We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family concerns”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Victoria Hall Ltd

Victoria Hall Ltd
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newcastle upon Tyne
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Victoria Hall Ltd
Wirral
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Family concerns”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2012

My son is staying here and is getting no sleep. So noisy and not able to open the windows due to the smoking outside and noise and attitude of other users. Not good. If you have another choice I would take it.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Letojanniwirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    1
    6
    2
    4
See reviews for
3
4
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012

I stayed here in July of last year for an event taking place at the Millenium stadium. As a student myself I was prepared for only the very basics to be provided, the room was clean and tidy but I felt it was a little unfair that we were placed on the same floor as a student who was still studying at the university, prehaps putting the guests in completely emtpy blocks and putting the remaining students in other blocks may be a fairer idea for them? There was a double bed, desk and small bathroom and a shared kitchen area for anyone who chose to use it.
The accomodation was a decent walk into the city centre, more than I was expecting to be honest, and one time I did get a taxi in the early evening from a friend's hotel it cost more than I would expect to pay for a journey of that duration.
I tried to check out as instructed on the Sunday, but ended up waiting around for about 20 minutes outside as the office was empty, luckily it wasn't raining! I eventually had to ring them before they took their time arriving and basically telling me I could have just left the key card by posting it through the open window, however if I had done this and they hadn't seen the key card I would have been very unhappy at having to pay for a replacement key card, so maybe more than one member of staff on check in/out days wehn there are events going on would be a good idea.
Overall the accomodation was basic but it does the job.

Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Jotrez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisbech Saint Mary, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
206 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2010

Spent one night at this student accomodation.The room was clean.They provide the minimum a handtowel,small packet of shower gel one teabag and 1 sachet of coffee.There is parking on the street at the front.

For one night in cardiff I thought it was great value at £25

there's a lauderette too if you need it.

only downside is reception only open for an hour on a Sunday but there is a 24 hour security guard that hands out the keys

I stay at Youth Hostels alot so happy with this kind of anonymouis accomodation.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FalmouthLucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birmingham uk
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2009

stayed here with my two sons for the u2 concert.very expensive i thought, one night £100 double £35 single plus if you dont take your own you have to pay for bedding.Luckily I took duvets and pillows.wasnt made clear that wasnt provided either.Ideal for concert because we walked home after gig.Pub opposite for eats before concert avoiding massive queues in cardiff centre.Kitchen area was dirty with poor utensils,we had planned to cook breakfast there but didnt bother.Not even glasses for a beer.Hot rooms with little ventilation.Wouldnt book again only did because we couldnt find a bed elsewhere for the night.Staff did allow me to park in disabled spot because i was travelling with my disabled son,thank heavens,bless them for that!

Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank deeBirminghamUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2009

Stayed for Speedway event June 09, very hot night, couldn't leave window open as our room was just above the entry gate in and out of the complex. Sheets a bit rough against the skin, and pillows flat. Very basic accomodation but at £70 reasonable for an event when you want to be within walking distance of the town centre. Remember to take a towel if required (handy for use as extra pillow) and water/nibble for am. after as no food facilities. For the same price we stayed in better B&B in Newport (Gateway Hotel) year before but train tickets are required to get in/out of Cardiff, and last year event ran on and we missed the train home.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GailHoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond
#16 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 777 reviews
0.4 mi away
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
#1 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,320 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kensington House Aparthotel
Kensington House Aparthotel
#4 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Osborne Hotel
Osborne Hotel
#49 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle City Centre (New Bridge Street) Hotel
Premier Inn Newcastle City Centr...
#38 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,127 reviews
0.4 mi away
Euro Hostel Newcastle
Euro Hostel Newcastle
#56 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Hall Ltd? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Hall Ltd

Property: Victoria Hall Ltd
Address: Victoria Hall Byron Street | Byron Street, Newcastle upon Tyne NE2 1XH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 28 Speciality Lodging in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Self Catering Apartments in Newcastle city centre available in July and August. All rooms are en-suite rooms and situated in an ideal location in terms of walking accessibility to the bustling City Centre of Newcastle. FACILITIES INCLUDE Caretakers on site 24 hours a day, 365 days a year Security camera surveillance Electric door entry system On site housing management office On site launderette Landscaped courtyards THE APARTMENTS Each 3 or 4 bedroom flat features an en-suite deluxe bedroom and 2 or 3 en-suite single bedrooms, a fully equipped kitchen and a comfortable living room with flat screen TV. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing