We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visit to the Northumbrian Piper 3 December 13”

The Northumbrian Piper
Ranked #360 of 1,303 Restaurants in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price range: US$12 - US$29
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Hidden away, it has for decades, remained one of Gosforth's best kept secrets, serving as a welcoming watering hole for residents of the town's Red House Farm Estate, Great Park and the surrounding areas. But now the word is officially out and discerning diners from across the region are descending upon and discovering the culinary treasures of this stunning, hidden gem.
Reviewed 4 December 2013

This was our second visit to the Northumbrian Piper. Having been very impressed the first time we did not expect the food to be even better this time but it certainly was. The rump steak was tender and perfectly cooked and the beef in black bean sauce was a delight!
The staff were friendly, helpful and polite on both occasions.
We will certainly be regular customers.
John and Nadine.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Nadine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnnyGandLynne, Owner at The Northumbrian Piper, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

Dear John and Nadine your great review pleased us so much on two counts the first one being the fact that you returned to visit us and secondly that you were both impressed again and that's great. It means a lot to the team when people genuinely say nice things about the food and the staff. We all work very hard to keep our ethos of proper food for proper people. Thank you so much again and please we would be happy for you to join our great regulars.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (266)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

157 - 161 of 266 reviews

Reviewed 2 December 2013

Excellent staff and wonderful food...
Starter - Black pudding & bacon salad.. ( More of a main meal than starter..)
Main meal - smoked haddock, seasonal veg and new potatoes
I was given the choice of mash or new potatoes..
The food was outstanding, delicious and very well presented..
No frozen stuff all made fresh on the premises...
The staff were wonderful and very helpful....
The real ale is of a great quality and the atmosphere is second to none such a great venue.
As for the smell of smoke, I will say that I have never smoked and can honestly say that there is very little sign of the 'outdoor smokers' but as per the law every public house must provide a 'smoking area'. This PH is well worth a visit or two I think I will make it my local....

Paul C.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnnyGandLynne, Owner at The Northumbrian Piper, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

Thank you so much for your great review of the food and the pub it's heartwarming to know that we are working hard to get it right for customers which is the whole point . We are proud to serve different food than a lot of chain pubs in that we make and prepare everything ourselves so we know that by using only the best raw ingredients the result will be tasty and real proper food like it used to be. Please continue to enjoy and please tell all your friends .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Visited this place a couple of times now & cannot stress how welcoming the staff are. Four of us (2 couples) all enjoyed our food, we ate several different menu items between us and all were well cooked & presented. The staff are so friendly, they are a real credit to the owners of the piper. Didn't find cigarette smoke a problem, the toilet facilities were clean & functional, no unpleasant odours. Look forward to visiting again when I am up this way. E & N. Hull

1  Thank Eddoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnnyGandLynne, Owner at The Northumbrian Piper, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2013

Well thank you so much for posting such a lovely honest review it's is very much appreciated by us all here at the piper. It's nice that you took the time out to mention the staff and how nice they are. Breath of fresh air to read nice reviews please continue to visit us we love nice people.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

A friend and I went and had an early supper here last week. What I like about this place is how comfortable it is. There is a large main bar with mixed seating and an "eating" side too.

The barman didn't turn a hair when I ordered tea at 6.15 (always a good sign) and the tea came in teapot as well (another good sign).

My friend and I ordered the chicken and vegetable soup and when it arrived there was enough chicken, carrots and onions to make it a stew. The broth it was in was tasty and not too peppery, which can often happen. It was made of chunks of chicken breast too so they didn't stint.

We both felt full and thawed at the end (it was a cold night) and well worth the £4.95.

Recommended.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank LadyHGG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnnyGandLynne, Owner at The Northumbrian Piper, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2013

Thanks you so much for your kind words they are very much appreciated here by all of us. Im so pleased you enjoyed your home made soup something we do here all the time. Just what you want on a cold evening or daytime. we will shortly be supplying Local Ringtons Teas we are just waiting for the delivery coming so we are looking forward to that. You are welcome anytime for tea of whatever you would like we love nice people like you and your friend and the great review you have given us. Much Appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Hi all went back to the Piper with the kids in tow for sunday lunch, as before when we have visited it's been FAB. The food you can't fault. My daughter who i think is going to be a hotel inspector when she grows up always visits the little girls room for a quick inspection before eating anywhere and leaves if not up to scratch! So on reading the previous review from Mac S i was shocked and a bit disappointed at this. The place was spotless and to be quite honest smelt of foooood!!!! Everytime i have visited there the food is on so i don't know how they can smell anything else and as for the loos they always look very clean and smell clean too! Keep up the good work my little Pipers we love you all!! especially the Chef!!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank andrea c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnnyGandLynne, Owner at The Northumbrian Piper, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2013

Apologies for the delay in reply to your great review. It warms our hearts to know that people care enough to post nice reviews its very easy to complain about things anonymously when really it would be much nicer to mention your concerns in person. However thank you for your kind comments about the place and the food we do try our best 100$ of the time and obviously discerning people like yourself recognise this. Many thanks and please keep coming and tell your friends about us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Northumbrian Piper also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to The Northumbrian Piper? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing