We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic!”
Review of The Wild Trapeze

The Wild Trapeze
Ranked #254 of 1,262 Restaurants in Newcastle upon Tyne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$26
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Seating, Wheelchair Accessible
2 reviews
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Live near by and regularly attend for lunch with friends and the boyfriend.

Really relaxed casual atmosphere. Never feel rushed out even when the establishment is busy.

Food made is very tasty and I'm a big fan of the Darwin sandwich. It's unbelievable!!!!! Pulled pork heaven.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Melanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    34
    15
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent”
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

An amazingly relaxed place to go drink tea and eat amazing food! Try the Afternoon tea! I just had buttermilk pancakes and OMG they where amazing fluffy and thick!

Helpful?
Thank ShelbyT91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Poor Voucher Service”
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

We bought parents afternoon tea as a gift when they went to the shop they owner stated that they had to book which is fine you would think a little flexibility might have allowed them to just use it. They were heading on holiday so gave the voucher back as it was going to expire we tried to book in the short notice for the day it was expiring with no luck and they wouldn't allow it to be used the day after.
This is extremely poor management and service benefiting no one other than the cafe which wouldn't be there without returning customers.

Such a shame... Will think twice about recommending this place in the future!!!!
Such

Helpful?
Thank CMorris3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anphonics, Owner at The Wild Trapeze, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
When you bought the voucher you had to agree to the terms and conditions which clearly stated that a booking had to be made in advance and the voucher must be used by the deadline.

We could not accommodate your parents when they turned up because we only make enough scones and pastry for those that have booked for that day. This is to ensure only the best is presented for each afternoon tea. Therefore there was nothing we could have put on an afternoon tea for them.

After you bought the voucher, the voucher was valid for a total of three months, clearly plenty of time to visit. We are a popular cafe with a limited number of seats and therefore we can only accommodate so many bookings. Many people with vouchers left it very late to book and therefore the cafe filled up its bookings very quickly. You were informed on the phone that we would call you back if there was a cancellation, hence trying to accommodate you at the first possible opportunity, should one arise. This is the best we could do as wowcher does not let us extend the voucher deadline, and so it was out of our reach to do as you requested, as you were told.

We were very polite and did our best for you, which is in fact high levels of customer service. I recommend in future that you give plenty of notice for bookings at busy establishments, this will help to avoid disappointment when it is fully booked for the date you request
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Delightful Afternoon Tea”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

2nd visit to this quirky place for Afternoon Tea - even better than the 1st! Home-made delights and superb teas & coffees. Will definitely go back. Well worth a visit.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Afternoon Tea Delight”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Went for afternoon tea which was quite delightful. A quirky place with a grand piano in the corner - not sure why! Also two large sofas which took up a lot of room - I think it would have been better to have more tables available for customers personally. Our goodies arrived in a timely manner and were well presented. The only slight negative would be that the scones were a bit too crumbly for me but they tasted nice. I would certainly return. The food on other customers plates looked very appetising so I would like to sample something else on my next visit.
The staff were very friendly and overall a very pleasant visit.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank magpiemaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Wild Trapeze also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to The Wild Trapeze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing