We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem of a ‘find’.”

Aneesa's Buffet Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: £20 - £24
Cuisines: Indian, Pakistani
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Buffet, Delivery, Reservations
Description: A buffet restaurant with a difference! An exceptional range of a la carte quality food available on the buffet for one set price.
Reviewed 17 April 2013

Fri 12 04 13
After a recce visit the previous week, and being shown around most willingly, we were happy to return on a cold, windy Friday evening. Restaurant is located below the ‘Travelodge, Quayside’.
Plus points :- Large, welcoming, spacious, brightly lit food serving areas, subdued lighting in the sitting areas, enormous choice of food, very good food constantly checked and replenished, all curry's marked 'mild/medium/hot' as appropriate. Hot is fairly hot! a Chinese stir-fry ‘pick what you want, cooked while you watch’ counter is a novelty also a Pizza selection. Family friendly. Attentive staff but not intrusive. Used plates quickly cleared. A lot of thought has gone into the layout, lighting & décor. Close location to the Quayside near the Court area.
Minus points :- A few internal steps down. (possibly a wheelchair lift - check on booking) Semi basement, but with one large window. Not much of a view, unfortunately.

We were on a Groupon deal but will be happy to pay full buffet prices in the near future.
Very few places get 5* from me!

Date of visit: April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (2,706)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,670 - 2,674 of 2,706 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2013

my partner and i have already visited the aneesa's in suoth shields many times and were both well impressed. the only let down was the location and the fact you had to take your own drink... both of these issues have been overcome due to the opening of the newcastle restaurant. The location is right on the quayside behind the waterline bar and they serve alcohol!!. there are also alot more choice when it comes to the buffet. the starters as always are outstanding the chicken tikka is to die for. they also have a stir fry section were the chef will cook your individually prepared dish after you have selected your choice of meats veg and sauce. dessert again incude both english style cakes etc aswell as authentic indian dishes as they do in shields. One good thing about this predominately indian buffet is they also have a good selection of non indian food with a choice of four pizzas chips onion rings etc etc.. we will be visiting again on saturday with a slightly larger group and cant wait for it.

Date of visit: March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank xXxDawniexXx
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 April 2013

Have visited the Shields restaurant a few times and a groupon came up for the newly opened Newcastle branch. I had already intended to try it out, so the groupon was an added bonus! Was not disappointed. Food as good as the Shields restaurant, but differs from Shields in that it has even more choice, including a couple of chinese style dishes, and a fresh "stir-fry" area where you can pick your meat and veg and wait for it to be cooked. This, alongside the pizzas available, can help if you have anyone in your party who does not like Indian food, at least there are alternatives.
The restaurant is big and airy, staff attentive and plates cleared quickly.
Don't hesitate - give it a try!

Date of visit: April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank SmiffyNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 April 2013

visited on saturday evening using a groupon. was no spare tables when we arrived so would recommend booking like I did. there was a fair few kids eating with parents. food was of high quality and a good selection. the chicken tikka is amazing. it is much better and a lot cleaner than most buffet and will def go back at first opportunity

Date of visit: April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DarrenA685
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 April 2013

I've visited the South Shields one a few times and we got a groupon offer for the newcastle site. The shields one is very good but this one is even better with a much bigger selection on offer. Starters are amazing, sides are amazing as are the main curries. Even the pizza is delicious! I can't comment on the cost because we got a groupon deal.

Date of visit: April 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Explorez
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Aneesa's Buffet Restaurant also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Aneesa's Buffet Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.