We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the Best”

The Parlour at Blagdon
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Parlour at Blagdon is situated within the Blagdon Estate, just a stone's throw from Northumberlandia. We offer idyllic, rustic and rural surroundings for a delicious meal or drinks within Poppy's Tea Room; a beautiful Grade 2 listed building formerly used as a Smithy. Whether it's a warm summer afternoon or a crisp winter morning we have food and drinks to suit every occasion ranging from cakes & traybakes, snacks & platters to light lunches. You can also enjoy either a pot of tea next to our log burning stove or a glass of wine in the Garden Room. Our food is traditional fayre with an Italian feel and is freshly made to order. Additionally, The Parlour is home of Marcantonio's Ice Cream, all manufactured on-site and based upon the award-winning recipe originally created over 100 years ago in Picinisco, Italy. We also offer a wide range of specialty plants and imaginative gifts. Our younger visitors can explore our outdoor play area whilst you sit back and relax. Well behaved pets are always welcome within our grounds and we are just 1 mile from the A1 Seaton Burn roundabout with ample car parking available on site. The Parlour at Blagdon: a destination with a difference.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Simply the Best”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

I have had afternoon day on a lot of occasions but never on this scale. We arrived on a sunny Tuesday afternoon and after having a look around what used to be a garden centre and is now tea rooms which had a delightful menu as well as making their own ice cream and selling hanging baskets and all kinds of interesting house gifts, we settled down on a table for four outside in the sunshine. We ordered afternoon tea for four with pots of tea and coffee oh and 4 wonderfully chilled glasses of Prosecco. It was a sight to delight, a beautiful array of sandwiches in both brown and white bread on the bottom layer, followed by home made scones with jam and cream and then on the top some beautifully made and tasting cakes.
We sat for a couple of hours and could not manage to eat it all but did notice they provide little boxes for anything you wish to take home. No wonder this place fills up quickly it is simply the best.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzysnoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    150
    73
    51
    36
    24
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Smile training needed”
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Lovely setting and lovely food but let down by the attitude of the male waiting staff. One in particular could curdle milk.

A smile costs nothing, and it IS off putting when one member of staff is glowering across the tea room. He makes customers feel unwelcome as observed with several tables commenting on his attitude. The female waiting staff are lovely.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
9 Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north east
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Group day out”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We had a day trip organised for a group of vision impaired people from the VIP Friendship group in South Shields. I previously contacted Nigel and asked if he could arrange for us to have a talk on the ice cream manufacturing done there.we were warmly welcomed on arrival, our meal and drinks orders taken, then we went onto the ice cream making 'factory'. After a really good insight to the process, we were given some tasters, mmmmm.then onto what we all described as a wonderfully tasty and well priced meal. We will return to The Parlour, it's a wonderful place for a visit especially as we could sit outside in the lovely garden.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank SteveSanNorthEast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Pretty great ”
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

We've been here a few times now: they are happy for us to come with the dogs and they always bring us a water bowl which is really appreciated!
The food is lovely but I do think the side salad could be better & the pasta salad too. That said a panini is a good meal & the beetroot salad looked delicious.

Don't be forget that there are lots of little places to sit& you might miss the cake counter if you're not in the main hall… but we always have icecream anyway!

The service is pretty great, food is good, & it's a very lovely place to be.

Helpful?
Thank Katdave19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumberland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice garden”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We were lucky when we went as it was a beautiful day. Sat outside in the garden and had ice cream. Will go back.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank DPears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Parlour at Blagdon also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to The Parlour at Blagdon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing