We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value, slick service, but it's busy!”
Review of Toby Carvery

Toby Carvery
Ranked #330 of 1,267 Restaurants in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price range: US$8 - US$15
Cuisines: British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Welcome to the Toby Carvery Kenton Bank. When it comes to roast dinners, we really know our stuff. Every day our chefs lay on a feast of tender, hand-carved meats with all the trimmings – including towering Yorkshire puds, golden roasties with all those lovely little crunchy bits, and plenty of freshly prepared veg, all crowned with proper gravy. So it's no wonder we're Newcastle Upon Tyne’s favourite carvery restaurant. Drop by and you'll find lots more on offer, including cooked breakfasts and tasty specials.
Sheffield
Level Contributor
84 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Excellent value, slick service, but it's busy!”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We ate here for both breakfast and evening meal...the Toby is within walking distance of both the Novotel and Travelodge, with ample car parking and out door seating.
The all you can eat breakfast for £3.99 is a bargain, but be aware that a drink with unlimited topups will add a further £1.99 to that. It is served daily from 8am, and is obviously popular with travellers and locals alike.
The evening carvery @ £5.99 was again first class, and although it was very busy, the staff are well on top of their game, and you will be given a table 'meter' once you have booked in, and this will vibrate and flash red for you when your table is ready. I took the added 'Super' option of extra meat, for a modest £1.50 extra and really enjoyed my meal.
To put it in perspective - the Novotel charges their customers £14 for breakfast - suffice to say the hundred yard walk from there to the Toby is well trodden.
Very happy with the standard of food and service and we will definitely visit again the next time we head up North.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jeffandlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toby Carvery R, Guest Relations Manager at Toby Carvery, responded to this review, 8 October 2014
Thank you for your review, we do appreciate that you have taken the time to share your comments following your visit to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    122
    81
    41
    44
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Filling breakfast”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Visited TheToby Inn for their famous breakfast served until 11.am which was very enjoyable and
great value for money would recommend here if you have a good appetite!!
Customer service was excellent,nothing was too much trouble.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank beverly w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toby Carvery R, Guest Relations Manager at Toby Carvery, responded to this review, 8 October 2014
Thank you for leaving your review. Your feedback is most appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Lovely Carvery”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

I don't go for carverys very often as I find them to filling but if I do this is the place to go, great price, the meat is lovely and I love the yorkshire puddings and gravy here.

It can get really busy though so be prepared, its best to go on a week day.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Queebl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toby Carvery R, Guest Relations Manager at Toby Carvery, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
We are happy to hear that you did enjoyedyour visit to us, and hope we will see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Birthday Breakfast”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Decided to visit the Toby on a Saturday for my Birthday breakfast as we have never tried them before.
The place was so busy, no staff on the bar to take orders,
A very poor service three waitresses on duty One with Dark hair very rude and disinterested in helping customers, she needs to get some customer service training on how to speak to customers politely!! after all customers are paying her wages and if she cant stand the heat get out of the kitchen!!
We had to wait in a long queue for the food to arrive on hot plate only after asking the rude waitress to see if any food was ready to be brought out. she shouted give it two minutes they will bring it out, pulling faces.
The food finally arrived ten minutes later.
The tables were dirty never cleaned after previous users
The place was a shambles.
Obvious the new décor has changed the atmosphere and they have cut the number of staff to save money and make a bigger profit.
We want to be valued as customers and we clearly were not!
Will never use the Toby again

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cjm447
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“I speak as I find”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

It's "good" value but the food is rather bland. The Yorkshire puddings are light and crispy. The roast potatoes are that in name only, in reality they are just soggy lumps. The price of non- alcoholic drinks are extortionate. Wouldn't go again unless we had another voucher for money off.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NewcastleJordy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toby Carvery R, Guest Relations Manager at Toby Carvery, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
We take care to read all our reviews, so thank you for taking the time to contact us through Trip Advisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Toby Carvery also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Washington, Tyne and Wear
Boldon, Tyne and Wear
 
Gateshead, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Toby Carvery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing