We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Roomzzz Newcastle City
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013

Stayed her recently with my girlfriend for a weekend and we were well impressed from start to finish. The location was brilliant and only a short walking distance from the rail station as we had got train in from the airport. It was also very close to Quayside and the central shopping areas of the city, We were met by a very friendly girl at reception who despite our late arrival time was cheering and gave us a full run down on what was to offer.

The apartment we got was very large with a good kitchen and dining area. The seating area in the same room was also comfortable. Everything seemed to be brand new or nearly so. The bedroom was pretty similar with acres of space. The decor was very modern and suited the setting well giving us a feeling of warmth despite the near sub zero temperatures outside.

I'd recommend this place to anyone visiting Newcastle and if I'm back again, I know where I'll be staying. Very happy.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrmanire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    382
    58
    14
    5
    3
See reviews for
39
234
13
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013

We stayed here for one night in December based on tripadvisor reviews. The room was large with a bedroom area, bathroom and lounge/ kitchen diner. The room was very clean and had everything that we needed. The location was great as it is in a quiet side street but no more than five minutes walk into the main bar and restaurant area in town. The staff were very friendly and helped us get our bearings. Unfortunately there is no parking on site so we parked at the station. The grab and go breakfast is okay (not the highlight of the stay) and our room had some paint coming off the ceiling in the shower. The hotel definitely represents good value for money and we would definitely stay there if we were to visit Newcastle again.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nickyg24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
170 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2013

What a find! We were welcomed by warm friendly and helpful staff. The apartment was amazing, immaculately laid out, clean and we were totally bowled over by it. The kitchen, dining area and comfy seating space were upstairs and our bedroom downstairs! The bedroom was huge! The décor is very rich and luxurious. 2 days really was not enough! Thanks to all the staff for their commitment to making the stay so very special. We will be back – sooner rather than later!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clowny45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2013

Stayed here for one night and wished we had stayed for more. we were stunned when we got into our room at the size of it, kitchen, dinning area, lounge suite and then to discover the stairs that lead down to our bedroom which was huge as well.
These are new rooms and have been fitted out to a really high standard.
we were a bit concerned when we booked whether the trains would be a problem. well you are aware of them, but they are not intrusive and don't go by that often, we had a great nights sleep.
We will definitely be staying here again and will be looking out for other Roomzzz hotels when ever we travel.
They have set a really high level of accommodation for the price!
Peter

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheExcitedTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geordie
Level Contributor
80 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2013

Took advantage of an opening offer and stayed 2 nights between new year and Christmas so we could enjoy some nights out in Newcastle, Great location 5 minutes from central station (where there is a Sainsbury's local!) and 10 minutes walk from Grey's monument and the Quayside. Stayed in a liberty suite, it was clean tidy, well equipped and spacious. We will definitely use this place again when we want a night out in Newcastle.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emilyw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, England
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2012 via mobile

Anyone thinking of a trip to Newcastle should seriously consider Roomzz. Well appointed rooms, great location, and excellent staff make this a perfect choice. Parking in the station is convenient, good value, and secure. You are only a two minute walk from the city centre, and the quayside.

Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, England
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2012 via mobile

Perfect in every way. Great location, 5 minutes from Grey's monument, and city centre. The room is huge with everything you could need, very well appointed with quality fixtures and fittings. Anyone thinking of of a trip to Newcastle should seriously consider Roomzz as their choice of hotel.

Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.6 mi away
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
#1 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,322 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#10 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,094 reviews
0.2 mi away
Motel One Newcastle
Motel One Newcastle
#6 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#8 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 926 reviews
0.5 mi away
Malmaison Newcastle
Malmaison Newcastle
#15 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,167 reviews
2.2 mi away
Jesmond Dene House
Jesmond Dene House
#3 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roomzzz Newcastle City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roomzzz Newcastle City

Property: Roomzzz Newcastle City
Address: Friar House Clavering Place, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 3NG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 84 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Roomzzz Newcastle City 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo, Lastminute, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Roomzzz Newcastle City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing