We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“looking for a"real" Pizza in Newcastle?” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bar Loco Newcastle

Bar Loco Newcastle
Ranked #336 of 1,243 Restaurants in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price range: US$2 - US$11
Cuisines: Bar, Italian, Spanish, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Groups, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Drinks, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Bar Loco is an International, musical-cultural shelter, situated within the heart of Newcastle upon Tyne. We provide our audience with fantastic food, adventurous drinks and a welcoming atmosphere. Our itinerary packed with eclectic events & amazing people which combine to create a relaxed & unique experience for all citizens of this global village!
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“looking for a"real" Pizza in Newcastle?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

We are a well traveled couple hurtling rapidly towards our 70,s and e have enjoyed pizza,s all over the world, we called into Bar Loco on our 5th or 6th visit yesterday around lunchtime. We have always been impressed with the staff and the atmosphere (we have always gone through the day). As usual the San Miguel was perfect and served in nice chalice type glasses (drip mats would be handy as the condensation would make a right mess of my white disco suit on a hot evening).Idly picking up the menu we decided to graze on a light snack.We shared a small Clamari and a Pizza with a pick & mix topping, The small starter sizs 4quid squid arrived very quickly and I was pleased to see crispy delicate home made batter and proper squid rings not the usual mass produced El Cheapo you get in most of the so called posh places. The best bit was yet to come and the Pizza arrived still sizzling, Thin perfect crust, and our pick & mix topping was just as we like, The best Pizza we have had for a long long time. Top marks all round. PS sorry about the broken glass.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank greavesrobinNewcastl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    12
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great, fresh, real food at good prices. Small portions available.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013 via mobile

Been here 3 times now and great every time. Fab platters with great extras. All home cooked and reasonable prices. Nice welcoming atmosphere - wish we had one in Cardiff

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank CLMCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tain, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“SPANISH BINGO”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2013

myself and the family were down visiting for a few nights and my sister and I decided to go for a few drinks. we ended up in here, playing bingo in Spanish! was good crack and the staff were lovely :)

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jumbo2121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,214 reviews
748 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 651 helpful votes
“Who knows it exists?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2013

Small and almost invisible bar in Newcastle. Nothing on the outside screams to you "come inside". But we did after a few earlier drinks and meal elsewhere.

It is a very interesting place, probably mainly used as a hangout for students but with good staff, various rooms to enjoy your drink in and a chance to watch TV, enjoy a live DJ, play darts or sit at the bar and have a chat.

Quite unusual in Newcastle and despite personally being nothing like a student I really enjoyed the place and will pop back in.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sleep007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
57 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Very nice crowd”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2013 via mobile

Love this place. It is officially my favourite bar in Newcastle at present. There is a good selection of ales, the pasta is very good and they often have live music and open Mic. The staff are very acommodating and it attracts an interesting and international crowd. You can talk to anyone in there! Sometimes I've turned up and it has been closed but I always make a point in dropping by. Very chilled out. Distinct lack of antisocial vibe killers. Not far from the Trent, another very nice bar.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank horse_tin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bar Loco Newcastle also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Bar Loco Newcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing