We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Roomzzz Newcastle City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 July 2013

In a convenient location within easy reach of the train station and city centre.
We stayed in the penthouse suite, a very spacious, clean, well equipped room with a nice bathroom and well stocked kitchen albeit there was no air conditioning which left the room a bit stuffy so the windows had to be open at all times.
The bed was comfy but there was a lot of noise from the trains as the room was very close to the train station waking us up early in the morning.
There's a free laundry room but it is very hot and stuffy and washing and drying clothes took over 3 hours.
However, there was a complimentary tea and coffee machine along with a complimentary grab and go breakfast bar serving a variety of packaged pastries which was convenient for us to just take back to the room.
Overall an enjoyable stay with friendly helpful staff, but a little bit noisy and hot.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mangoCooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (529)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

462 - 468 of 529 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2013 via mobile

We were attending a wedding reception in Newcastle the recommend hotels close to the venue were fully booked by the time we got around to booking, quick look on TA and we went for Roomzzz. Staff nice, place clean and modern, close to everything only issues - no parking on site (some close by) and I don't think they have AC which 348 days of most years you wouldn't need. Grab and go breakfast is fine. Would stay here again with out hesitation.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ukhs78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

I came to Newcastle on a short business trip. I needed to keep within budget and almost ended up in the Premier Inn. For the same amount of £75 (on Booking.com) I was able to stay here in a spacious, comfortable room. Roomzzz is in a lovely restored old building, a five-minute walk behind the train station. Reception was very friendly, and there looks to be only 14 rooms, so it's pretty quiet. I was up on the third floor, where the ceiling is lower and quaintly curves in due to the roof line (it made me think how big the rooms must feel on lower floors, where the ceiling height must be higher). My apartment - a lounge, dining area, and kitchenette; medium-sized bedroom; and toilet - was spacious and nicely kitted-out. There were two televisions and an iphone charger, free wifi.

My small quibbles: the blurb says there are city views, but not really; the A/C controls didn't appear to be working, so I had a difficult night sleeping with the heat; and the breakfast is 'takeaway,' which is pastries in plastic wrap - yes, free, but not very appealing.

None of those things prevents me from recommending Roomzzz. I really suggest this place if you want somewhere central, quiet, spacious, and comfortable. Thumbs up!

Room Tip: Third floor rooms have lower and curved ceilings, which are charming, but lower level floors may hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doctorj42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2013

Last month I booked tickets for a Saturday night concert at the Metro Arena in Newcastle; a birthday gift for my husband We live just an hour away from the venue, so can drive home but this means that a) one of us cannot drink and b) to avoid the hour-long queues at the car park exit it is necessary to leave before the final encores.

Thinking to make it special, I researched overnight accommodation within walking distance of the arena. Not much left a few days before the event...... and that available at inflated prices. Couldn't decide between a Superior river-facing room (with breakfast) at the Malmaison at £170 or 'The Liberty Suite' at Roomzzz
for £169
Chose Roomzz because we stayed twice at their Leeds establishment (upper floor studio apartment with balcony for £69).and thought it excellent
The Newcastle Liberty Suite was £169 (with a 10% loyalty discount),. Looking at the suite online it was bright, light and with high ceilings. Perfect for an indulgence.

When we arrived we were taken down a flight of stairs to a basement; the old servants kitchen complete with kitchen ranges and no light visible at eye level. I am claustrophobic.
That's when we were informed that there are 11 Liberty suites all in different parts of the hotel. The receptionist was sympathetic, but could only offer us one other suite where the guests hadn't yet checked in.

This was a gloomy ground floor living/kitchen with stairs down to a basement bedroom.... not easily to negotiate with a recent knee replacement. Situated at the back of the hotel, the views were depressing (photos appended)
An (eye-wateringly!) strong smell of bleach pervaded the living room/kitchen

On top of that it is was a cold damp night and there was no heating in the bedroom (I didn't go to the concert). Reception suggested turning up the thermostat and heating should kick-in in 20 minutes. The thermostat had been on the highest level for 2 hours without effect. Eventually, the receptionist brought down an electric heater which clicked on and off all night.

Next morning Reception apologised that we had not enjoyed our stay and said that management would be in touch by email..
Still waiting

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank premiercru52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoomzzzLeeds, Manager at Roomzzz Newcastle City, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for the feedback regarding your recent stay. Firstly I would like to apologize for not meeting your expectations at Roomzzz Newcastle. Due to the historic nature of our building each Suite is very unique, and individual features can vary, with this in mind, we show a cross section of photos of different Suites on our website so that guests can appreciate the diversity of our property.

We are an apart-hotel, and as you will have noted during your stay, each suite comes equipped with full kitchen. Many of our guests enjoy preparing their own breakfast, hence we provide a Grab & Go breakfast for those that are in a hurry, or prefer a light bite in the morning. I would very much like to have the opportunity to respond further by email direct to you, and give your comments the attention they need.

Regards

Sarah Kemp
Guest Service Manager
Roomzzz Newcastle City

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2013

We chose this hotel for its location - 5 minutes walk from both the railway station and Quayside with many restaurants and also 10 minutes walk from the Metro Radio Arena where we had tickets for a concert. Also, only a 10 minute walk from the main shopping centre of Newcastle. The reception staff were very welcoming and helpful. The studio apartment we had was in the basement but was still light and roomy. Everything was spotlessly clean, and the kitchen area had everything you could want if you were going to cook. We only used it for preparing breakfasts. The "grab and go" breakfast bags of fresh fruit, pastries and juice available in reception were useful to take out with us as a morning snack. A complimentary hot drinks machine was also in reception for use at any time. We had no trouble with noise (the hotel seemed worryingly close to some railway tracks) even though we like to sleep with the window open and indeed the location was very quiet, especially considering it is in a city. We would definitely stay here again if visiting Newcastle.

Room Tip: Room 102 is in basement but is still light and gets afternoon sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 15SMB15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013

Roomzzz is a great concept; large, clean modern apartments, centrally located for a very reasonable price (Don't forget that possibly reflects typical prices in the North). The booking process is simple, the service is good, and this is because you largely serve yourself. Roomzzz provided a very nice apartment which was well equipped for our short stay. Why bother with a typically overpriced corporate hotel room when you can have a whole apartment to yourself without the fuss, and all for about 20-30% less?

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jimsmitty01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013

I have stayed in many hotels for both personal and business reasons and i have never see a room so large, it was aprox 100 square metres . There were 15 chairs , kitchen , seperate bedroom/ bathroom , 2 large plasma tv's . Hotel was directly behind the main station directly opposite a new building development , not sure i would fancy walking there in the dark on my own however once development is complete it should be fine . If arriving via station ignore hotel directions , turn right twice and go under taxi underpass and hotel is in front of you . Friendly staff, grab and go breakfast works , would stay again . That said i am not sure i understand the business model of having 12 huge rooms when you could easily fit in double that but not my problem

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mick48dc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.6 mi away
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
#1 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,441 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#7 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,352 reviews
2.2 mi away
Jesmond Dene House
Jesmond Dene House
#4 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Malmaison Newcastle
Malmaison Newcastle
#13 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,573 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hote...
#25 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,556 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#11 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roomzzz Newcastle City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roomzzz Newcastle City

Address: Friar House Clavering Place, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 3NG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 83 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range: £68 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Roomzzz Newcastle City 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Stayforlong S.L., TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Roomzzz Newcastle City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing