We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gluten free friendly” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Toby Carvery

Toby Carvery
Ranked #346 of 1,243 Restaurants in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price range: US$7 - US$15
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Welcome to the Toby Carvery Kenton Bank. When it comes to roast dinners, we really know our stuff. Every day our chefs lay on a feast of tender, hand-carved meats with all the trimmings – including towering Yorkshire puds, golden roasties with all those lovely little crunchy bits, and plenty of freshly prepared veg, all crowned with proper gravy. So it's no wonder we're Newcastle Upon Tyne’s favourite carvery restaurant. Drop by and you'll find lots more on offer, including cooked breakfasts and tasty specials.
derbyshire
Level Contributor
78 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Gluten free friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

They had ready prepared gluten free gravy and freed a gluten free dessert, thought it was very good value.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank sue62derbys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toby Carvery R, Guest Relations Manager at Toby Carvery, responded to this review, 8 October 2014
We are so pleased you enjoyed your visit to us at Kenton Bank Toby. We hope you'll be back to see us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    62
    39
    23
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lunches appear to be leftovers from the night before”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

Tried 2 lunches recently, Tuesday 12 August and Bank Holiday Saturday 23 August. Both were very poor quality. Barely luke-warm food on cold plates. On both occasions all food looked and tasted as though it was reheated from the previous night's leftovers.

You even see on their very limited choice of vegetables what looks like tinned sweetcorn and frozen peas. The broccoli on 12 August looked appalling. The broccoli heads were yellowy-brown and going to seed. Not seen any broccoli like it in the shops so don't know where they got it from.

Cauliflower in sauce was either so overcooked it was mushy on 12 August or on 23 August it was so undercooked it was actually hard and crunchy. They now put on display what looks like butternut squash cut up into pieces. Tried it on one occasion and it was soggy and burnt - don't know how they managed that but they did. Roast potatoes on both occasions looked dried up and if you tried them, yes, they were dried up.

I had hoped that a Bank Holiday Saturday might have improved what was on offer as more customers would be coming in. No chance. The same tired old food.

I don't know what the staff who work there think. I do know that they would not want their families to eat the lunch food that I have seen and tasted. At one time lunches at Toby, Kenton Bank, would be tasty meals with good, wholesome freshly cooked food. Not now.

Toby at Kenton Bank has lost its way. Their priority might be a clean, tidy restaurant and polite, trained staff but the food should be its main priority. That should be obvious but it isn't. If they are struggling to get customers in the door then awful food will not help. Improve the food and put up the price slightly if necessary.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mantras108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toby Carvery R, Guest Relations Manager at Toby Carvery, responded to this review, 8 October 2014
Thank you for your interesting and informative comments on Trip Advisor following your recent visits. We are sorry that we did not meet your expectations and have taken your comments on board as we are working hard at getting it right.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Escaping the shops”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

Can't beat the Carvery here ... Amazing choice and top quality food.. Service was excellent, very attentive staff ...

Love the free refills on the drinks and always has offers on the starters or puddings

Amazing value for money

Highly recommended for all the family

Helpful?
Thank Darrenmm68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toby Carvery R, Guest Relations Manager at Toby Carvery, responded to this review, 8 October 2014
Thank you very much for choosing to visit us and for leaving your kind review on Trip Advisor. It is wonderful when we receive such good feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“not for me”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

just not my type of food, piled plates, people going well over the top because price was good. why different size of plates , just to catch the eye.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank jamesatkinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toby Carvery R, Guest Relations Manager at Toby Carvery, responded to this review, 8 October 2014
Thank you for your review, we do appreciate that you have taken the time to share your comments following your recent visit to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed next door at the travelodge ate breakfast and Carvery both are very good! Thursday was quiz night and we were made very welcome to join in, even better cos we won :-)

Helpful?
Thank sandiej21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toby Carvery R, Guest Relations Manager at Toby Carvery, responded to this review, 8 October 2014
Thank you for your review, it is wonderful when we receive such great feedback & congratulations on your success!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Toby Carvery also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Boldon, Tyne and Wear
 
Washington, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Toby Carvery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing