We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Place to Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Roomzzz Newcastle City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 March 2013

After an aborted attempt to sail from Newcastle to Amsterdam, we found ourselves in Newcastle looking for somewhere nice to stay. We found Roomzzz on Trip Advisor and weren't disappointed. The rooms are lovely, decor is very fresh, everywhere is very fresh and clean and the staff are friendly and welcoming. I'd certainly recommend it and would be happy to try their other locations.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frameworx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (509)
There are newer reviews for Roomzzz Newcastle City
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

463 - 469 of 509 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2013

A very late decision to stay in Newcastle for a couple of nights (DFDS Ferry to Amsterdam cancelled due to weather!) so booked a couple of nights at Roomzzz. Very warm welcome, fabulous rooms 301 and 302 (301 more expensive duplex, but great) but both great rooms in fairness. We didn't make full use of the facilicities as we ate out both days but the rooms were fully equipped with what we'd need. My husband did hear the trains late and early... I didn't!!) Attentive, friendly staff, spotless rooms, no hassle. Grab and go breakfast was tasty but probably not what we'd normally have when away but allowed us to taste the local breakfast venues. Having said that, I did grab and go, the coffee was excellent and didn't taste at all " machine" and the pastries were delish. I would not hesitate to recommend to anyone (and have!)

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fibi1034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2013

This was my second visit at Roomzzz Newcastle. The first visit was so good that we decided to come back for few more days and am so looking forward to be back again. What a pleasure to be staying here.
Staff was just excellent , very pleasant and helpful. We stayed in the Penthouse Suite and what a delight! The attention to detail has been fantastic. Really gives you a luxurious feeling and felt so good to have such a space to ourselves. Having an iMac in the suite was such a luxury,which I have not had at any other hotel yet, not even at hotels like Atlantis,The Palm !!! I just can't say enough as to how happy we were at Roomzzz. Again, we had two big televisions in the suite which was great. The sitting area was very comfortable and gave a good space to chill out.
We had the complimentary breakfast on the first day and it was lovely. The coffee machine made great drinks,the Mocha and Hot Chocolate were my favourite and my husband was enjoying the Latte's. We had nice selection of French pastries and it was all complimentary! On our second morning,we prepared a cooked breakfast and we found everything that we needed for it.The oven and the microwave was sparkling clean. It was a real pleasure. For evening meals, we took a short walk to Grey Street on both nights and had a lovely dinner's at The Living Room and at Brown's. We were very much in the centre of town within minutes walk from our hotel.
The beautiful staircase lead us to the bedroom upstairs which was very romantic and trendy. The bed was extremely comfortable,but no surprise there as it was the same when we stayed the time before. The bedding was very good quality and luxurious. We had a good sound sleep on both nights. Bathroom was lovely too with nice shower. Towels were very absorbent and were changed regularly.
The standard of house keeping was impeccable,everything was nice and clean.
We just did not want to leave our room to go out. We had some real chill time in our Suite and are so looking forward to be back. What a pleasure to see that the standards have not slipped at all. We have decided to come back every few months!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank playcold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2013

I am sure this is a very nice place to stay for a weekend out in newcastle, where you are not spending much time in your apartment.

For business where you may be travelling solo and staying in rather more this is not so good. Its a dark and lonely - though short - walk to the station and places to eat. However the kitchens aren't well equipped enough for you to do anything other than heat up a ready meal or pizza. This wouldn't be a problem if the website didn't say how well equipped the kitchens were!

The linens are scratchy and uncomfortable - nasty poly cotton stuff. Towels are thin and rough. The toiletries are IMO awful and not very generously provided.

The noise from the railway lines isn't good (again ok if you're just relaxing, having a drink, coming back late) but awful if you have to get some sleep to work.

The telephone system is a mess. My partner was told on five occasions that I wasn't in when I was. People cannot ring rooms direct. In the Penthouse there is only a phone on the upper floor.

The cleaning is a bit hit and miss. The grab and go breakfast is pretty dismal - vending machine coffee, cheap pastries.

I really do think if you're travelling on leisure with friends this would be good. I was even upgraded to the Penthouse - which was a nice gesture. But I'd rather have been in a basic room with decent facilities. Really.

I know this can be a wonderful place to stay for business with a bit more effort. But the overall feel is cheap and youth oriented at the moment. Hold out for a deal - or book somewhere else!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank SevernTrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2013

Stayed here while we visited Newcastle. The location is great easy access to the city for shopping and restaurants. No parking on site so we parked in station car park for £15 per day which if you compare with London parking is quite reasonable (although having been to the metro centre where parking was free makes you think why not in the city). We booked a Penthouse room which was brilliant. Girls on the desk were very friendly and helpful. Found reviews on trip adviser to be correct which made us book this hotel and we will definitely return again maybe next time by train as its next door to the station. My only comment is that it would be nice to have a fan over or near the bed as the noise from the trains means you cant open the windows if you are hot . We still got a good nights sleep however as the bed was so comfortable it didn't really affect us too much.Would highly recommend staying here!!

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Malc W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2013

I have stayed in some really fabulous hotels over the years but not really done the appart/hotel thing. Stayed in Newcastle rooms for 2 nights last weekend and thought it was great. Friar House is a lovely building and we were really pleased to see that Roomzzz had kept many of the original features. The hotel is really beautiful and yet very practical. Had a Grab and Go breakfast first day and made a cooked breakfast ourselves the next day. Very relaxing. The staff were really welcoming and helpful. Dined out in pub and a lovely restaurant on the Quayside. Despite the weather we had a really lovely weekend. Will try this apparthotel again as we love Newcastle.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Passingthrough55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2013 via mobile

Beautiful little boutique hotel! Couldn't believe how mod con it was. In a central location, right next to the train station and not too far away from shops etc.

Staff were really friendly and helpful. No cooked breakfast but couldn't fault it for an 'apartment hotel'

Wonderful!!!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MiniNash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.6 mi away
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
#1 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,403 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#7 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,248 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#8 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Malmaison Newcastle
Malmaison Newcastle
#13 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,371 reviews
0.2 mi away
Motel One Newcastle
Motel One Newcastle
#6 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
467 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Vermont Hotel
The Vermont Hotel
#22 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roomzzz Newcastle City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roomzzz Newcastle City

Address: Friar House Clavering Place, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 3NG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 82 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range: £64 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Roomzzz Newcastle City 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Roomzzz Newcastle City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing