We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sneaky pint”
Review of The Blonde Barrel

The Blonde Barrel
Ranked #637 of 1,266 Restaurants in Newcastle upon Tyne
Cuisines: British
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Sneaky pint”
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

Went in for a sneaky drink. Bar staff are dull boring and flat... I've seen more enjoyment watching a camel suck a lemon. Try to talk to the barman he replies with a grunt. If you hate your job youngin get out of it. Drinks served warm and glasses have lip stick marks. If you want a decent drink visit another bar. This is a mortuary. The interior is badly decorated and the lights if they are even existent are a joke!!! Seen more light in an eclipse! This bars Tosh!!!

Helpful?
4 Thank Supsatruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    22
    14
    4
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Lovely quick lunch”
Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

Popped in for a quick lunch whilst we were at the centre for life, the food was lovely, fresh and quick. Will definitely return.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Consett, United Kingdom
1 review
“GROUP VISIT”
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Would like to start by saying the customer service of this restaurant was absolutely disgraceful and would not hope for anyone to have to go through that service again. I had a meal of fish and chips the chips were great but the fish was poor quality and the batter was far to watery.For what you pay i was really dissapointed as i was looking forward to the meal but ended up feeling like a waste of £7.95.
So overall i would say that it was poor due to lack of quality and poor customer service which was not exactly inviting as the bar staff were more interested in there own conservation instead of putting the effort into engaging with customers.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“disappointing .. greasy food and poor service”
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Came to the Blonde barrel with friends for a birthday meal as looked really nice on the website and menu suited the group looking for some nice sharing platters and snacks whilst drinking.. the menu on the website is out of date with no Pizzas and some of the platters no longer available and food actually not served until it says. Staff were pretty rude and the food was what you would expect in a really cheap chain restaurant not one that markets itself as this one does. Everything was blnd, garlic bread had no garlic on it and everything was well aqquainted with the deep fat fryer! website makes it look quite cool, quirky and cosy and it really is nothing like that at all! wouldn't go back. Disappointing. Far far better places nearby.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AndreaMac2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“another good night in blonde barrel”
Reviewed 2 February 2014

went to see strictley come dancing as we had amazing cocktails last time decided to start our night in blonde barrel we also decided to eat all had ceasar salad very nice

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank joanne s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Blonde Barrel also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to The Blonde Barrel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing