We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You know what...it's really good”

The Northumbrian Piper
Ranked #334 of 1,287 Restaurants in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price range: US$12 - US$30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Hidden away, it has for decades, remained one of Gosforth's best kept secrets, serving as a welcoming watering hole for residents of the town's Red House Farm Estate, Great Park and the surrounding areas. But now the word is officially out and discerning diners from across the region are descending upon and discovering the culinary treasures of this stunning, hidden gem.
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Well I said I would be back and have been twice since. Once for the Thursday grill night 2 mains and a bottle of wine for £20: we had a gammon steak and salmon - both very good and enjoyed in the garden with a bit of sunshine (-:

Then tonight back again - this time the ultimate tower burger, chicken burger and (on the specials) Cumberland sausage ring with mash. We all thought our food was great on both occasions so find the last couple of reviews "strange".

Special mention for the young guy who served us on both occasions (don't know his name) as he is very helpful and friendly and a credit to the place.

We might be about to become regulars (well once or twice a month).

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank sleep007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnnyGandLynne, Owner at The Northumbrian Piper, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

You have just restored my faith in people thank you so much. It's so disappointing when you are all trying to achieve the best and you get bad reviews because we didn't have something or some other reason. You review is lovely and I will pass the comments on to Craig who we think was on when you came in. Sadly he is leaving us to take up a golf career which is disappointing as he is so good. But rest assured we will be still doing out best to achieve the best possible quality of both food and offerings. Thank you once again you have lifted everyone by your review and as you are such a prolific reviewer it means even more. Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (262)
There are newer reviews for The Northumbrian Piper
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

122 - 126 of 262 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2014

Really didn't live up to their website. Vegetarian food (Gourmet burger, chick peas and coriander), was on the menu but not available. The wait was long, but after visiting the webpage, we expected that, being 'freshly cooked'. Unfortunately the fish was completely tasteless, and I would question if it was even cod. Chips seemed like the scraps from the bottom of the chip pan. Mushy peas were cold! Pasta (spicy), slapping a load of chilli onto a dish does not make it 'spicy', it makes it HOT!!!..

At least two of our party (of six) seemed relatively happy with their meal. Albeit the bun was easily twice the size of the actual burger.

Come on guys, if you are going to serve regular pub grub don't fancy it up! You say that you don't do 'pretentious', well that's exactly what that was!!!. 'Real food for real people', that's kind of insulting!!! We would not even have been as disappointed if you didn't big yourselves up on your website.

Overall HUGELY disappointing!!! Nice little children's area outside though, but not really worth it when the child's meal is the last to come out and others in our party had already finished theirs. We certainly won't be back, NOR shall we recommend it.

Such a shame, first opinion of it, it seemed like a pretty nice place. Perhaps the 'chef' was off that night...

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
5  Thank Sammy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnnyGandLynne, Owner at The Northumbrian Piper, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Apologies for late response to this review I did ask trip advisor about it but I have not had a response yet I find it interesting that bad reviews like this attract more helpful votes than excellent ones do which I wonder why that is. Anyways you clearly didn't enjoy the fresh food and I am sorry for that. The fish is actually the best you can buy from Taylor's of North Shields it's North Atlantic cod so I'm concerned about your comment that it was tasteless we get some great comments from people as to how nice it is. I'm also wondering why you did not mention that you were not happy or that food was cold I certainly would have done so. Apologies that the vegetarian burger was not available when you visited we sell shed loss of them and it is difficult to make so
Many in busy times. Clearly not a fan of the Piper food which is a shame I certainly don't discount a place on one visit but that of course is your choice.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

4 of us went to the Northumbrian Piper for a meal and drinks last night but it was a catalogue of problems and poor service. On a lovely summer evening nothing nicer than a martini and lemonade. Sorry we have run out....they also ran out of bells whiskey for another customer. We had a decent burger only no Stilton for the black and blue so cheddar put on instead which really meant it was a cheeseburger and not what was ordered. We eventually had to clear our own plates away as it was clear the staff were not going to even though there were only 15 or so people in the whole place. The company made it a decent night in spite of the poor customer care. Very disappointing

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
5  Thank Helen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnnyGandLynne, Owner at The Northumbrian Piper, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

Well very disappointing review on many levels. Firstly your choice of drinks were not available on that we had ran out of martini, strange as we don't sell a lot of martini these days nor do we sell much bells whiskey. We had had an extremely busy week. We do of course have other whiskeys. The food you ordered the burgers with blue cheese yes we had ran out of blue cheese apologies it happens now and then especially when we are going thro so many burgers ,so you were actually asked did you want to change your choice of burger or would you like cheddar cheese which you confirmed you would so we put it on at your request. My staff might be lots of things but they are not rubbish and as bad as you make out I'm afraid. You are of course entitled to your opinion but it would be nice if you would let us know about your views whilst we have a chance to put things right and before you jeopardise people jobs and the success of businesses with bad reviews which has a very detrimental effect. We can't be that bad we won a trip advisor certificate of excellence for 2014.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

A table for 18 was no problem we we're ask to pre order food to ensure our selection was available. All meals arrived within 5 mins of each other comments from some of our group who had not been there before. The steak was the best they have ever had. Puddings were enjoyed by most of the party the rest being wimps too full. Afterwards a good night in the bar area. As usual the staff were polite (apart from to me but that is par for the course, only joking.) they do an excellent job considering the size of the kitchen. Of course I will be back again and again and again. Thanks

Thank Y50alh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnnyGandLynne, Owner at The Northumbrian Piper, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Well thank you so much for taking the time out to give us such praise its is so much appreciated by the team here at the Piper. Its often not that easy to manage a large party as you are getting other walk ins at the same time which of course makes it a lot harder on the kitchen. they do work wonders though. The food we produce is different from the norm as its all freshly made and not boil in the bag stuff. Thanks again for a great review and keep coming and of course dont forget to tell people like you did. Cheers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Despite being only a 5-10 minute walk from the edge of the Great Park have only been here a few times. It is definitely unusual to find such an old building with large beer garden in amongst a housing estate.

Visited on a sunny Friday night and booked in advance. Bit confused on arrival by a sign that suggested my 11 year old would have to be out by 8pm (table booked for 7.30) but barman advised this did not apply in the dining area.

I understand the fact some comment on the fine line between regulars and visitors and I also think the loos could be a little nicer.

But food was good - smoked haddock and a couple of chicken burger (breast) options with fresh chips with a slight wait in line with what they say (freshly cooked). Drinks were OK but thought £3.65 for a San Miguel was a little steep.

Staff were efficient and quite friendly. Will go back more often because it is local and a nice change.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank sleep007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnnyGandLynne, Owner at The Northumbrian Piper, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

hello and thanks for your lovely review mate much appreciated. Glad you enjoyed the food the fish is delicious from Taylors of North shields. Apologies over the confusion re the timings. Unfortunately our premises licence is such that it limits the times that children can be on the premises which I agree is not ideal but nothing that we can do about it sadly. The gents toilet are due to be done again just waiting to get money to do them, being an independant pub we have to fund everything ourselves and have just had to replace the heating boiler at considerable expense. Hope to see you more over the summer the gardens really come into their own when the suns shining. thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Northumbrian Piper also viewed

Gosforth, Newcastle upon Tyne
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to The Northumbrian Piper? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing