We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Roomzzz Newcastle City
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Wow!”
Reviewed 19 November 2012

For independent travellers looking for a combination of luxury, affordability and practicality in the heart of the city, I can’t recommend Roomzzz Newcastle highly enough.

The building (a listed Georgian townhouse, just a few minutes’ walk from Central Station) has been beautifully restored, from the impressive staircase in the hall all the way up to the Penthouse Suite (which we were lucky enough to be staying in).

The décor throughout is tasteful and there’s an attention to detail which you just don’t get at bigger hotels. The apartments had everything we needed, both for work (iMac and desk in a separate office area, plus free WiFi) and for relaxing (armchairs by a huge fireplace and plush furnishings throughout). The bathroom had with a huge walk in shower and the bed and bed linen were top quality for a good night’s sleep.

Staff were friendly and helpful, and the grab and go breakfast is a brilliant idea – we had an early start, so just took fresh coffee, fruit and pastries with us, but if you had more time it’d be nice to have a leisurely breakfast at the dining room table in the apartment while you admire the views over the city.

The kitchen was state of the art, and fully equipped with everything you could need, whether staying for just one night or a week, plus lots of extras (champagne glasses as well as wine glasses, dishwasher and full oven if you want to cook something other than soup on the hob or heat something up in the microwave).

Highly recommended - I just wish we’d been staying longer!

Room Tip: The Penthouse Suite is out of this world
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NewcastleTraveller03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    410
    62
    17
    5
    4
See reviews for
44
244
15
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for a few days last week.. Great hotel, helpful and friendly staff, very central, 5 minutes walk to shops.. Rooms are very clean and spacious and well appointed.. Breakfast is pastries juice and fruit. Couldn't fault it at all.. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stefandjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 November 2012

The hotel looks lovely from the inside and out, I was on the lower floor so I didn't get to go up the staircase which looked quite spectacular. My suite (the Liberty Suite) was absolutely huge! There was a great, open living space and kitchen and a big fireplace that must've been there from when the place was originally built which was a nice touch. The bathroom was really great and the bedroom was fantastic - big screen TV and great station to use and charge my iPhone! Had a great night's sleep; beds were so comfortable and spacious. There were loads of restaurants close by and Central Station was just a few minutes away. Staff were really pleasant and I'm looking forward to my next stay!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LampLove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morpeth, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2012

This hotel is well worth visit. You won't want to leave your room!

The whole design is amazing. I totally love the old style building with the modern details. The fixtures and fittings are luxurious, the kitchen is a great place to hang out and have a glass of wine before heading out into town and the bed is so comfy! I could've slept for a week!!

The staff were really helpful and friendly and the location of the hotel is perfect for the station and the centre of town.

I highly recommend the Roomzzz hotel - get it booked!! ;)

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexis G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2012

I have been working in Newcastle for nearly a year now and this is by far the best hotel I've stayed in and would highly recommend it to anyone visiting the area, whether it be business or pleasure. In my opinion, Newcastle has been crying out for a place like this and I'm sure it will do very well! What also makes Roomzzz unique from other hotels in the city is the Loyalty scheme it runs, great for anyone working in the area but not living in Newcastle permanently. Check out the details on their website, definately worth signing up to if you stay here regularly.

It is clear that the apartments have been finished to a very high standard, the 'smart studio' which I stayed in was spacious, comfortable and kitted out with everything you could possibly require during your stay. I was pleasantly surprised with the beds too, very comfy, often this is not the case with hotels! The staff at reception were very friendly and eager to help which was great.. made me feel welcome. In terms of location, it is ideal, 5 minutes walk from Newcastle Central Station, 10-15 minutes walk to the main shopping area and for those wanting to venture down to the quayside for some food or a drink it is 5-10 minutes walk. There are also lots of bars and restaurants nearby so you're spoilt for choice!

All in all, ideal place for anyone to stay in Newcastle, great value, good location and friendly staff.. Looking forward to my next stay!

Oli

Room Tip: I've heard the Penthouse is pretty swanky...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Oliver S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2012

WOW WOW WOW. Stayed here for 2 nights the week it opened. Had stayed at Leeds City West which was fab but this is something else. Travelled with boyfriend as part of his birthday week. Had booked a grand suite, when we arrived the team said we could park out the front as restrictions had been lifted (when we stayed, do check in the future ) so this saved money. The hotel is located 5 mins from Central station and near to many car parks within a 10-15 walk with luggage. So yes you may hear some rail noise, but rooms are all double glazed and hey it's city centre you get noise!.
So when we checked in the reception team and a manager(??) said we've upgraded you, brilliant , to the PENTHOUSE o.m.g amazing is not the word . Now just because we got this doesn't mean the rest of my review is sponsored , it's not.
The room was huge, accessed via a beautiful reception, trendy boutique decoration. There's a lift and stairs, we came back down the latter to take photos. It is stunning . The room itself is 2 floor, lots of glass, purple decor, floor lights and up the stairs. Apple Mac in office area , original fireplace, lovely seats ( had to sit on all!) , dining area, and fully equipped kitchen inc dishwasher and microwave. Bedroom area upstairs was fab, comfy bed and lovely plump pillows. Bathroom had great power shower , rainforest style. So all in all A.mazing, and the reception team were all so so helpful and happy, always asking if the room was ok, if we were having a great tim etc. Shout out to Simon he was lovely and to the ladies, sorry I didn't catch your names.

We booked a winter saver rate for £75 a night so was amazing value considering. Would also say become a member direct as you get discounted rates.

Room Tip: Couple of the rooms are basement but look to have lots of light so don't be put out, hotel is on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PAB2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2012

Our first stay in a roomzz and would highly recommend it. Simon and Carly on the front desk couldn't do enough for us. Rooms were immaculate and gladly stay here again. Excellent value for money . Ideal location for centre and station . Vanessa and Tracey

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vaddybrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.6 mi away
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
#1 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,390 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#8 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,215 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#7 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Malmaison Newcastle
Malmaison Newcastle
#16 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,334 reviews
0.2 mi away
Motel One Newcastle
Motel One Newcastle
#6 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
441 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
#20 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roomzzz Newcastle City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roomzzz Newcastle City

Property: Roomzzz Newcastle City
Address: Friar House Clavering Place, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 3NG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 82 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Roomzzz Newcastle City 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Roomzzz Newcastle City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing