We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lamb Shaslick and Butter Chicken”
Review of Kamal Restaurant

Kamal Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$19 - US$25
Cuisines: Asian, Indian, Pakistani, Balti
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: The Kamal Restaurant is set in the heart of the culturally vibrant Arthurs hill area, and it has provided top quality Asian cuisine using authentic methods of cooking for the past 22 years. the restaurant has a bring your own drinks policy allowing you to enjoy your evening with your preffered selection of beers or wines. why not visit the Kamal, soak up the atmosphere and enjoy the sensational food provided by highly experienced chefs, served to you by friendly and professional waiters. come along and let us take care of your evening whether it be with friends or family.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
57 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Lamb Shaslick and Butter Chicken”
Reviewed 24 March 2014

4th time to Newcastle and 3rd time eating here. Great restaurant, food is superb, staff are great and BYOB with an off licence only a couple of doors up the road. Only 30 mins walk from central station if you fancy a walk after eating!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lmidbn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    207
    36
    15
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
northumberland
Level Contributor
127 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Top Notch Curry”
Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

We live about 15 miles away but travel through several times a year because the food is superb . This was our first visit for a few months but everything was just the same - friendly & efficient staff & excellent food !!
Many Thanks - we will be back !!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kdcNorthumberland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Long wait”
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Great food ....... Just along wait for it ...... Unfortunately one or two fellow diners talk absolute drivel as loud as possible ....

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mickjb79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“2nd to none”
Reviewed 17 March 2014

As a great lover of Indian food i've visited many a curry house but none can beat the Kamal,i've been coming here for about five years after it being recemended & i can honestly say i have always left fully satisfied.

The food is very authentic with all natural ingrediants & is the tastiest you would find anywhere,the rice dishes are very good with amazing nan's & they also do indian chips which are to die for.

The restaurant doesnt sell alchahol but i think it makes it the more better as you can take whatever you fancy.The dining area is very nice & cosy & aways imaculate.

When you arrive you always get a very warm welcome & the fantasic staff treat you as one of there freinds & cant do enough without to make sure you enjoy your meal.

This is my number 1 Indian restaurant & would recemend it to anyone.

So if you love great Indian food & havnt tried the Kamal yet,get yourself there!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank magpiemac59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North East England
Level Contributor
82 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Fantastic food and service - probably the best in Newcastle”
Reviewed 16 March 2014

At the end of 2013 we stumbled across Kamal Balti House and decided to give it a try. It was a great decision. We have visited six times so far and the food and service have been consistently excellent on each visit.

The food is the real star here being fresh and delicious and with a good depth of flavour. Add to this excellent service and a friendly, informal atmosphere and you have everything you need for a perfect evening. Although they are not licenced to sell alcohol, you can simply bring your own with you and enjoy a drink with your meal.

The restaurant is easy to reach by car being only a few minutes drive from the city centre and there is ample parking in the streets nearby.

A great place and we are looking forward to our next visit already!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank worldecho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kamal Restaurant also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Kamal Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing