metro centre. Tescos, and various other chainstore shops within few minutes walk including matalan and TK Max. Very friendly and helpful staff. Beds where clean as where the towels that where supplied.

What was wrong the blinds in the room was broke which was only discovered at 10pm but it was fixed without arguement and within 10 minutes . Carpets could have been cleaner in the room but werent dirty just not hoovered to my standards. the window in the room was broken someone had pulled the handle clean off it and it could have been opened from outside if given a hard enough bump but did have a safety lock/catch to prevent it opening more than a few inches. the pillows were also paper thin. Now Im not sure if someone is supposed to come in and make up the room or not but our room certainly wasnt touched while we were out.

Toilets could have been cleaner and where weird porter cabin type toilets but they werent filthy just again not up to my cleaning standards and the floor was always wet due to the weird self cleaning systmes. Showers reminded me of the ones at a swimming pool but they where clean just a bit odd.

there were loads of stag an hen parties in the hotel but no wild parties and noise like has been described by others. did see a number of young men in various stages of undress. But they were all very friendly and seemed nice enough.

overall for the price we paid it was a lot better than I expected and I would stay there again. Although it is futher from the city centre than the hotel makes out but its only 15 mins on the metro from centre of newcastle about £12-£15 in a taxi subway is £2.20 single.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sparkieplug24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2010

It's a budget hotel, but still I rate it low on value because from my experience you are kept up all night from drunken teenagers running riot in the hallways. A better night sleep would have been had in the car.

It's mainly a stay over for young groups of teens on stag/hen / nights out. They return to the hotel and the drinking continues along with all the behaviour you'd expect from a young offenders institution.

If you seriously need a good nights sleep, then avoid this place. The budget cost doesn't justify this place.

Complaints were made to the Manager - who promised a refund that never materialised.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank avoidmetroinns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
metroinnsmanager, General Manager at Metro Inns Newcastle, responded to this review, 4 November 2010
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to write your review and may i apologise that a management response has not been added before now.

Firstly, can i apologise that you found the noise level unacceptable and that you were unable to get a good nights sleep. It is true to say that at weekend's the hotel is pretty busy and with a lot of people there will always will be a lot of noise. At the weekend we have two night security staff as well as the General Manager on site, guests should be reminded about what is deemed "unacceptable noise" and unfortunately on this occasion this did not happen.

We have implemented a security deposit of £50.00 per room and all groups now have to sign a disclaimer which states that if they engage in a level of noise or behaviour that is unnacceptable they may forfeit their room deposit.

I can only apologise that your experience was not a good one but i would ask you if you ever visit Newcastle again please do let me know so that I can personally ensure that your stay is an enjoyable one for all the right reasons.

Kind Regards


Darren Gillen
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
s'boro
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2010

rooms are ok but watch out for the boggies and snot on the wall,toe nails on the floor and other people sleeping in your room.we came back to find a bloke asleep in are room.to top it off he was ginger with massive fishcake knackers. the staff that put him in there by mistake did move him. the loos are covered in slash and a massive toilet otter was looking at me and the shower smell like jimmy macca.this place makes the trip home a laugh and pub talk. ONLY FOR THE BRAVE!

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stantheotterman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2010

We stayed for one night and is wasn't as bad as all the reviews.

We paid £35 per room and had 3 in a room (less than £12 each!), The room was very very basic it had one double and one bunk over that. The room had a sink and an old TV although i wouldn't recommend using the sink for a wash as I think a lot of people use them as the en-suite facility.

The staff were fine and the hotel has a contract with a local taxi company with a ten seater mini bus to town costing only £20.

You do have to pay a £50 deposit for each room on arrival and when we checked out one of our deposits had gone missing so be careful with that (although we cant prove any wrong doing!!)

All in all a good cheap hotel ONLY suitable for same sex party groups who don't mind a bit of noise and some dodgy toilets! (if you don't fall in this category don't go!!!!)

Newcastle itself.......... Legendary!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lukeanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
3.4 mi away
Euro Hostel Newcastle
Euro Hostel Newcastle
#54 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
3.6 mi away
Tune Hotel - Newcastle
Tune Hotel - Newcastle
#22 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
0.1 mi away
Novotel Newcastle Airport
Novotel Newcastle Airport
#34 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Me...
#17 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
5.3 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle Gosforth/Cramlington Hotel
Premier Inn Newcastle Gosforth/C...
#14 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
2.8 mi away
Britannia Hotel Newcastle Airport
Britannia Hotel Newcastle Airpor...
#69 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metro Inns Newcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metro Inns Newcastle

Property: Metro Inns Newcastle
Address: Ponteland Road | Kenton Bank, Newcastle upon Tyne NE3 3TY, England (Formerly "Formule 1")
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 84 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Metro Inns Newcastle 1*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Metro Inns Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing