We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yankee bait”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Northside Diner

Northside Diner
Ranked #723 of 1,254 Restaurants in Newcastle upon Tyne
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
56 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Yankee bait”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

The milkshakes are a must they are lush . Cheese dog and fries go very well with the shake with an extra potion of onion rings just for good measure well nice

Helpful?
Thank Enlim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    25
    23
    17
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“It really has that american diner feel to it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

Really friendly staff. Not very busy at all, so service was extremely quick. When I was in the restaurant it took me back to when I was actually in America as it really has that american diner feel to it. very clean and well looked after, I also love the big jukebox and wall decor! I went with my mum and she had the chocolate fudge cake whilst I had the Elvis peanut-butter and jelly sandwich with raspberry sauce. Our food and drinks were lovely couldn't have been any better. Also there was a wonderful atmosphere. Looking at the menu I would say everything is reasonably priced and sounds delicious. The only thing is the parking as it is in the Fenwicks in town, personally I would get the metro into as it would be much easier than finding somewhere to park (considering where it's located). But I will definitely be going back, it's really worth a visit.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank B3cca_T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Understaffed, average service.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

When we visited there seemed to only be 2 members of staff in, and the chef so service was quite slow. The food was hot and fresh, however the Stuffed Red Jalapeños I ordered were supposed to come with a cilantro slaw according to the menu, but this was missing. Customer service wasn't poor but wasn't great either.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KG91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“very friendly staff, great food and wonderful atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

my friend and i were going to a concert and decided to visit as we had been told that it was a great place to eat. we were greeted at the front of the resturant by a kind member of staff who showed us to our table. it was quite busy and so we told him we had limited time to eat due to the concert so he made sure we had very quick service, the staff were very friendly and the food was great! (he also gave us directions to the concert which we found very helpful) 10/10! i would recommend it to anyone!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chloe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good atmosphere and nice meals!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014 via mobile

Me and my son love this place. Friendly service and very much a family restaurant. I recommend you to visit North side Diner when you happen to be on 3rd floor Fenwick...

Helpful?
1 Thank Lakeland73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Northside Diner also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Northside Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing