We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, cheap and convenient”
Review of Newcastle Rooms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Newcastle Rooms
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great place, cheap and convenient”
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Nice little place, (converted church I remember from childhood) out of the way a bit in the suburb of Benwell, 300 yards from where I was born and less than 2 miles from my elderly mother, so excellent location for me. Just a couple of miles down the nearby West Road to city centre.
The rooms were adequate - lots of HOT water - eat as much as you like Continental breakfast and bacon sandwich shop close by for the really hungry.
Staff very good apart from one who preferred to watch and Indian film on TV, and room a touch shabby but hey, what can you expect for less than £25?
Will definitely stay there again- great place, quiet and pleasant. Nt 5 star, but price dictates a return visit for certain.

Room Tip: No swimming pool or fitness centre, but then look at the price! Don't understand the negative r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mister_FixitBangkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    12
    19
    22
    91
See reviews for
12
22
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hull
1 review
Reviewed 2 August 2013

I was sceptical at first due to the low prices, however, looking at photos which showed the hostel in the best light, thought I would risk it. On arrival we entered the reception only to be completely blanked by a rude member of staff behind the counter, who was obviously in the middle of something far more import than greeting us. After a series of one word answers he issued us our room key and put the money we paid not into the till but straight into his pocket, I guess this is the norm. Entering the room the door handle was broken, which is probably why later a drunk lout thought he could enter at 3am. The day after arriving home we found that they had taken an extra £100 pound out of the account that we made the initial booking on. They informed us that it was because of a noise complaint (about other people) so they had refunded the guests who made the complaint and taken the money out of our account. After spending many hours trying to dispute this only to be constantly told that the manager is out and to call back later, we went to booking.com who were able to recover the money wrongfully stolen from us. In a nut shell a bit of a circus. Avoid!

Room Tip: Look elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 423Mohamed_K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels

Castleford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Staff very very very rude. Rooms disgusting. Forgot one of our bookings. Stole money from my account after staying. Basically just everyone avoid this dump like the plague. Best thing they can do is knock it down and whack some council houses on it.

Room Tip: Stay as far away as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcus D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Great place to stay ! Me and the boys stayed here for a night and loved it. For the price that we payed you can't really ask for much better, and breaky was class with delightful choclate croissant that went down a treat and cured my reaking bad hangover. Lovely staff, yeah just brilliant.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allygee1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Booked 1 via booking.com 3 months in advance for 1 night, £12.50p each. Room was clean, t.v, kettle with tea/coffee/sugar/milk. Bathroom with wet room shower. Breakfast was continental - plenty of it. Only downfall was noise - lots of groups staying for night's out in Newcastle. Book budget taxi's only £4.70p to centre.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beloit, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

As a hostel I would give it a very good rating, but that's what it really is, a hostel. Don't expect en-suite lavatories, room TV, and other amenities of a hotel. Good for backpackers and students on a budget. There is a bus with fairly frequent service (about 10-15 minutes ride to the railway station) but if you are returning late expect to take a taxi.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tio-Ned
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Just got back from my stag weekend in newcastle & stopped at the Newcastle rooms.
After reading alot of the reviews i was very worried about stopping here as we had already booked, On arrival the outside looks lovely but it soon stops there. Its a average hotel that as potential to be a great hotel.
It is Cheap & not so cheerful as the staff need to smile.
I would stop here again only with a group going out on the toon but i would not bring the mrs here.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Me...
#14 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
727 reviews
2.4 mi away
Tune Hotel - Newcastle
Tune Hotel - Newcastle
#19 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
577 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hote...
#23 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Vermont Hotel
The Vermont Hotel
#24 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,028 reviews
2.9 mi away
The New Northumbria Hotel
The New Northumbria Hotel
#29 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
495 reviews
2.1 mi away
County Hotel
County Hotel
#36 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newcastle Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newcastle Rooms

Property: Newcastle Rooms
Address: Benwell Lane | Benwell, Newcastle upon Tyne NE15 6RU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 82 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Established in 2012, Newcastle Rooms is situated in Newcastle-upon-Tyne. It is a 19th-century church building with a modern furnishing offering short-term and long term accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Newcastle Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing