We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently good with nice surprises”
Review of Pink Lane Coffee

Pink Lane Coffee
Price range: US$3 - US$16
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Consistently good with nice surprises”
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

The guys at Pink Lane make beautiful coffee. It may be served in smaller glasses/cups than you might be used to but it's better for it.
It's great for a quick coffee before catching a train or relaxing and having a chat about some of the latest projects the guys have going on.

My favourite coffee place in newcastle and the food is also excellent. Toasted sandwiches on sour dough!

Helpful?
1 Thank Kicker99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    30
    19
    12
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Special little place”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

I came here for breakfast whilst staying at a nearby hotel. I had a flat white and porridge and both were excellent - exactly what I needed before a day of meeting ahead!

The coffee was rich, earthy and comparable to the barista coffee in London - I'm a bit of a coffee freak FYI - whilst the porridge came with delicious blueberries and honey. There was a tasty looking range of sandwiches and lunch items so I will be back to try them and update this review as necessary!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank domsurfs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Average coffee, but quite expensive”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

The cafe is very 'shabby chic', but a little more on the shabby side. The coffees we were served weren't fantastic. My brother ordered a black coffee, and it was so weak it tasted foul. My cappuccino was average, but very very small. For the price we paid, I wouldn't go back and wouldn't recommend it, either.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle upon tyne, uk
Level Contributor
76 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“great coffee”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

if you like your coffee to be a bit different, to be served by people who really know coffee, not from a multi-national chain, then this is the place. yes the flat white is smaller than from the Costa / Nero /S'bucks etc etc. yes the staff don't really like you putting sugar in their beautiful espresso. yes the decor is quirky and is not calming prints of Italian scooters in the old parts of a little village near Rome with a group of old men chatting over their coffees.
the coffee is great - they have different coffees and will talk with you about the flavours.
the atmosphere is one that i really like. a few people working on laptops, a few chatting quietly.
the food isn't as cheap as it is at Greggs round the corner, but i don't want a flaky cheese and onion pastie but a freshly made felafel and salad sandwich in tasty wholemeal bread.
I love this cafe.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AlanBrice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice, but a bit pricey”
Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

First time I've visited. The cafe itself is nice, the staff are pleasant. I had a ham and cheddar sandwich which was really nice, quite big but not enormous, and I think at over £4 is on the expensive side. The White Chocolate and Cranberry cake was delicious.

Helpful?
Thank TomL1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pink Lane Coffee also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Pink Lane Coffee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing